We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A visit into history.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Fox Goes Free

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Fox Goes Free
Ranked #3 of 75 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
262 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“A visit into history.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Fox is a bit hard to find, so having Jane (our GPS) was a godsend. But, once there the drive was worth it. It sits in a hamlet of Charlton, which consists of just 5-6 buildings in one of the most beautiful countryside settings anywhere.

Our room was quite large. Only issue was that the lighting in the bathroom was very limited (my wife had to use a hand mirror at the window to put on her makeup).

The weather was reasonably cool which was good since, like most 300 year-old inns, The Fox has no A/C.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CarolnRobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for writing a lovely review. I have to agree, The Fox can be a little difficult to find, but once you have I think it’s fair to say, everyone returns.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    166
    73
    14
    3
    5
See reviews for
47
136
4
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boughton-under-Blean, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in room 3. Room overlooks the road, which is quiet. Room was very comfortable. A bit of noise from the next door room, which I think is an office, but don't let that put you off, it didn't go on all the time.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. I had advised the place that one of us was vegetarian before we arrived and they offered veggie sausages for breakfast. Nice offer.

The food is great. I totally recommend the tomato tart with halloumi and chutney - so very tasty!
The pub has a great atmosphere and the dining area very relaxing.

Breakfast was good, plenty of choice and well cooked full English.

We would definitely return and we highly recommend this place for either a drink, a meal or an overnight stay.

Room Tip: Room 3 is very comfortable. It overlooks the road which is very quiet. It does adjoin a room used a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi,

I’m delighted your stay was comfortable enjoyable and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

Stayed 1 night whilst on business. Good welcome from the friendly staff and plenty of room and wifi to catch up on e mails etc. Beer was well presented and the restaurant food was very good ( and not overpriced) Lovely beer garden in which to enjoy a little bit of the Indian Summer we are having. All in all a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeH81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Hi,

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We thoroughly enjoyed looking after you and hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
152 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013

A very well-run and busy pub. The food was very good, as was the service and friendliness, but the wine list was a bit limited. On Wednesday they had live music duo who sang and played beautifully and, even though we were sitting in the same room, we could still talk to each other. The rooms however were a bit disappointing - to get to mine (No 1) I had to go through the bar toward the kitchen and duck under a very low concrete lintel. Eventually (being tired and after a day of country pub-crawling) I bashed my head against it and boy did it hurt. Its not good enough to put a "mind your head" warning (which anyway is very hard to see) - they need to put some sort of padding on it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi,

Thank you for writing about your stay with us. I’m glad your overall experience was an enjoyable one, but sorry for the low ceiling and the bang on the head! As you pointed out the sign is visible but this is not always enough. We hope this does not deter you from returning one day?

Hope to see you soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Sitting in the garden on a late summer evening at the foot of the South Downs, under a laden apple tree, swallows swooping, sheep and cattle grazing in the field beyond, enjoying a variety of real ales, what could be better!
Follow that with a delicious meal served by friendly and helpful staff. Busy for a Monday night, which shows popularity of pub. We also stayed overnight in a clean and comfortable room and enjoyed a breakfast cooked to order next morning.
Would recommend, we will be going again.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi,

Thank you for writing about your stay. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit and we hope that you will come back soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
63 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2013

One of our favourite pubs in the area around Chichester. I love the beer garden the views are simply stunning. It's a great pub for a casual lunch, sunday lunch and the restaurant food is lovely. The food is always amazing and is reasonably priced in comparison to other pubs in the area. From the current menu I can recommend the burger, pie of the day and the sticky toffee pudding. Can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Hi,

Thank you fro your review. The views are incredible I have to agree! We very much look forward to seeing you back soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
245 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2013

We stayed here for one night as we were touring the area, would have liked to stay two nights but they were full. It is a very buzzy and busy place, but they manage to keep it under control very well. We ate here and had a really nice meal with good service. We both ate the tuna with chorizo and bean sauce - will definitely try to reproduce this at home, it was delicious. The room was ok, comfortable enough although we did not have a view from our window and there was a bit of fan noise, but what you often get if you stay in a pub. If we stayed again I would avoid the room we had, room 1. Breakfast was fine. All in all a good stay at a reasonable price and in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharon F, General Manager at The Fox Goes Free, responded to this review, 15 September 2013
Hi,

Thank you for your review. We really appreciate you taking the time to write such a positive and informative account of your stay with us.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Kristian Brown
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
7.5 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
7.4 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
5.2 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Goodwood Hotel
The Goodwood Hotel
#4 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
5.2 mi away
The Spread Eagle Hotel & Spa
4.5 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fox Goes Free? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fox Goes Free

Property: The Fox Goes Free
Address: Charlton, Chichester PO18 0HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fox Goes Free 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms and Hotels.com so you can book your The Fox Goes Free reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Fox Goes Free Hotel Chichester
The Fox Goes Free Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing