We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice yet noisy”
Review of Trents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trents
Ranked #34 of 69 Chichester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Stayed for only one night. The rooms are on the 2nd floor and be careful when walking up the narrow staircase. There are a total of 5 rooms only. Mine was facing a bus stop, hence it can rather noisy. There's no air condition in the room, replaced by a standing fan. Overall, room is big and comfortable. The bar is very popular so it can rather noisy at night. If you are a light sleeper, probably you have to give it a miss. There's a Tesco express nearby, so buying necessities is a bliss.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank booyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (165)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 165 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2013

Staff here were amazing - super friendly and very accomodating whilst managing a busy bar. Rooms were really clean with really spacious double room, massive en-suite and lovely touch of OJ and milk in the bar-fridge. The rooms are above a nice pub, on a weekend you can hear music in the main bar from my room, but it is off at 11.30 and isn't a problem for mine. All in all this was a great stay and a really good spot, I will be back and hopefully get to have a few drinks in the bar next time.

Room Tip: A couple of rooms facing the terrace bar will pick up a little bit more noise from the bar - that sa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Darren d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2013

You couldn't want more at this price. Very comfortable beds with nice linen. Really clean room and with an en-suite to a high standard. Little touches like a jug of fresh milk in the fridge for morning coffee, a bottle of orange juice and the offer of a choice of water.

What really took us was the attitude of the staff. Really helpful and friendly but without being all over us.

I understand comments about the noise from the bar/terrace but we weren't affected since we went out for the evening and only got in after midnight. The staff were sitting together outside "warming down" but when I asked for a coffee one happily jumped straight up and sorted it.

We did get noise from South Street in the morning but this was from delivery lorries to the Tesco Direct just down the road and not from Trents itself.

Breakfast was great and large with fresh orange juice served by the morning shift - just as friendly and efficient. We will certainly stay again.

Room Tip: The room over the terrace will probably be quieter in the morning but a bit noisy until 12.30 ish
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2013

We have stayed here twice but will not be returning.

May I first say that the beds are extremely comfortable with very good linen. And the food is always of a good standard. However the premises are really not suited to provide this priced accommodation.

The bar is very popular and therefore extremely noisy. The loud music finishes shortly after 11 but the street noise and clearing/shutting up noise continues for another couple of hours. The bus stop and taxi rank are also directly outside. To cap it all, our second visit an adjacent shop alarm went off at 1.45 and continued for 45 minutes - only to come back on early the next morning! As you are in the middle of the shopping area, you also have to contend with general early morning street noise - cleaning, deliveries (including beer barrels). It's not for the faint-hearted.

The check-in is a bit haphazard as it is so busy and the rooms are accessed down the side of the bar where you very often clash with the staff

Room Tip: Room one has the best view but the worst noise!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank julieparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

On arrival at Trents we were warmley greeted and as we were very early the room was being serviced so they took our bag and we went into town to enjoy the sights.When we returned the room was ready and we were delighted with the standard of decor, cleanliness and facilities. Jack asked if we wanted any water and duly brought us 2 bottles of refreshingly sparkling water.The bathroom was spotless and we really enjoyed our stay. The breakfast was super and the freshly squeezed orange juice was a treat.All the staff were very helpful and courteous.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Unfortunately Trents only have 5 rooms, so they're often fully booked when I have to stay in Chichester in business. But having stayed in a number of places in and around Chichester, Trents is my first choice. The rooms are lovely and comfortable, clean, well appointed - even with a little fridge containing a jug of fresh milk, water and orange juice. It's in the middle of Chichester, and Trents is a popular wine bar, but even so, what wakes me are the early morning deliveries to neighboring shops rather than Trents itself. I shouldn't be saying this, because it'll increase the likelihood of it being fully booked next time I need to come down, but you can do an awful lot worse than Trents (and I have!!!)

Room Tip: Number 5 is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2013

Amazing customer service - had to book a room at Trents at the last minute to due weather conditions and they couldn't have been more accomodating. Room was lovely, staff were welcoming and banter was friendly and homely. Even in the event of not having any toothpaste the staff bent over backwards to see what they could do to solve the issue.

Food was good, holesome and fresh.

Will stay at Trents again and will be my accomodation and restaurant of choice in Chichester.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Herbysalad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.3 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
3.4 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#5 of 8 in Chichester
696 reviews
1.9 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 8 in Chichester
961 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Vestry
The Vestry
#31 of 69 in Chichester
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trents

Address: 50 South Street | Chichester, Chichester PO19 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range: £73 - £109 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with its popular bar and restaurant, Trents offers five beautifully appointed bedrooms. All the rooms at Trents have power-showers, flat screen TV/ Audio, fridges, free WiFi broadband, complimentary fresh orange juice and mineral water – so you can be sure of every little luxury away from home. In short, Trents offers the perfect location from which to explore the city of Chichester and the surrounding area. START THE DAY WITH A GREAT BREAKFAST: We offer a range of breakfast options from fresh Croissants, Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Salmon to the traditional Full English Breakfast. A full range of fruit juices and coffee including our popular freshly squeezed orange juice are also served. Complimentary daily newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Trents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trents Hotel Chichester
Trents Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing