We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, friendly service and lovely location”

Field & Fork Restaurant
Ranked #11 of 239 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Portsmouth, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great food, friendly service and lovely location”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We had dinner here with friends recently. The restaurant had relocated to this lovely building from another venue in the town. The space is quirky, with our table being nestled next to an old fireplace. We had plenty of room between tables. Service was the right level of attentiveness with knowledgeable and friendly waiting staff. The food was delicious. Skipping first courses as we were eating a little late, we had great mains then desserts. The menu is varied and I could have happily eaten just about all of it. Not too expensive - good quality ingredients, cooked very well and served with enthusiasm. Will definitely return.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank WendyAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    50
    15
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent new location, food exemplary. ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile


Visited the new restaurant, having meant to go to the Pallant House gallery, but never managed it.

The new restaurant is in a tranquil location just next to Priory Park, with a light and airy conservatory area for spring / summer dining. We chose from the 'market menu', and were pleasantly surprised by the portions, seasonality and freshness of ingredients. The flavour combinations were well thought out, and the execution excellent.

The new Field and Fork is a welcome addition to the gourmet options in central Chichester.

Helpful?
2 Thank ajf1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing food and service! (and offers a vegan menu!)”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

This is a new location for Field & Fork and we can't praise them enough! They have transformed a former dingy cafe into a fresh restaurant with fabulous atmosphere and even better food!

The service is attentive without being over the top, the staff friendly and professional.

As vegans (dairy free and or vegetarians) we are often limited in choice but this restaurant actually had a separate printed vegan menu what wasn't just a variation of the main menu. Wow!

I defy even staunch carnivores not to enjoy:

- Marinated baby artichokes with truffle vinaigrette

then

- Wild garlic & squash gnocchi, spring vegetables.

or

- Caramelised beetroot tart with herb salad, chilli & puffed wild rice.

Tastier than delicious and we had a choice of dessert!

We'll be back - in fact we can't wait to go back! It's almost too close to home!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rich E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
156 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value dinner”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Opened 5 days ago, Sam Mahoney has at last got a restaurant worthy of his cooking. Very attractive spacious rooms including a conservatory, exposed brickwork, dark woods but airy and with good ambience.
We had starters of crispy spiced crab cakes and citrus scallops with fennel and broad beans followed by blanquette of rabbit and fillet of beef with onions baby turnips and carrots and fondant potato. Delicious. Puddings of poached pear with a raspberry coulis and coconut and mango millefieu were similarly excellent. With 2 double espressos and two glasses of wine - a picoul de pinet and a Sicilian red total bill was £83 - great value.
One regret - no bread unless you purchase the basket of breads ( which if they are similar to the previous restaurant are very good but very filling).
Highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Field & Fork Restaurant also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Field & Fork Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing