We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very good cuisine for a pub”

The Dolphin & Anchor
Ranked #124 of 242 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch
Description: Situated opposite Chichester Cathedral in the heart of the city, The Dolphin & Anchor has been a local landmark since 1910, when the two neighbouring inns combined. The Dolphin is thought to date from 1649. The Anchor is first recorded in 1768. The Dolphin & Anchor is now home to a JD Wetherspoon pub which offers an excellent selection of meals and CAMRA accredited local real ales from Sussex breweries. Breakfast is served from 7am-12pm and the full menu is available until 11pm. The food ranges from Light Super food salads to hearty 14oz Aberdeen angus steaks.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“very good cuisine for a pub”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

noisy (as a pub..) but nice cuisine, especially the steaks. The draught ales that has are not very nice, so I don' t suggest them

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank giodoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this review, 7 August 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is appreciated

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    82
    43
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
440 reviews
264 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Been to better”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Called in for breakfast on way to the races, pub was packed as first day of school holidays and it was chaotic. Massive queue at bar, long waiting time and food just warm when it arrived. Been to better Wetherspoons - in terms of organisation and food standard

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Glorious Goodwood can be a challenging time for us here at the Dolphin & Anchor as we generally see a 25% uplift in sales, this year was no exception with us selling more food on the opening Tuesday than we had on the previous 2 Saturdays put together. Please except my sincerest apologies for us not meeting our usual level of high standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A fat roll”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I called in for a coffee and roll a whilst in town. It wasn't busy at all. My wife ordered
a bacon roll and I had a breakfast wrap. After waiting for over 15 minutes our food finally arrived. On looking inside her roll, my wife found that there was only one small piece of bacon and the rest was FAT. We would have take it back but had to go as we had a previous engagement and as the meal took so long to arrive it left us no time to take it back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Reg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Please except our appologies for not getting this right for you at the time, We do work closely with our suppliers to ensure we get the best quality of meats avaliable unfortunately on this occasion it looks like they didn't quite meet our level of expectation. We will allways replace a meal if for any reason you are unhappy and Im sorry you didn't have the time for us to offer you a replacement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crawley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor for a Weatherspoons”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are great fans of Weatherspoons and I myself have been to this one several times on days out to Chichester.Unfortunately this experience was disappointing. We went for lunch, having ordered our meals we waited almost half an hour,we went to enquire where our food was only to be told one of the meals had been dropped on the floor!!Apparently it was mine and when it finally arrived the plate and food were cold so I sent it back.My partners food had been kept warm and was dried out.Eventually we got our meals as ordered but a lot of time had been wasted.We were there for the week-end and had things planned to do,also we were going to go for our evening meal,but didn't go after our experience.
Very disappointed by whole experience.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gingertop1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
I'm really sorry to hear we let you down on your visit to Chichester, Please accept our appologies for the slow service, we do train our staff on the correct way to handle plates but as you can appreciate its very difficult to plan for accidents.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch venue”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Found this by chance, looking for a late lunch during a Chichester shopping trip. We were delighted with our lunches- I had chicken and pepper skewers with rice- and a lovely side salad, and sauce. My daughter chose pasta with chicken. Both dishes were well-presented, very tasty, and served on piping hot plates. Fast, friendly service. Total cost, with drinks, was about £16. Excellent value for what we had.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank fifiHampshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this review, 7 August 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is appreciated

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin & Anchor also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Littlehampton, Arun District
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Bognor Regis, Arun District
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Dolphin & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing