We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely French Food. I like the atmosphere of this restaurant and the Staff are always lovely.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Maison Blanc

Maison Blanc
Ranked #90 of 233 Restaurants in Chichester
Cuisines: Cafe, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located on South Street just a few minutes' walk from the Cathedral and Southgate. Stephane and his friendly team will give you a warm welcome and look forward to serving you a seasonal cafe menu, afternoon tea, delicious pastries and patisserie. Plenty of seating available. Licensed. Maison Blanc is an artisan bakery renowned for its speciality breads, freshly baked pastries, seasonal menu and of course world famous cakes and patisserie - all handmade to perfection and simply bursting with seasonal flavour.We're passionate about serving innovative, charming and authentically French food that leaves our customers craving for more. Our core value is Tradition et Qualite which remains at the heart of everything we do from sourcing the finest and freshest ingredients, to the creation of our recipes and presentation of our food.Originally created in Oxford in 1980, we were the first authentic patisserie in England. We now serve a little slice of France in 14 locations around London and the South. Our cafes are the perfect place for a rendez-vous with family and friendsWe adopt a joie-de vie attitude and believe that life should be enjoyed one delicate macaroon at a time.
uk
Level Contributor
137 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely French Food. I like the atmosphere of this restaurant and the Staff are always lovely.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

Love this restaurant and eat here regularly. Lovely wine too. Shopping in Chichester is always a pleasure but there are so many restaurants one never know which one to go to, but this is always good.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank sgreen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    44
    31
    23
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Breakfast, Lunch & Cake!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Every time I go to Chichester I always have to go to Maison Blanc. As usual the standard of food was excellent the service was great. The staff are friendly, polite and professional. Now lets talk cake, there is no better place to go for cake than here. It's like you have died and gone to heaven. When my cake arrives my heart flutters as they place the delightful indulgent cake in front off me. The fork sinks through the rich creamy chocolate and as I eat a wave of pure pleasure engulfs one. This is a magical experience, one I would encourage others to try.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gina U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

We had lunch here on a rainy day in half term. 2x croque Monsieur (very nice apparently), 2x Brie and saucisson baguette (yummy) and a waffle with chocolate spread were devoured rather quickly, so the food definitely got a thumbs up from us. Some of the prices are a little eeeeeek! but it was a treat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Relaxed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

I was served on my visit to chichester by some very presentable well mannered ladies. I think the lady was named adreanne very bubbly and smiley.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank fayemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great find.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

This was first time we had visited a Maison Blanc and from this experience it will not be the last.

We called in at lunchtime and although busy the service was very prompt. It seemed that we had barely given our order and taken stock of the surroundings before the sandwiches and coffees were before us. Both excellent; well filled, great bread and a strong flavoursome coffee. Taking a look at the cakes led us to try a couple of examples of the patissieres art. Both again excellent.

Just like being back in France.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank treeguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maison B, Manager at Maison Blanc, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you very much for your kind review.

We strive to provide a fast, efficient but friendly service and I am delighted to hear we delivered on that day. I have also just posted a little photo of all our Easter cakes for this year, our bakery has created wonders and the Easter Bunny just looks too good to be eaten…

I will pass on your kind words to the team and I will be looking forward to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

Stephane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maison Blanc also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Maison Blanc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing