We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lazy Sunday afternoon”

Chichester Ship Canal Trust
Ranked #1 of 21 Tours in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: At the Canal Centre, we offer a wide range of amenities including refreshments, souvenirs, educational and tourist information, boat trips and row boat hire. There is ample seating inside and out. Adjacent to the Centre there is a visitor centre, located in a 19th century stable, refurbished to provide information about the canal and its history
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Food available for purchase, Wheelchair access
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lazy Sunday afternoon”
Reviewed 28 July 2014

What a wonderful place. We arrived just on time to hop on to the smaller boat for a cruise down the canal. Saw loads of wildlife, especially the Heron. Both the Captain's were very knowledgable about the area and wildlife.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nannyrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    67
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island
Level 6 Contributor
210 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“A relaxing and informative evening trip”
Reviewed 19 July 2014

The Chichester canal basin is a little leafy haven of peace with a useful pub - the Richmond - on the corner. There are picnic tables and benches inder the trees by the water. It's good that there is a pub because the splendid new headquarters and cafe of the Chichester Ship Canal Trust do not stay open until the boat sets off. After a journey to get there, you need a drink and toilets. Our trip was at 6.30pm, but the cafe, etc. was closing at 5.45pm - "already stayed open three quarters of an hour longer than it should have done."

On the warmest Friday evening of the year so far, we boarded the Richmond for the Friday night trip which included drinks and just about as many nibbles as we could manage. The first drink (wine or fruit juice) was free with subsequent (quite large!)ones being just £2 and the nibbles were good quality. I think that there was tea and coffee too. The windows were all open so it was airy and fresh inside.

A local historian gave us the history and lots of information about flora and fauna as we progressed in stately manner along the canal. It's a pity that she didn't have a microphone and that she confined herself to one end of the cabin so that the more hard of hearing missed a great deal. In the end we gave up and just enjoyed the breathtaking canalsides, seeing two lovely herons very close up. More people chatted because they couldn't hear, so she ended up talking to very few down at her end of the cabin.

It's comfortable and roomy so that you can move about and about 4 at a time can go up and see the skipper steering the canal boat. The swans that we saw have raised a large number of cygnets this year.

I must recommend this experience to anybody spending time in Chichester. We are thinking about the fish and chips trip next!

For the less physically able - you will need help getting on and off the canal boat because of the steps down into the cabin.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank madamemerlot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

75 min canal boat trip. Captain and crew, 2 really friendly guys, make this a pleasant visit,.Staffed by volunteers with a good knowledge of the wildlife on and around the canal and the desire to pass it on time flies. There is a smart cafe with outside seating area and a small gift shop. You can hire a rowboat or go on a evening fish and chip cruise on a larger canal boat. About 5 min walk from the Chichester Cross or there is parking by the canal. Staff committed to keeping the canal open and improving it in the future so I'm sure every visitor helps. We paid £7 each which included a complimentary tea or coffee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portchester, Fareham United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
“So close to nature, amazing canal boat trip.”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

I have walked the canal lots of times but decided to take my grandchildren 3 and 6 on the Egremont. We all loved it, there was so much to see close up and the children get to steer the boat, a very nice surprise. We saw a heron, turn, coots, moorhens, dragonflies, damsel flies, swans and cygnets, mallards, lots of chicks. A very peaceful way to travel, the Captains were very friendly and informative, they do a brilliant job with all ages. Fantastic value for money, toilets and refreshments.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank marlynn52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Must list”
Reviewed 11 June 2014

After having spent much of the day in Chichester for lunch and shopping, we wandered down to the Canal Trust to find that the shed where we had previously bought coffee was now a new café, bright and clean and with nice clean toilets, staffed by volunteers. After having a drink we wandered along the canal and under that awful Ring Road that is such a burden when driving. Quiet settled. There is something very special about the English Canals that is hard to define. The Chichester canal is unusual in that it isn't used by hundreds of hire boats, not being connected to the main network, otherwise it is the same. The towpath makes an excellent walkway and when we found a seat we just sat, no where, and wished we had a boat. Lovely walk. Back at the basin we checked up on the offered row boats for another time. Decent little boats for hire at a reasonable price. £6 per half hour plus £4 per half hour thereafter. We were delighted to find them comparatively close to home and will certainly return soon for a quiet row. Boat trips are available for the less energetic. All in all the canal offers a pleasant break from the mundane, but the weather must at least be dry.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chichester Ship Canal Trust also viewed

 
Bosham, Chichester
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Chichester Ship Canal Trust? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing