We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Aldingbourne Country Centre
Ranked #3 of 8 Fun & Games in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 29 July 2013

What a great place this is. They've invested so much time and money in providing for those less able and at the same time making it a place that is a pleasure to visit especially with small children. Nice little café which does a good brekkie.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LuccaSiena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    34
    6
    2
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
england
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little gem”
Reviewed 30 June 2013 via mobile

We decided to visit while on holiday in the area after reading the reviews on this site. I have to say we were very impressed only £10 to get plus a extra £1 each for a chance to hold a guinea pig. My 2 children (2 and 4) loved being in with the animals which some will allow you to stroke, the goats are a bit cheeky and the turkey decided to lay a egg right in front of my daughter. There is a nice picnic area under a large oak tree, mini golf which is included in the price and a woodland walk. Also you are supporting a great charity by visiting. The prices for the garden flowers etc were a great and there is a cafe on site. It great to see adults with learning difficulties being able to work and get the skills they need to be able to gain employment. A must visit if your in the area with or without children.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sparkiegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great place for children”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Lots of space for families. Lots of things to do. All supporting a local cause. Excellent. I really like the farm for children.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Tinah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great venue for a kinds party!”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We spent a lovely day at the Aldingbourne Country Centre with our two daughters (2 and 5 yrs old). We joined 12 other children and their parents to celebrate a 5th Birthday. The open farm, with the roaming chickens, goats, peacocks, alpacas etc were a delight! The woodland walk was like a mini adventure for the children - lots of things to climb, balance on and explore and all very safe. There was a funny little crazy golf area (not usually my thing, but the kids loved it) a sweet little cafe, which accommodated a small group of children really well and an outside play/seating area which also entertained everyone for a while. It made a wonderful change from walking around 'themed' parks, hectic playzones (which I assume a fair majority of parents must hate as much as me!?). Since returning home, my 2 year old has been very, very keen to go back to the open farm and becomes very animated telling people about the day out there! Would recommend this to all families who are looking for a basic, cheap and very child friendly fun day out.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank peahead1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great fun for little ones”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

I have a 4 year old son and we have been going to the Country Centre regularly since he was 2. There are chickens, ducks, turkeys, goats, alpacas, donkeys and horses at the children's farm who can be stroked and have a large enclosure to wander around in. You can feed the goats if you are there at the right time (no overfeeding of animals for profit here). There are also rabbits and guinea pigs that can be held. There are pigs (and sometimes piglets) who can't be petted but you can watch them happily rooting around in the mud. There are good and clean hand washing facilities when you leave the farm.

When you have finished having fun with the animals there is a small wooded area with play equipment and other surprises in amongst the trees - see if you can spot the dinosaur eggs or the little doors (who's inside?). There is also a very cute little bothy in this area that can be hired for parties.

There is a cafe, putting green, flower nursery and gift shop. They also do furniture restoration in one of the buildings. They sometimes have vegetables for sale too.

The admission prices have changed recently. It is now £3 each to get in, but that includes everything except the guinea pigs which is £1 extra. Not as cheap as it used to be, but still a great value afternoon out if you have small children.

The centre is very well kept and the animals are all healthy and happy. The centre is run by a charity for people with learning disabilities, so anything you spend here is going to a good cause. I thoroughly recommend it.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bubbasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aldingbourne Country Centre also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Aldingbourne Country Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing