We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Curious experience”

Field & Fork Restaurant
Ranked #13 of 247 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich UK
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Curious experience”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

We had booked by chance for a 6.30 table -- an alternative recommended location was unable to take a booking as they were full with pre theatre diners. Place under half full-- little odd given that alternative was full. 6.30 table actually gives you the choice of cheaper menu-- which was fine as we are not big eaters and the choices looked fine. Crab tart was good but my starter .. the garlic sausage was actually too much and not garlicky enough for my taste. Mains - partridge and skate were fine - and we managed to slip a tasty dessert in. The significant oddity - was the very loud and frequently repeated announcements ( there are no more crab tarts and just 3 skates) by the front of house manageress to the table staff ( who were charming) -- actually made us wonder whether she had been tasting to excess some liquid refreshments.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fidgetbuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    54
    16
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Thanks for a lovely evening for our wedding anniversary”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We went to Field and Fork on Saturday evening to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Lovely food and wine off the a la carte menu included seared Tuna followed by lamb for me and Lobster Linguigne and Hake for my hubby. We were not disappointed with our choices. Portion sizes are very generous so we had a gorgeous Lime and Basil Panecotta with sauteed strawberries pud to share which we did so sitting outside in their small but perfectly formed courtyard whilst we finished off the wine on what was very warm evening. Overall , it was a lovely evening which made our wedding anniversary very special and memorable. Thanks !

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lf502014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Dinner”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We came here for dinner after reading the many good reviews on trip advisor. We were not disappointed, the food and service was outstanding. my only criticisms would be that our food arrived very quickly after each course and also there were no petit fours with the coffee. They are only small things from this very particular girl ;o) We will definitely be returning though.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SSOLF M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Regular Breakfast Visits”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Great food, great service with a friendly smile; very basic cafe style eatery and the food and drinks are very good value. Breakfast is our favourite; they also have a loyalty card for free coffee..... You must try it.....

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank JillyFreemanGregory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Food & excellent Attentive Service”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Our first visit to their new venue since they left The Pallant and we were not disappointed. It was a very hot day but the staff could not have been more accommodating ensuring that we had a cool spot in the centre dining area. The food was excellent and very well presented and the staff were very attentive. We chose from the Market Garden Menu and each course was delicious especially the toasted Lavender Marshmallow with chocolate sauce and tulle biscuit. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Field & Fork Restaurant also viewed

Chichester, West Sussex
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Field & Fork Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing