We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Planned a visit for a couple of years - hugely disappointing”
Review of Comme Ca Restaurant - CLOSED

Comme Ca Restaurant
Price range: US$45 - US$72
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Comme Ca Restaurant has been established as one of the best French restaurants in Sussex since 1986. Set in the beautiful, historic city of Chichester, West Sussex, this eatery has become a firm favourite for travelling Theatre goers and the local community. Serving quality, fresh, locally sourced, modern French food, great wines and fantastic value for money. All in a surprisingly relaxed and informal atmosphere.also an ideal venue for special events such as birthdays, anniversaries, weddings and for those solemn events such as wakes. Comme Ca has a beautiful secluded Garden Terrace for events on days when the sun is shining
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Went for an early lunch. Only three tables occupied and all very close together so conversation was whispered. Rest of large dining room empty - why squeeze us together. Out of four dishes ordered, only one was good. The salad Carmargaise was over-oiled, rendering leaves slimy and masking other flavours. The veau terrine was bland to the point of tasteless and the lemon sole was mushy and bland on the underside. Disappointing to note the floral displays were plastic. In a restaurant of this supposed calibre and cost, all in all it was a huge disappointment. Mentioned our issues to Maitre d', who apologised but nothing further was said or done. Why did chef not come out to talk with us? Why were we charged full price? More to the point, why did we not decide to pay less - that is what is so galling!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Jmoi669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommeCa67, General Manager at Comme Ca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2013

thank you for taking the time to express your views on your recent visit, and I am sorry that you felt your meal didn't meet your expectations.

we work very hard to make sure that ours guests enjoy their experience and are extremely disappointed when people do not.

I do have to say though that we had 12 tables in the restaurant that lunchtime and not just 3. you were dining early to go to the theatre and as you only ate 2 courses and then moved to the bar to finish your drinks, you may not have seen all the tables.

with regard to the dishes you chose, I am sorry you didn't enjoy them.it is always very difficult when we are not told there is a problem until the end of the meal. if you had mentioned while you were eating that there was a problem then we could have done something. At Comme Ca we have a policy to change your dish even if you just don't like it and there is nothing wring with it.

in this instance you didn't say anything to Anthony, who is our Restaurant Manager, until after you had moved to the bar, an apology from him was the most he could do at this point, and when you asked me for the bill at the end you mentioned nothing to me about the problems you had, we just spoke about your visit to the theatre.

we will always try to rectify any issues, but we have to be given that chance

Simon Tideswell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Dined here midweek evening. Booked by phone, staff were courteous and polite, reviewed the website menus and where it was located. On arrival plenty of parking space. Relaxed atmosphere , had pre dinner drink in garden and then dined inside. We selected from the Monet menu and every course was splendid, service attentive but not intrusive. Tables laid nicely and crumbs swept away after main course. A pleasant evening out with time to savour each course.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tezpil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommeCa67, General Manager at Comme Ca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent visit to Comme Ca. we are pleased that you enjoyed your meal with us, and hope that you are able to join us again soon. Simon Tideswell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We hadn't been there for over ten years but thank goodness we went back. It was our anniversary meal and the service and food just could not have been better. We went for the Versailles set menu and it was a good choice. The wine list was devoid of the usual mass produced high mark up whites. We went for the St Veran. Then the bombshell, it will be closing for sale and refurb in the Autumn so luckily we got there before it was too late.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank ceedubya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommeCa67, General Manager at Comme Ca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2013

thank you for taking the time to write a review. we are pleased to see you at Comme Ca again and that you enjoyed your meal. Simon Tideswell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

This restaurant on the outskirts of Chichester has been serving excellent meals for many, many years and it is only on reading another review that we realised it is like to close. The food has always been consistently good and the atmosphere is great and very French! If you have never been to Comme Ca, do it quickly before it is no longer available.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommeCa67, General Manager at Comme Ca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased you enjoyed your meal with us and we hope to welcome you again soon. Simon Tideswell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

We have been coming to Comme Ca on special occasions for the last 5 years or so. On this occasion we arranged to have the private dining area where 11 of us enjoyed a family birthday meal.

Simon (manager) liaised with me beforehand to create a personalised menu, including photos and messages we wanted to include, and a wonderful chocolate tort birthday cake as a fitting finale to our evening.

The staff were attentive, friendly and helpful and set exactly the right tone for the evening. Everyone had a great evening, from aged 6 to aged 80!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank SavvySarahSPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CommeCa67, General Manager at Comme Ca Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2013

Thank you for your kind review, we are pleased you enjoy visiting Comme Ca and hope you will continue to do so. Simon Tideswell, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Comme Ca Restaurant also viewed

East Lavant, Chichester
West Ashling, Chichester
 
Chichester, West Sussex
Bracklesham Bay, Chichester
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing