We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sandra's breakfasts are the best !”
Review of Old Chapel Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Chapel Forge
Ranked #22 of 67 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
93 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Sandra's breakfasts are the best !”
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

We have stayed at Old Chapel Forge twice now ... Both over the Christmas break when we have travelled from Singapore to see family in West Sussex. We really love it ! Sandra was SO friendly with our 6 year old and even made her poached eggs in the morning without the yolk. She thought this was magic and still regularly demands eggs 'Sandra Style!'.
Couldn't recommend highly enough. Very comfortable, cosy and friendly. And the geese in the garden ?! Just an added bonus to our enthralled daughter :-)

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaFRegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    18
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We had a super stay here in July 2012. Great breakfast served by fun hosts and owners. We have no hesitation reccommending this great B&B come holiday house. The two rooms in the Chapel are big enough for a holiday not just overnight!.

Well situated to access lots of this great sussex coast we spent the day at West Wittering and the next on Bognor Beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CamillaW1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
farnham surrey
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

Lovely room in the chapel, beautiful setting, really comfy bed. Lovely garden for having a coffee and taking in the view. Love the resident geese. Top class full english breakfast in the farmhouse kitchen, Sandra and Charlie are great hosts and make you feel really welcome. This is without any doubt the best B&B we have ever stayed in. Only stayed for one night for Goodwood races. Next time we will stay for the whole weekend!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveL4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canterbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A beautiful and handy setting (for both Chichester and Bognor Regis), lovely rooms, environmentally friendly, and delicious selections of breakfasts. You could not expect a kinder hostess than Sandra. Full stars and would gladly make a return visit!

Room Tip: The chapel rooms are, obviously, the special ones, but any room here will make for a pleasant stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lawrence T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2012 via mobile

We spent two nights at old chapel forge and we loved it. The chapel was really comfortable, warm and spacious with plenty of room for both of us. All the amenities you need and Sandra's breakfast were amazing. Sandra was very welcoming and made us feel at home as soon as we arrived. We enjoyed our morning chats with Sandra ove breakfast. We will return next year and stay at the chapel again, hopefully in the other side of the chapel which over looks the beautiful south downs. We went into arundel about 8 miles away and enjoyed a full day out. Great place to stay.

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tulah77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

We spent three nights here in October 2011. The Chapel is divided into two rooms and we stayed in the rear which has wonderful views for miles from the large window. It’s a joy to lie in bed and watch the clouds and the birds flying past. Would be lovely in the summer to take meals outside too to enjoy the view. The bed was large and very comfortable and the level of cleanliness was very high. Double height ceiling right up to the beams in the celiling which gave a spacious feel. Flat screen TV with DVD player, CD player, internet point in room (cable provided). Hot drink facilities and small fridge in room. All very good. The owners were very friendly and attentive offering advice as to restaurants and local attractions. Good range of food for breakfast and it was delicious. Pretty little holiday hide-away.
Liked: Comfy bed, views across fields, internet point, geese in garden, nice and warm (lots of radiators), great breakfasts.
Didn’t like: No Freeview (just 4 channels), very large cups - difficult to perch them on small bedside tables, walls a bit thin and we were worried about disturbing the neighbours.

Room Tip: Great view from the rear room in the chapel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn on holiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2011

It was with out doubt the best 2 night stay of our 10 day trip to the UK. Great people, food and atmosphere. I would say it was like being at home, but our home does not come with that awesome full English breakfast.

Back in the good old USA now.....missing that old English charm.

Room Tip: Make sure you book in advance and go for the full English breakfast!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.6 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
828 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Old Forge Chapel
Old Forge Chapel
#42 of 67 in Chichester
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Store Guest House
3.3 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 4 in Sidlesham
176 reviews
4.1 mi away
Church Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Chapel Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Chapel Forge

Property: Old Chapel Forge
Address: Lagness Road, Chichester PO20 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic, secluded guest accommodation in self-contained suites of rooms set in a peaceful location, overlooking the rolling Sussex Downs but just 3 minute drive from both Chichester/Bognor Regis, and the beaches. Our suites can be booked by just one couple, who will enjoy our beautiful bedrooms or by a small family/working group of up to six people. The suites not only provide spacious accommodation but also have their own gardens & patio. All rooms have internet access. We are member of The Green Tourism Business Scheme and pride ourselves on our heatry breakfast freshly prepared using locally sourced produce. Walker and cyclist friendly. Bike hire is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Chapel Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Chapel Forge Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing