We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“comfortable and great base”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The George and Dragon
Ranked #45 of 68 Chichester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 August 2014

This is a lovely Pub BnB which is ideally situated in Chichester. The twin room was clean, comfortable and a good size but being picky it was a little dark and could of done with a full size mirror. The staff were really friendly, bar lively, drinks well priced and breakfast delicious. One thing to consider is there is no parking available on site but a large long stay car park just across the road which is cheap for overnight. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lucy d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (221)
There are newer reviews for The George and Dragon
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2014

We were only staying one night but unfortunately we picked some hot weather to visit. The upstairs rooms are incredibly hot with no ventilation only a tiny window that does not open very wide. At night it was like being in a sauna with a very poor nights sleep.
The rooms are in a converted stables or barn at the back of the pub with the upstairs room in the roof. A simple electric fan in the room would have helped. We also had problems with the shower being difficult to get working and then the cubicle leaking so the floor was flooding.
Apart from a good location and some great beer, I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: If you choose to stay here insist on a downstairs room
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Robert-Janice O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We have stayed here several times and have enjoyed the overall inn. The breakfast is very good.
The rooms are good size, comfortable and nice beds. The shower stall is a bit small though.
Convenient located to all attractions.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corners are larger.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anglophile84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed at The George and Dragon for 2 nights for a birthday trip away. We checked in on a friday night at the very busy bar so had to wait a little while. The guy that checked us in was so helpful and friendly, apologised for us waiting and showed us to our room, giving us all the important information on the way. Our room was everything we needed, double bed, big wardrobe, seating area, great TV, bathroom etc. We had breakfast both mornings which was delicious, with speedy service, great choice and unlimited tea and coffee (we were served by a blonde lady with glasses who was really nice). Housekeeping came and changed our towels and tidied up during the day too which was great. We did not spend a huge amount of time in our room, but if you were looking to do that, be aware that the rooms are in the pub garden, which would be busier in warm weather. However, the garden is closed at 11pm and is quiet after that. Check out was a smooth process and the staff we met were all very friendly and helpful. Location is perfect for the city centre. We would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fantastic location, warm and friendly staff however, accommodation was OK but room too warm, bathroom had a shower and sink was blocked and smelt damp. Reported problem to reception and within 5 minutes the plumber arrived. Very nice cooked breakfast. Apart from negatives really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Room 9 but avoid room 10
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jules_sydee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Two nights stay with friends in two double rooms in the separate block (which I guess might have been a stable conversion). Weather was great - however, we found the upstairs room was roasting, whereas the one downstairs remained pleasant... so in our party there were two very uncomfortable guests!
Parking is in a public car park a couple of minutes walk - it wasn't free but charges were reasonable and money could be rolled over for the next day.
Everything was clean..towels and linen, but it is clear there has been very little in the way of investment in this accommodation though I have to say, all staff there were very pleasant indeed. However, in the final analysis, it was a bit pricey for something which is pretty basic.

Room Tip: All rooms are across a courtyard and front on to the inn's outside drinking/smoking area so ther...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patrm14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed just one night in Chichester. The staff were very welcoming and attentive. We ate in the restaurant in the evening, standard pub fare but enjoyable. The full English breakfast was what you would expect, good portion sizes and unlimited tea/coffee.
The twin room was quite small as was the bathroom but adequate. Free WIFI was handy. Slight 'musty' smell as other reviewers have noted.
The Inn is in a good central location near shops and sights.
The pub was a World Cup free zone which I appreciated, it probably made the pub quieter than normal on a Saturday night when England were playing!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Su55912014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
0.3 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
205 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
616 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chichester Inn
Chichester Inn
#23 of 68 in Chichester
81 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Vestry
The Vestry
#25 of 68 in Chichester
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George and Dragon

Address: 51 North Street, Chichester PO19 1NQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range: £73 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The George and Dragon 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A town center pub that has retained its old-fashioned public-house charm, the G&D is located in the heart of picturesque Chichester. With its smart bar, conservatory dining room and converted barn-house accommodation, this friendly and comfortable pub is a great local meeting place. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, LateRooms, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The George and Dragon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George And Dragon Hotel Chichester
The George And Dragon Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing