We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor”

The Dolphin & Anchor
Ranked #138 of 256 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$4 - US$14
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Situated opposite Chichester Cathedral in the heart of the city, The Dolphin & Anchor has been a local landmark since 1910, when the two neighbouring inns combined. The Dolphin is thought to date from 1649. The Anchor is first recorded in 1768. The Dolphin & Anchor is now home to a JD Wetherspoon pub which offers an excellent selection of meals and CAMRA accredited local real ales from Sussex breweries. Breakfast is served from 7am-12pm and the full menu is available until 11pm. The food ranges from Light Super food salads to hearty 14oz Aberdeen angus steaks.
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Just felt like a glass of wine and some fish & chips,ordered then 5 minutes later was informed that they had no fish & chips left at 6pm!!!!!!.When I went to bar to ask for refund was treated as if I had asked for the crown jewels and why didn't I want something else.Also refused a cap for the bottle of wine we had purchased.Overall a very disappointing experience,

    • Service
Thank spuddie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 25 May 2013

Hi,

I'm really sorry to hear you had a disappointing experience yesterday evening and the situation doesn't appear to have been handled in the best way possible for which I would like to unreservedly apologise. We do always endeavour to have full availability of our menu, unfortunately on this occasion we were caught out by an unexpected increase in trade Friday lunch time which lead to us hitting record sales and selling out of our popular hand battered cod which forms part of our fish Friday promotion. In regards to the bottle of wine unfortunately we are not licensed for off sales here so to provide a cap for the wine could have put the premise licence at risk, it is a silly rule but sadly we do have to follow the law of the land on any licensing issues.

Again please except my sincere apologies for any inconvenience this issue caused you.

Kind regards
David Johnson
Pub Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

279 - 283 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 9 April 2013

good reasonably priced food, despite being very busy. Staff suggested alternitves as some itmes sold out on menu.
Amazing value for breakfast.

2  Thank Steph65_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2013

Hi Steph,

Thankyou for taking the time to write this review, I'm sorry to hear that we had sold out of a few of our more popular items during the busy day you visited, we always try to maintain full avaliability of our full menu wherever possible. It's good to here that you not only enjoyed the food from our main menu on your visit but also enjoyed one of our fab breakfasts, were very proud of our comitement to providing good food at a very reasonable price.

Kind regards
David Johnson
Pub Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2013

Its in town, busy, reasonably comfortable and serves well kept real ale from £1.99 per pint - its was £2 cheaper than my usual pub for the same round £5.40 instead of £7.40. I sampled two Sussex ales - both new to me. The menu has a good range of simple foods at again low prices so i will pop in for lunch soon. Its late afternoon and there are people of all age groups here. Im in a window seat with a view of the Cathedral - and they sell cashew nuts. Why haven't I been in before? how do they maintain such reasonable prices compared to EVERYWHERE else? I know its a chain.......

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank stevejenny5051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2015

A Great Pint of loAle at your fingertips with front row seats of the cathedral view, life doesn't get any better does it?! Oh and don't forget the Cashews. We pride ourselves on great products, great atmosphere and great prices, glad you enjoyed all three.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017
Google Translation

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kma81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Thank bagolyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin & Anchor also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Dolphin & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing