We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not just for the pretentious art lovers ...”

Cass Sculpture Foundation
Ranked #11 of 64 things to do in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Where else in the world can you see over 70 specially commissioned monumental sculptures in an idyllic landscape, and all for sale?
essex, uk
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not just for the pretentious art lovers ...”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Apart from problems finding the place (your sat nav may take you down a very long farm road with a tempting view of some of the pieces, but no admission to the grounds) this is a wonderful place to visit. If you like BIG art in beautiful countryside then the £12.50 entrance is well worth the price.
We were greeted by a wonderfully enthusiastic member of staff, who clearly loved what she was involved in. Make sure you speak to a member of staff, as it is interesting to hear how the Cass Sculpture Foundation was created, and continues to invest in artists old and new.
We were blessed with a warm spring afternoon and this enhanced the stroll around the exhibits. We arrived late (they are trying to get more directions / road signs put up in the area) and stayed two hours, up to closing time. This was sufficient, but you can take all day if you wish, and there is a picnic area overlooking outstanding views.
The exhibits are varied in style, so if you like sculptures, there will be something that will grab your attention - for me there were four fantastic exhibits that really excited me, but others also made me think / laugh / stand in awe, and some of course I just didn't get.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank tonkygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    46
    6
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Amusing. Doesn't take itself too seriously.”
Reviewed 20 May 2014

I enjoyed visiting Cass much more than I thought I would. I had thought the sculpture park would be filled with pompous, pretentious "art". Actually, it doesn't take itself too seriously.

The majority of the sculpture seems to be created by sexually frustrated men judging by the obsession with dark orifices and feminine form. The rest is the product of psychotropic pharmaceuticals (probably). Take for example, The verdegris elephant with a trumpet head riding a bicycle or the bollards that adorn the Kennels frontage called "Snowman, Hourglass, Peg and Penis", you can guess why.

I'm glad I went but I wonder why when the sculptures cost tens/hundreds of thousand of pounds, why one must pay £10 each to get in. Perhaps they don't sell many. Don't see why?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank eel p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Bent Metal”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Grossly overpriced ! walk through a pleasant woodland and see bent metal which obviously no one wanted to buy otherwise it would be sited at some museum or in a more prestigious setting.
If you want to see scaffolding poles or blocks of wood I suggest a trip to a building site.
a veritable scrapyard of junk with no artistic merit whatsoever.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank G0SGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bognor Regis, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful place”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

A very interesting place , the perfect combination of art and "woods" .
Gorgeous views and very beautiful and amazing sculptures .
The toilets was very impressive and it looks like a pool on the outside . The most interesting was the cinema in the middle of the "woods" and the man in the bed .

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Raluca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Variable quality of work in a pleasant setting.”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A pleasant woodland setting houses a large collection of 20th and 21st century sculpture. Some pieces work very well in the (man-made) landscape, others would probably look better in a, more defined, interior space.
It is worth visiting to see Eduardo Paolozzi's late work, 'From London to Paris'; a large wooden piece which consists of an open railway truck loaded with what seem to be fragments of his other work, including body parts as well as abstract pieces. It is a moving 'momento mori' of a great artist.
Lynn Chadwick's, dynamic, 'Ace of Diamonds' is also extremely impressive. This large kinetic sculpture moves with the wind, its bright metallic surface reflecting the changing light.
Other pieces, especially some of the smaller and more brightly coloured pieces, can be overpowered by their surroundings.
Nevertheless, the sculpture park is a great place to visit if you are interested in seeing a large cross-section of modern sculpture, and there is so much work on view that there is something for everyone's taste.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank handel21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cass Sculpture Foundation also viewed

 
 

Been to Cass Sculpture Foundation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing