We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best almond croissants in the universe!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Blanc

Maison Blanc
Ranked #83 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Cuisines: Cafe, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on South Street just a few minutes' walk from the Cathedral and Southgate. Stephane and his friendly team will give you a warm welcome and look forward to serving you a seasonal cafe menu, afternoon tea, delicious pastries and patisserie. Plenty of seating available. Licensed. Maison Blanc is an artisan bakery renowned for its speciality breads, freshly baked pastries, seasonal menu and of course world famous cakes and patisserie - all handmade to perfection and simply bursting with seasonal flavour.We're passionate about serving innovative, charming and authentically French food that leaves our customers craving for more. Our core value is Tradition et Qualite which remains at the heart of everything we do from sourcing the finest and freshest ingredients, to the creation of our recipes and presentation of our food.Originally created in Oxford in 1980, we were the first authentic patisserie in England. We now serve a little slice of France in 14 locations around London and the South. Our cafes are the perfect place for a rendez-vous with family and friendsWe adopt a joie-de vie attitude and believe that life should be enjoyed one delicate macaroon at a time.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The best almond croissants in the universe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have been going to Maison Blanc in Chichester since I was ten years old, so for 19 years! I have never ever been disappointed with the coffee, croissants and service, impeccable every time. The almond croissants are delicious and I cannot find better ones anywhere else. Brilliant cafe. Thoroughly recommend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison B, Manager at Maison Blanc, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you Sophie for your lovely review and for your loyal custom.

Our almond croissants have been one of our most popular products and I believe the recipe has hardly changed in the 30 years that Maison Blanc has existed.

I will pass on your kind words to the bakery and the team and I look forward to celebrating your 20 years of loyalty!

Kind regards,

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    31
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable stop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

We have enjoyed yet another stop here for refreshment-twice today. Earlier stop for a nice cooked breakfast and later for an exit coffee and cake. The coffee is always excellent and the choice of cakes is wide and well made. Good value and always helpful and chatty staff keen to help. Consistently the best MB we have eaten in.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eaterouter777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison B, Manager at Maison Blanc, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Thank you very much for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you came back for seconds on the same day and I will pass on your kind words to the team.

We're looking forward to see you again soon, and please, keep an eye open for all our Easter treats, the new Carrot Cake is simply to die for...

Kind regards,

Stephane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Gone Downhill”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great place when first opened but has obviously gone downhill. Still charging top money (£14.00 for two teas and two Strawberry Fraisiers (Cheesecakes) but one spoon provided was badly tea stained, the tea pot externally was dirty and i watched a waitress clean a table, wiping the crumbs onto the floor and wiping around unused cutlery. To be fair quite minor points but when you pay top dollar you expect more from an establishment of this kind. I shan't be returning.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cafe!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We went past Maison Blanc last Saturday while doing some shopping, and seeing the nice buzz as well as the relatively extensive menu (all day breakfast was what drew us in), we decided to give it a go. Despite rushing around, the staff acknowledged us as soon as we opened the door, we waited a couple of minutes and then were sat at a table in the window.

We asked if we could go a little off menu (our kids wanted some bacon sandwich, which strangely enough wasn't on the menu) and the waiter was more than happy to help and started asking them how they wanted it.

I had the egg cocot with salmon, my husband the chicken club which both were very tasty. The service wasn't overly attentive, but actually, every time we needed something there was always someone around to make eye contact with and they would serve us right away.

A very good experience, very nice coffee and we even bought some bread on our way out. Our only regret was not to have stayed longer for a slice of cake. But we will definitely be back!

Lilly

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lilly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felpham, England
1 review
“An afternoon of perfection :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Burford is not a patch on this beautiful Maison Blanc of Chichester.The food quality and presentation is superb and the delightful attentiveness of the manager and staff is second to none. Thankyou for a wonderful afternoon break in a lovely atmosphere .

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindafelpham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Blanc also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Maison Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing