We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent lunch”
Review of Cassons Restaurant

Cassons Restaurant
Ranked #24 of 240 Restaurants in Chichester
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$38 - US$62
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The finest food set in charming relaxed surroundings, cooked by award winning Chef Viv. Out of City with plenty of parking.The owners strive to give each guest an unforgettable experience.
basingstoke
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“An excellent lunch”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I, together with some friends, went to Cassons for lunch yesterday, May 15th. The food and its presentation were excellent, as was the service, and exceptional value. However, we were the only four there!! Not the best location to drop in upon if you don't know it, and the only sign we saw was after the entrance on the A27, and the way in/ forecourt wasn't too impressive either. But for those who know it, a superb place to eat.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vernon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    258
    52
    21
    11
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect Evening”
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

This is by far the best meal I have ever had. The quail breast starter and the venison were to die for and the quartet of desserts was a perfect way to end the meal. Lovely relaxing environment and will definitely be back very soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank KatyKilhams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dinner au deaux”
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Great evening lovely food great set meal , no squabbles over the bill
Would have liked a cosier area for pre dinner drinks

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Laramie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The personal touch!”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

If you are looking for that extra special restaurant with fantastic, innovative dishes, worthy of Michelin stars and a real personal touch..... Then look no further. We have been going to Cassons for approximately 9 years and EVERY time enjoyed the beautifully prepared and tasty food. Viv has an artistic eye for presentation and technique only to be marvelled at. Front of house, (Cass) was as usual a congenial host and excellent waiter. What I LOVE about this place is the way they make you feel so welcome and enjoy the post dinner chat with Viv who makes a point of getting feed back on the meal. All in all...... If you haven't been there, do try it.....you will love it. Dined on 6/6/14

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 82AlisonG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Confolens, France
Level Contributor
240 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“The best Sunday Lunch for miles”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Looking for places to eat that are a thing of greatness with food service and price...well we can saftely say that Cassons IS just such a place.

The main problem we had was actually finding it we were ably assisted by traditional maps and sat nav but we overshot the actual destination more than x1 ...this is because it's actually on the main Dual carriageway leading out of Chichester towards Brighton.....it's called the Arundel road but you'd be very hard pressed to find any actual road names !!!

Arriving late a Very Genial Owner was not in the least bit phased and we took our seats in what is a far more classy and cozy eating area than it looks from outside.

The 3 course lunch with 6 choices of each course was very nicely presented and tasted beautiful, the beef and Yorkshire puddings wonderful. The 2 halves of White and red wines were very good and we really enjoyed our lunch

The staff were very polite and friendly.
We would certainly recommend this to our friends !

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Onestewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cassons Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Cassons Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing