We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chichester
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rooks Hill Guest House
Ranked #26 of 69 Chichester B&B and Inns
Reviewed 1 July 2013

We had a week stay in one of the apartments and found it to be lovely. The apartment had everything we needed and was very well presented throughout. It's an ideal spot for touring the surrounding area and has a delicious restaurant across the way.
We would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed at Rooks Hill after seeing the positive TripAdvisor reviews. We were attending a wedding just up the road and this was the closest guest house. The room did look out onto a very busy road but it's so well sound-proofed you would never have known. The owners were really friendly but they didn't crowd you. Breakfast was very nice indeed and the garden was lovely, especially at this time of year when the Wisteria is out. If you're staying in Mid Lavant or need to be near Chichester, this is the place to stay. Lovely.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We had a two night stay as we were in the area for a wedding. We had the Lavant suite and it was great. The bed was the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in, I might visit this part of the country again just to sleep in that bed again. As for everything else I don't know how you could improve a thing, it was great. Also if you want an evening meal there is a very good pub just across the road.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

I have stayed twice in one of the self contained apartments for a week each time. The apartment is beautifully appointed, spacious, full of character and a real home from home. Lin could not have been more helpful and welcoming each time and I am certain that I will be staying here again when visiting family locally.

My only concern is that everyone will find out about this wonderful gem of a holiday apartment and it will become over subscribed! Can't recommend this highly enough.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We had a super one night stay here. Everything had been thought of to make our stay very comfortable, we would definitely recommend it! Really nice owners who were the perfect balance of polite and friendly but not overly familiar and too chatty!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were only booked for an 'overnight' en route home from Glyndebourne and visiting friends living nearby for dinner, but we were made to feel very welcome on arrival by Lin. We had opted for the 'suite' room Lavant, which is very spacious with a very comfortable super-king bed (other b&b owners with 'dodgy' beds please note!!!). The whole room was furnished to good 'hotel' standards. The bathroom is small but perfectly functional with plenty of fluffy towels and good toiletries.
Although the house is on a busy main road there was both secondary and tertiary glazing to our room which silenced the traffic noise almost totally and we had a very good night's sleep. A great idea for this lovely Grade II listed building.
The following morning an excellent breakfast, cooked and served to us by Lin,saw us on our way. The delicious marmalades and jams deserve a special mention!
I have no hesitation in recommending Rooks Hill. Not cheap, but we felt we had enjoyed real quality.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank peb_48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We were a party of five; two couples and one single, attending a wedding in the area. Rooks Hill Guest House was recommended by the wedding venue owners at Upwaltham Barns

The accommodation was first class and ideal for what we needed. Between us we took the two self-contained apartments for up to two weeks, plus three nights B&B

Lin and Ron were friendly and welcoming, but left us very much to our own devices which suited us well. They were helpful and informative and made us feel very much at home

Rooks Hill is a delightful property and its restoration is to a very high standard. Accommodation is comfortable and well appointed with very attractive furnishings

We highly recommend Rooks Hill, without hesitation, as a superb guest house of high quality. We would happily stay there again

Room Tip: The self-contained apartments are perfect for couples or small families with first class facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Chichester hotels
3.1 mi away
The Old Store Guest House
0.5 mi away
The Royal Oak Inn
The Royal Oak Inn
#2 of 4 in East Lavant
207 reviews
2 mi away
The Old School Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Bulls Head
The Bulls Head
#1 of 4 in Fishbourne
128 reviews
4 mi away
Millstream Hotel & Restaurant
1.9 mi away
Chichester Harbour Hotel and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rooks Hill Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rooks Hill Guest House

Address: Lavant Road, Chichester PO18 0BQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > West Sussex > Chichester
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 69 B&Bs / Inns in Chichester
Price Range: £75 - £175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Rooks Hill Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooks Hill is a beautiful grade II listed country house with three individually designed en-suite bedrooms and two luxury self catering apartments,combining traditional character with contemporary luxury. Situated at the foot of the South Downs and only 2 miles from the historic city of Chichester and Glorious Goodwood. Awarded AA 5 yellow stars, highly commended. A very warm welcome awaits you. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rooks Hill Guest House Chichester, West Sussex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing