We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient and comfortable base for a short break” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Trents

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Trents
Ranked #39 of 75 Chichester B&B and Inns
Stamford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Convenient and comfortable base for a short break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We stayed at Trents for two nights while visiting friends on holiday at a nearby resort and found it almost perfect for our purposes. We intend to return for a longer stay and hope to have the same room. It is close to the rail station and right in the city centre, with many buses out of the city stopping right outside the door!

We had room 1, small but well-equipped, at the front of the building. Décor was good, room and shower room clean, and a fridge with included mineral water and orange juice was a nice touch, as well as the usual tea and coffee. Free wifi was simple to use and very fast and we made extensive use of it for finding out about the local area. The bed was extremely comfortable and sleep easy.

The room had a tendency to get hot if curtains were left open on a sunny day, so we asked the chambermaid to keep them closed and it was then fine (an electric fan had been provided, too). we are used to town-centre living and were not unduly disturbed by noise from the street even though we left the window open all night. My one small criticism was that it was a bit short on storage space: the wardrobe was half taken up by the fridge and drinks-making equipment and the drawers were all very small. We coped by leaving some things in our cases (in an English summer you always have some things you don't need because you have to allow for any weather!), and there was space to store the cases.

Staff were friendly, hard-working and helpful: even though they clearly had a lot to do they were always pleasant and made us feel that we mattered to them. Breakfast was included in our room rate: the breakfast was great, obviously cooked to order and probably the best English Breakfast I've had anywhere. I had the "lighter option" and it still kept me going most of the day!

Thoroughly recommended, especially for anyone using public transport.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 405markw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    61
    19
    9
    8
See reviews for
20
61
6
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Staff were very welcoming on arrival and room with free WiFi was comfortable. The location is excellent except it is hard to find the parking area when you are visiting from OS. We enjoyed the restaurant and the breakfast. Would recommend to others.

Room Tip: If you have an disability speak to staff as there is lots of stairs and steps in the rooms as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Merrilyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We wine & dine at Trents often & thought it would be fun to stay overnight for our anniversary. On arriving we were shown to our room without fuss, so the check-in (& check out) was quick and easy. The room was very quaint and comfortable, but the best thing abt our stay at Trents was its location - we loved having the shops & restaurants on our doorstep!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

My daughter and I stayed here for 1 night 23.07.14 by chance as everywhere in Portsmouth was fully booked - it was my son's Graduation day. Upon arrival we were greeted by very friendly relaxed staff and shown our very nice room. Parking is behind the hotel on a Council pay and display which is free 6pm to 8am so make sure you get the ticket as the warden was putting a ticket on a vehicle by 9am!
The room was very nice with fresh milk and orange juice in the fridge - very nice decor and a comfortable bed. It was however 30 centigrade hot and sunny all day so despite the fan and windows open it was still very hot for sleeping. We had a meal in the restraunt which was superb and then had drinks outside which was packed with locals, so a very popular meeting place. Breakfast was lovely with many choices. Overall an excellent choice!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Smiffy1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Festival of Speed weekend at Goodwood and expected everwhere to be busy. However we must of caught it just right as managed to get a nice table. The staff were very attentive and chatty but no overly. Shared a lovely started of Shreaded Duck. My Main course was Double cooked Pork, very tasty but the green beans were undercooked and I mean undercooked! I think they were lucky if they saw boiling water. I mentioned this to the waitress who was very aplogetic. Having said that it was an enjoyable evening.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014 via mobile

We had two fantastic nights at Trents Hotel whilst visiting our daughter in Chichester. We couldn't have been made more welcome from the attentive staff upon arrival and at every occasion thereafter. The room was beautifully clean and the king size bed so comfortable it rivals that of the Bellagio in Las Vegas. Thankyou all at Trents for looking after so wonderfully.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Hamer0708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

From the minute we walked in the door Trents was a lovely place to be. The staff were immediately very helpful and carried our small & light suitcases up to our room. The room was clean & comfortable with everything that we could possibly want, mini fridge (fresh milk & juice a nice touch), hairdryer, iron & ironing board, wi-fi etc etc. The food was lovely, the Friday crab & lobster highly recommended, and the breakfast was the best that I've eaten in a long time. The homemade hash browns were amazing and I could have eaten a plate full of those alone. A short walk from the hotel is the whole of Chichester so is great for a weekend break.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Cath3006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
0.3 mi away
The Nags Head
The Nags Head
#9 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.3 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel
Chichester Harbour Hotel
#5 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chichester Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crouchers Hotel
Crouchers Hotel
#2 of 9 in Chichester
4.5 of 5 bubbles 781 reviews
1.3 mi away
Chichester Park Hotel
Chichester Park Hotel
#7 of 9 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chichester Inn
Chichester Inn
#29 of 75 in Chichester
4.0 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Trents? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Trents

Property: Trents
Address: 50 South Street | Chichester, Chichester PO19 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Along with its popular bar and restaurant, Trents offers five beautifully appointed bedrooms. All the rooms at Trents have power-showers, flat screen TV/ Audio, fridges, free WiFi broadband, complimentary fresh orange juice and mineral water – so you can be sure of every little luxury away from home. In short, Trents offers the perfect location from which to explore the city of Chichester and the surrounding area. START THE DAY WITH A GREAT BREAKFAST: We offer a range of breakfast options from fresh Croissants, Scrambled Eggs and Smoked Salmon to the traditional Full English Breakfast. A full range of fruit juices and coffee including our popular freshly squeezed orange juice are also served. Complimentary daily newspapers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Trents reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Trents Hotel Chichester
Trents Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing