We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Usual average ‘Spoon fare on offer but not a bad example of the chain”

The Dolphin & Anchor
Ranked #146 of 250 Restaurants in Chichester
Price range: US$4 - US$13
Cuisines: Steakhouse, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Situated opposite Chichester Cathedral in the heart of the city, The Dolphin & Anchor has been a local landmark since 1910, when the two neighbouring inns combined. The Dolphin is thought to date from 1649. The Anchor is first recorded in 1768. The Dolphin & Anchor is now home to a JD Wetherspoon pub which offers an excellent selection of meals and CAMRA accredited local real ales from Sussex breweries. Breakfast is served from 7am-12pm and the full menu is available until 11pm. The food ranges from Light Super food salads to hearty 14oz Aberdeen angus steaks.
Reviewed 26 June 2014

For me this was one of my better Wetherspoon experiences, and due to its position just down the road from our Travelodge accommodation, it was utilised for morning brecky and mid-afternoon beers, although we avoided it in the evening when like a lot of ‘Spoons it turns into a crèche for the local youth, and especially in a place like Chichester where the local council has kept any nightclubs from being opened in the town.
The food is the usual plastic ‘Spoons menu served with the usual “hit and miss” ‘Spoons service levels and in that respect you know what you are going to get the moment you walk through the door. And for food this one was about average for ‘Spoons standards and therefore definitely average as a place to eat compared to elsewhere.
But as a pub for a beer , it had several things going for it compared to others of the chain.
Firstly it’s a former pub, being the original Dolphin & Anchor dating from 1910, and has a bit more of a pub feel about it. And although the internal space is quite large by other Chichester pub standards, it’s not a cavernous soul less space like some of the Wetherspoons conversions can be.
Secondly, the double aspect corner position with lots of windows, and the use of light wood and light colours makes this quite a bright and airy Wetherspoons.
And last and most importantly the two banks of six pumps on the main bar on the right as you enter were all going during my couple of visits and with only three given over to the usual house ales, this left plenty of choice on the others. These included a good range of locals including Langham’s Black Swallow and a couple from Ballards with the Best and Wassail on.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve_of_N21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 15 February 2015

Hi Steve,

Sounds like your not nessesarily a fan of Wetherspoon's however its great to hear feedback on our ale range and the ambience, We are in the running for this years CAMRA Good Beer Guide, Fingers crossed with our excellent selection of ales we'll make the grade.

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

240 - 244 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2014

noisy (as a pub..) but nice cuisine, especially the steaks. The draught ales that has are not very nice, so I don' t suggest them

2  Thank giodoctor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2015

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review, your feedback is appreciated

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Called in for breakfast on way to the races, pub was packed as first day of school holidays and it was chaotic. Massive queue at bar, long waiting time and food just warm when it arrived. Been to better Wetherspoons - in terms of organisation and food standard

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JandK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Glorious Goodwood can be a challenging time for us here at the Dolphin & Anchor as we generally see a 25% uplift in sales, this year was no exception with us selling more food on the opening Tuesday than we had on the previous 2 Saturdays put together. Please except my sincerest apologies for us not meeting our usual level of high standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

My wife and I called in for a coffee and roll a whilst in town. It wasn't busy at all. My wife ordered
a bacon roll and I had a breakfast wrap. After waiting for over 15 minutes our food finally arrived. On looking inside her roll, my wife found that there was only one small piece of bacon and the rest was FAT. We would have take it back but had to go as we had a previous engagement and as the meal took so long to arrive it left us no time to take it back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Reg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

Please except our appologies for not getting this right for you at the time, We do work closely with our suppliers to ensure we get the best quality of meats avaliable unfortunately on this occasion it looks like they didn't quite meet our level of expectation. We will allways replace a meal if for any reason you are unhappy and Im sorry you didn't have the time for us to offer you a replacement.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We are great fans of Weatherspoons and I myself have been to this one several times on days out to Chichester.Unfortunately this experience was disappointing. We went for lunch, having ordered our meals we waited almost half an hour,we went to enquire where our food was only to be told one of the meals had been dropped on the floor!!Apparently it was mine and when it finally arrived the plate and food were cold so I sent it back.My partners food had been kept warm and was dried out.Eventually we got our meals as ordered but a lot of time had been wasted.We were there for the week-end and had things planned to do,also we were going to go for our evening meal,but didn't go after our experience.
Very disappointed by whole experience.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gingertop1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DolphinandAnchor, Manager at The Dolphin & Anchor, responded to this reviewResponded 23 September 2014

I'm really sorry to hear we let you down on your visit to Chichester, Please accept our appologies for the slow service, we do train our staff on the correct way to handle plates but as you can appreciate its very difficult to plan for accidents.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Dolphin & Anchor also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Bognor Regis, Arun District
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to The Dolphin & Anchor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing