We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visit Bradford and enjoy your stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Great Victoria Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We visit Bradford regularly as our son is at the university. The groupon prompted us to stay
Longer and we have had a great time.the great Victoria is brilliantly located and for those of us who love traditional hotels we must support these fab establishments or they will all be lost to travel lodges and P inns. The room was very clean and well appointed on the first floor.we looked at upgrading to the forth but we liked the room we had. Have to mention the meal which was really enjoyable. We had 2courses and each dish was of a hgh standard. I had the salad nicoise and my husband chose the lamb. We shared the dessert of apple crumble with cinnamon and ice cream. Devine! The hotel was busy with parties and weddings which is just how hotels should be. Will return.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. It's not so noisy but please expect a busy hotel to have guests coming and going...
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbowsoffthetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to ear you head enjoyable stay and dinner in our hotel. On your next visit please ask our reservation team to accommodate you on the quiet side of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (779)
There are newer reviews for Great Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

646 - 652 of 779 reviews

Reviewed 13 April 2012

6 of us went for afternoon tea. It was a disgrace!!! Food was served at 3 wether all of your party had arrived or not!!! We sat down at 3.10 to stale sandwiches. Sandwiches were dull and uninviting. The scone was dry and the cakes????? Well they were a disgrace!!! There was one piece of lemon tart that was the size of a 5 pence piece and the tiniest piece of banoffee chessecake. Came away still very hungery!!
Would not go back for food.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loveuk123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to post your feedback.
Terms and conditions of Afternoon Tea stated on the voucher shows that Afternoon Tea is served every day at 3pm. I am sorry to hear that it was not up to your standards. All food is freshly prepared on the daily basis at around 2.30pm to make sure all is ready for service at 3pm. Afternoon Tea is served as a snack not as a substitute of a meal.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Booked this hotel on a Groupon deal so the price was good. Wasn't sure what to expect as the deal was for a suite. Hotel does itself no favours when the car park sign informs you that it is going to cost you £3 per night parking fee when it is actually free. There was a ramp for wheelchairs by the side of the main entrance but the entrance doors were not automatic so someone had to be inside to open up. Worked ok for my wife and I as I was able to enter the hotel and then open the doors. Not sure what someone on their own in a wheelchair would have done.

Initially found the place gloomy and confusing as there appeared to be two reception desks but it just happened that someone was behind the second one which was not the norm. Got the key and went up to the room (no sign of any porters during our stay). Initial impression of the suite was that it was minimalistic but it grew on me. One thing to bear in mind is that (like many other so called boutique hotels) clothes storage is minimal. Fine if you are staying one or two nights but otherwise you are living out of your suitcase.

The hotel was running an Easter egg judging competition which, being English born and bred, I was surprized to see described as an exercise in multi-culturalism. Until the evening was blessed with the celebration of a Muslim wedding!

Not sure what to say about the catering. A two course dinner with glass of wine was included in the price so we ate in the restaurant. I was more than satisfied with my meal but my wife found the pate too rich (cannot really blame the hotel) but her main course was not properly described in the menu as she ordered salmon with potatoes and green beans only to find they were actually part of a cold salad. We both ordered dessert and I expected mine to come with whipped cream but it did not. The waiter tried to tell me that it was part of the sauce but I insisted that he raised the issue with the chef - I then got a bowl of whipped cream with the chef's apologies. The following night I ordered from the bar menu but my wife fancied an egg mayonnaise starter which was not on the menu. Bar staff negotiated with the kitchen staff and it was agreed that it could be done. As it turned out there was a language problem and my wife ended up with three boiled eggs in shells, a dish of paprika, and some bread and butter. After asking she also got a bowl of mayonnaise. She did not go hungry.

Despite that I loved this hotel. The walls had been left panelled, the corridors were exceptionally wide. The staff were approachable and there was just this air of peace and calm in the place.

Would thoroughly recommend but just do not be afraid to be assertive if you are not happy

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ag_Surfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor.
I am pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel despite small issues with your starter and dessert. Ramp which you mentioned is a fire exit and need to be kept shut but our reception team is very attentive and will open the doors whenever there is a need for access.
We look forward to welcome you back at Great Victoria in future.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Stayed on Business/ Pleasure late March. One of the Jewels which Bradford has to offer. The staff are great, the room on the Merlin floor (Yes the floors have names!) - Luxury room is exactly that. The view outside of room 310 is great on a night & early morning.

Restaurant is amazing, the bar is amazing, room service is amazing. Such a great Hotel.

The location is bang on. Close to restaurants, pubs & the City.

For the price... I would have paid double & been amazed.

Every year for the conference I go to on Wapping Road I will stay here it is that great.

Mr E D Brown - Guest of Room 310: 2nd to 24th March 2012

Room Tip: Ask for the merlin Floor, Luxury Room. £1.50 for Shaving Kit, Sewing Kit (various Kits) etc. is wort...
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Administrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted to hear you had an enjoyable stay. We look forward to welcome you again here at Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for one night on a dinner, bed and breakfast deal.
The hotel is a large, impressive, traditional building but with a very modern twist in decor internally - in the evening, tealights in glass jars were dotted along the corridors through the ground floor, giving a lovely ambience and this was a nice touch.
The room was very nicely done, with a very large bed, and the bathroom was fine if not exceptional.
All of the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially the waiter in the restaurant.
The evening meal in the beautifully decorated dining room was excellent - fantastic service and very well presented food of excellent quality.
Yes, there was football on the TV in the bar but as the bar appeared to be occupied mainly by single businessmen I guess this is what the majority of these guests want? There is a very nice, secondary, quieter bar area with no TV so you can escape this if you wish to have a couple of quiet drinks (as we did).
The location is perfect, right in the centre but with a large car park and adjacent to the theatre, train station and main shopping area.
We would definitely stay in this hotel again and can highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights on a special deal which included a 2 course meal +wine in luxury suite. Breakfast wasnt included but if we booked the day before we could have breakfast for £8 each instead of £10 each, so we booked for the next morning....and were told breakfast finished at 9am.
The hotel is very grand and has huge corridors with big pieces of art hanging..we were given the keys to a lovely 2 room suite on the third floor.the sitting room had a leather suite, coffee table,tv, dvd, desk and chair. Very comfy and clean..2 huge windows in there that didnt open though so made it quite warm.The bedroom was next door, kingsize bed was great,,,coffee and tea making stuff was hidden away in the wardrobe...we took it out and put it in the sitting room, the small kettle couldnt be unfastened from the cord so had to take the whole thing to the sink, and it felt a bit unstable as well.
The window in the bathroom could be opened slightly and we wedged a cardboard pack in there to keep it open, otherwise it would have been far too warm for us..The bathroom was lovely, nice deep bath, all looked quite new, lovely toiletries in there..
Parking was £10 a day!!!! Unless you spent £10 in the bar which wasnt hard to do---2 glasses of wine was £12 .....
The meal on the first night was included and was really good....couldnt fault it at all--the lamb was to die for...shame about breakfast the next morning...
Faulty Towers comes to mind! Where do I start?
We were told to sit anywhere we liked and the dining room though huge was pretty well full- there appeared to be several waiters and waitress's working at first glance,,after a few mins we were able to order some toast and help ourselves to the cereals, then a waitress asked what we wanted cooked-we ordered a full english and waited and waited and waited, in the 3/4 hour we sat there we watched them carrying out cold plates of 'food' with thumbs well and truely in the food, they came out walked to a table--saw they were already eating and then turned round and went straight back to kitchen with it--only to come back out again seconds later! There were no numbers on the tables and it was chaos..and people were getting more and more fed up..
It was beyond a joke----basic hygiene means not holding a plate with no cloth---yukkk
and when the breakfast did eventualy arrive it was a joke,,,,,no sausage, bacon shattered when I tryed to cut it,egg was cremated, as was the black pudding---couldnt even cut that! The fried bread had been deep fried hours before by the look of it--was practicaly black and solid, they had tryed to hide it under another burnt hash brown....we couldnt believe it had left the kitchen...never had such a bad plate of food presented like that before---and for a hotel like the Grand Victoria it was disgusting..
We complained of course , the waitress said they had problems with the chef---hard to believe there was a chef in the kitchen to be honest,,,,
we also complained at reception who appologised and refunded our money we paid for breakfast...they really have to get that sorted out---must have been different staff to the night before!
All in all a lovely hotel but needs to get staff sorted out!
We went across the road to The Bradford Buffet-- chinese all you can eat place---it was brilliant-and well worth a visit!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dianejennings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments regarding your stay in our hotel.

I am disappointed to hear your stay was not fully satisfactory. But thank you for your feedback. I can assure you that points raised by you has been looked into and dealt with.

Again I would like to thank you for taking time to post your comments and look forward to welcome you again in Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

From the moment you book in you will begin to doubt the wisdom of staying in this hotel! The lobby is dark and smells old and smoky, the whole environment feels like it needs a good clean. The reception staff seemed to be overwhelmed and harassed. The room was stiflingly hot and although the windows were secondary glazed, necessary because you are right opposite busy bus and train station, the outer window would only open a couple of inches. The room itself was dirty and dusty. The only redeeming feature was the bed was comfortable. When the room did not cool down despite the addition of a fan we were eventually moved to a cooler room, unfortunately none of the windows in this room opened at all! We went down for breakfast the next morning after a Luke warm shower. Certainly cooled things down! No room in breakfast area and were told to go to lobby and wait! Breakfast was ok when we were eventually seated! Later that evening I comeback to the hotel without key ( with husband) and had to argue with receptionist to give me a spare key to get into my room. Customer service none existent! Do not stay here! There are far better, cleaner and cheaper hotels in Bradford!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

Cleanliness is of the utmost importance to us and all bedrooms and lobby area are cleaned on daily basis. Great Victoria is a listed building and it requires special permission to change windows or carry out any external or internal renewal. At the moment we are awaiting decision regarding any renovations.
You can rest assure that all your feedback has been taken on board by our Team.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
743 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bradford
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
1.4 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
433 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Victoria Hotel

Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range: £39 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Old-fashioned Hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Superbreak UK, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing