We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GOOD CELEBRATION VENUE”
Review of Cassons Restaurant

Cassons Restaurant
Ranked #37 of 247 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$62
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The finest food set in charming relaxed surroundings, cooked by award winning Chef Viv. Out of City with plenty of parking.The owners strive to give each guest an unforgettable experience.
Durham England
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“GOOD CELEBRATION VENUE”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

Had a meal at Cassons on a Saturday night to celebrate my brother's 70th Birthday. It was a set three course dinner with plenty of choice, plus an amuse bouche and petite fours with our coffee. The food was delicious and the service very goodl All fourteen of us were sat on a large table and thoroughly enjoyed the dining experience!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fluffychris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    261
    52
    21
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“First visit”
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had never been here before and as one of our favourite restaurants has since closed down we thought we would give it a go, as it was our wedding anniversary we wanted something special and that is what we got the food was superb, the staff where very good and delivered a great service. Over all we had a great evening with fantastic food and wine and we will be going back, the people that have moaned about the road noise...Really...Enjoy the food, wine and the moment

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcus-toone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Excellent, good value lunch”
Reviewed 12 April 2014 via mobile

It's a while since we ate at Cassons but this sunny Saturday after finding Arundel packed we reurned towards Chichester and lunched here. We chose from the Spring Menu and both had Tomato and Basil soup - excellent - followed by pan fried hake on a bed of leeks and spinach with potato spheres - looked lovely and tasted delicious with a very good sauce. We finished with very good double espressos. The service was friendly and efficient. We were served pre lunch nibbles, good bread and the fixed price menu (£17for 2 courses) included a glass of wine ( a choice of Sauvignon blanc or Macon Villages for the white - both good).
The total bill was £39.50 so only the coffees were a bit on the expensive side. Good value nonetheless. Would certainly recommend.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RHarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Littlehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great dinner”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

I wentto Cassonsfor mywife's birthday. Fantastic food, with fresh produce, well cooked. The service was jusr right, not too intrusive, but equally not keptwaiting for too long. The only reason I didn't give it top marks was tge limited choice ov only 4 mains on the menu. Having said that tge food was so good, it didn't really matter

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 508JonC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch!”
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This was our first visit to Cassons and we were impressed. We had the Spring lunch offer, £17 for two courses, £20 for three, and with a glass of wine included. For starters we chose tempura haddock, wilted spinach with tartare sauce and warm salad of smoked duck with pancetta and wild mushrooms. Impeccable. Our mains were beef bourguignon with potato purée, carrots, broccoli and red wine jus, and hake with spinach, leeks and potato. They were both very good indeed. For pudding we shared a lovely banana ice cream with banana and caramel foam, caramelised banana slices and brandy snap. Light, delicious and fun! So it was an all round great lunch and the service was impeccable too. So, all in all, Cassons is highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Louroucal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cassons Restaurant also viewed

 
Chichester, West Sussex
 
Chichester, West Sussex
 

Been to Cassons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing