We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely bed and breakfast”
Review of Old Chapel Forge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Chapel Forge
Ranked #22 of 67 Chichester B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely bed and breakfast”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We were looking for a hotel/ B&B at short notice and stumbled across this. The photos on the site sold it to us since it was not the sort of place we would ordinarily choose. It is a little unusual but in a lovely way. We stayed in a 17th century converted chapel, with direct access to the room. The room was comfortable and the hosts provided lots of useful bits and pieces, not least a fridge, cork-screw and glasses! The setting is fabulous and thankfully it was sunny in the evening and morning for us to appreciate. The breakfast was geared around our needs and we eat in a lovely kitchen are with three other couples staying as guests. The atmosphere was very pleasant. We would have liked to have stayed another day or so since it is in a good location for many activities, pubs and restaurants - all within 10 minutes drive.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flash-ahaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thank you for the lovely review, much appreciated! Hope you have a lovely summer.
kind regards
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    18
    6
    5
    3
See reviews for
23
73
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

We had a REALLY wonderful stay here - clean, comfortable and welcoming. It has an interesting history - both medieval and more recent - WW2 and the Normandy Landings. The King of Norway stayed there in the 1940 and the back garden was a runway for the Norwegian Air Force in the war. Critically this establishment lives up to the environmental and ethical values we should all be striving towards as we slowly disappear under water due to climate change. Sandra is a star - full of energy, advice and attention without becoming a pain. We will be going back - a recommendation indeed. Try it yourselves and see!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lagness, Owner at Old Chapel Forge, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Thrilled you loved staying at Old Chapel forge. Its so lovely to have a home with such a wealth of history and stories! Thank you for spending the time to review us and hope you have a lovely year!
Sandra
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We booked this B&B so that we could go to the races, Glorious Goodwood,1st -4th August, 2013, it's a little way off the the race track but well worth having to get to there in a taxi, which Sandra always rang for us, she uses a lovely local firm who are gentlemen and tourist guides if, like us, it is your first time in their lovely city. What a splendid place to stay. The people there are so helpful, (Sandra even took us to the pub one night for our evening meal) The place is clean, homely, eating in the large kitchen at breakfast with other guests, chatting away whilst your breakfast is being made with local produce. Altternatively, you can have breakfast in your room. We had the old Chapel rooom and it's high ceiling and large windows give it a very airy feel. Tea/coffee/biscuits and water in the room and nice toiletries in the bathroom, some nice touches such as little nail files make this a wonderful place to stay. We would definately recommend this B&B to our friends. Shirley and Brian from Rochdale 8/8/13

Room Tip: The Chapel at the front is like your own little house, set yards away from the house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShirleyMP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

Spent 2 enjoyable nights at this B&B with a great host. Sandra even assisted us with our laundry which was over and above what was expected. Wonderful interaction over breakfast with other guests at the communal dining table. Sandra was a wealth of local information which helped considerably as the weather wasn't the best during our stay. Highly recommend this B&B for those looking for the personal touches.

Room Tip: We stayed in the family rooms in the main house.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 15 May 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for four nights last week as we visited Brighton, Chichester, Southsea, etc.

We had two nights in the chapel, and two nights in the house, and they were all as wonderful as each other.

We found the place with very, very little trouble, without using a sat nav, and although the car park was a little scary for me [the car park for the luxury rooms is separate to the other one, and there is only room for two cars. Had to reverse out on to the main road once or twice, but that was my choice!], we had no problems getting in.

We were in the front room of the chapel, which is lovely and spacious. The bed was comfortable, and the setting was fantastic.
The third and fourth nights, we were in the main house, which was just as nice. I didn't see that the difference in cost was necessary, because the rooms are just as nice as each other, but there was something special in the chapel.

The hosts were lovely - Charlie and Sandra were very helpful, and were forthcoming with plenty of advice to avoid traffic, and recommended places to eat. It's a shame that they didn't do evening meals there, because if the breakfasts are anything to go by, they'd be the best eatery for miles!!! The cooked breakfasts were outstanding, at first I thought the portions were a bit small, but then after I had eaten one, I realised that they are of a perfect size - they set you up for the day in the best way possible.

All in all, we experienced no problems at all - I would stay here again in a minute, and I am sure that we will be next year again.

It must also be said that we dined at the Royal Oak, which is a mile up the road, and honestly, they serve the best burger that I have ever eaten.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

We often go to bognor as we have an elderly friend who lives there,She is not too well at the moment and it was wonderful to be able to look after her during the day and to relax in this delightful converted chapel in the evening.
Even though it was very cold outside we were extremely cosy and warm.
The views and gardens were amazing and we were spoilt with the lovely breakfast.
The owners made us feel very welcome and couldn't have been more friendly.
We did get a bit lost mainly because of our sat nav but it was worth getting lost for
We hope to go back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank platform
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Runton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2013

The welcome was warm, the room was very comfortable and the bed had a proper sprung mattress - most unusual in our experience!

The inclusion of a small fridge was useful, both for wine and milk. Little touches like a bottle of squash and practically any toiletries a person could want we're much appreciated.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carole D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chichester
2.6 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
829 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Inglenook Hotel & Restaurant
1.4 mi away
Old Forge Chapel
Old Forge Chapel
#42 of 67 in Chichester
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Old Store Guest House
3.3 mi away
Lockgate Dairy
Lockgate Dairy
#1 of 4 in Sidlesham
177 reviews
4.1 mi away
Church Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Chapel Forge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Chapel Forge

Property: Old Chapel Forge
Address: Lagness Road, Chichester PO20 1LJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 67 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Idyllic, secluded guest accommodation in self-contained suites of rooms set in a peaceful location, overlooking the rolling Sussex Downs but just 3 minute drive from both Chichester/Bognor Regis, and the beaches. Our suites can be booked by just one couple, who will enjoy our beautiful bedrooms or by a small family/working group of up to six people. The suites not only provide spacious accommodation but also have their own gardens & patio. All rooms have internet access. We are member of The Green Tourism Business Scheme and pride ourselves on our heatry breakfast freshly prepared using locally sourced produce. Walker and cyclist friendly. Bike hire is available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Old Chapel Forge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Chapel Forge Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing