We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was a very good stay but then we knew it would be as we...”
Review of Trents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Trents
Ranked #34 of 68 Chichester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 February 2013

It was a very good stay at Trents but then we knew it would be as we have visited the bar and restaurant on a number of occasions before. The actual room was a little noisy during the evening due to revellers below, but again, we knew this would be the case knowing the establishment and as a romantic night away it was wonderful! (and the noise ceased very promptly once 'time was called' so to speak).

The food was excellent and the attitude of the staff also, the supervisor was very professional on our arrival and showed us to our room which is almost unheard of in other establishments in this day and age!

Wonderful!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mondiehigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (154)
There are newer reviews for Trents
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

117 - 123 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2013

We live locally and regularly come here on our days off for lunch. Food is always fantastic, and could never fault it. But on every occasion, on a Monday, we happen to get the same waitress who is unbelievably rude.

I run a wine bar not far from chichester and would be disgusted if any of my members of staff were to treat and serve customers the way she did. Looks away when talking to customers, not once did she smile or look at all interested in serving us. I really felt as though we had ruined her quiet Monday afternoon! There was no interaction at all while taking our orders. Not once did she return to our table to see if everything was ok! There were two other waitresses on also, they were as I could see bubbly and smiling with customers! The service today really ruined the lovely atmosphere and fantastic food!

A lovely lunch really ruined by grumpy waitress!!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank Emma9090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We booked trents for a Saturday night get away from our city, only to find the hotel/bar/restaurant was just as busy and as loud as being in the centre of Brighton which wasn't actually all that bad we just expected a peaceful night, the atmosphere was good and although it was busy the staff managed to find us a table to sit at which was nice!!! we decided to eat further up the town at a very nice restaurant prezzos, the food was excellent, staff very helpfull and although it was busy our food had no flaws, I would recommend this place 100%, try the lobster and crab tortelli... Very nice! Anyways, on arrival back to our hotel we decided to go to our room and get some sleep, by this time it was 11ish and kick out time downstairs which didnt happen untill 12:30 so we was awake untill 1:00, that's when all the trouble started, we had drunk people running up and down the stairs, shouting, screaming we could even hear someone bring sick! Every time our neighbour put there bathroom light on and extractor fan would kick in and scare the life out of us! We did finally manage to fall asleep only up be woken up early by staff doing 100 meter sprints down the hall which made our headboard shake like mad! Breakfast was the best part of this place, the homemade hash browns were lovely and poached eggs were perfect, if you do stay at this place then try to not be palmed off with room 5!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3y3b4ll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed here last weekend (9th Feb) for a wedding we had locally. Beautiful room, lovely staff and a delicious breakfast.
Even after I stupidly left my Kindle behind, they're kind service continued when they posted it safely back to me.
Would certainly return and recommend to anyone.

Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 88student88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

I stayed at Trents over the weekend.
As ever the stay was first class in really lovely surroundings.
Great room, great breakfast and couldn't be more centrally located.
The staff were incredibly friendly and adapted well to our needs as well as the lively Saturday night crowd.
We'll be back for sure.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank goldingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed here on business for a couple of days.
Excellent food and ambience. Staff all very friendly and efficient.
Rooms are nicely decorated and have everything you need. very comfortable bed and pillows and impressed to have fresh milk for tea - what a nice touch.
Breakfast served from 7.30 so caters for business people during the week.

My room Room 2 obviously backs on to a pub and very loud music booming through the wall although it does stop at 11pm (at least week nights?) Windows could do with some soundproofing from road noise/people nopise in the street.

Car parking is a bit irritating as have to pay 8am - 6 pm so unless you're getting up early for work you'd have to run out and pout money in a pay and display. This may not oeprate at weekend though...........

Room Tip: Avoid room 2 because of noise from pub
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettybell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Wanted a night away near the coast and to do some shopping - excellent decision to stay here. Central location to shop in Chichester; very friendly staff and boutique type rooms made this a great stay. Also ate in the restaurant and was impressed with the food - seemed to rack up a cost with extras but the food was very good.

Room Tip: Pick a room not facing the main street if you want an earlier night, it can be a bit noisey otherwis...
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ian b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Chichester Central
0.3 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#8 of 8 in Chichester
205 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#6 of 8 in Chichester
540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Chichester Inn
Chichester Inn
#23 of 68 in Chichester
81 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vestry
The Vestry
#25 of 68 in Chichester
284 reviews
0.1 mi away
East Pallant Bed & Breakfast
East Pallant Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 18 in Chichester
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trents

Address: 50 South Street | Chichester, Chichester PO19 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 68 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range: £85 - £107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with its popular bar and restaurant, Trents offers five beautifully appointed bedrooms. All the rooms at Trents have power-showers, flat screen TV/ Audio, fridges, free WiFi broadband, complimentary fresh orange juice and mineral water – so you can be sure of every little luxury away from home. In short, Trents offers the perfect location from which to explore the city of Chichester and the surrounding area. START THE DAY WITH A GREAT BREAKFAST: We offer a range of breakfast options from fresh Croissants, Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Salmon to the traditional Full English Breakfast. A full range of fruit juices and coffee including our popular freshly squeezed orange juice are also served. Complimentary daily newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trents Hotel Chichester
Trents Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing