We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Great Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Returned to this hotel again while attending Film Festival. A grand hotel from the past bought up to date very tastefully. Friendly and courteous staff. Excellent accommodation and food. Very good value. Hope to return in the future

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in future here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (838)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

699 - 705 of 838 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

I last stayed here five years ago. I liked it then and I kind of like it now, though it’s more shabby than chic than it was five years ago. Considering it’s in a moderately grand building and gave me a full suite for £109B&B including wi-fi and free parking this was a good deal in anyone’s language. To be fair, the facilities were commensurate with a budget hotel - no bottled water in the room, no tissues, no bathrobe, lots of biffs and bashes and a grotty view. When every wall is stark white every bump and crack shows up so the hotel needs constant attention and maintenance which I don’t think it gets.

The breakfast buffet in the cavernous restaurant was very basic, too - inexpertly poached eggs came on horribly soggy toast and the pre-cooked bacon/mushrooms/toms etc were terrible. I got the impression they operate on a skeletal staff but everyone was friendly and seemed to come from everywhere except Yorkshire. There’s not a lot of choice in Bradford but I’d always opt for this fairly characterful place rather than an antiseptic box like the Hilton across the road.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I have passed your comments onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance team. We look forward to welcome you back again here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Arrived late afternoon at the hotel, travelling with Travelstyle, first impression from outside it looked very nice and quite impressive.
Check in was efficient as was the information talk and meal time information.
Rooms very nice, had one overlooking square towards Law Courts, flat screen tv, video, not sure if you paid too hire DVDs though, very clean as was the on suite bathroom with over bath shower.
Offered choice of starter, main course and sweet, all very well presented, hot and delicious, staff very friendly and efficient, seemed to be central/eastern european but spoke english and were helpfull. It was nice to have a meal in a hotel that wasn`t buffet.
Breakfast again was very good and plentyfull, this time buffet.
Very nice hotel, efficient and helpfull staff, very good location, ideal for rail/bus interchange, city centre, local entertainment (Cinema, Bowling, Casino and pubs) would cetainly recommend and hope to stay there again.
Good endorsement was that no one on the coach trip had any complaints and all thought it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards the Law Courts, found it to be quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We are enchanted to hear you enjoyed your time in our hotel and we await your return to the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have just spent one night in the Great Victoria hotel and we were amazed at the modern and very clean interior as its very deceptive when you look at the hotel from the exterior, but we were really pleasantly surprised, the rooms were first class and the evening meal and breakfast were excellent too,and the staff were very pleasant, plus the hotel was in a prime location in the town centre, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We often visit Bradford to visit family and decided this time to take advantage of a groupon deal for two nights and tag another night on. I am always apprehensive staying somewhere I have not stayed before but I need not have worried. We had a fabulous suite, everything was spotlessly clean. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. The breakfasts were freshly cooked which is unusual for a large hotel and the evening meal we had was lovely. I would not hesitate to stay again it was a refreshing change from the corporate hotels I am used o staying at. Just one thing the rooms need kettles with longer leads the kettle can only be boiled in the wardrobe or on the floor.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Debbiemetx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel. I have passed your comments onto our Housekeeping Team. We look forward to welcome you back again to the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Kruciska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

Two night stay, never been to Bradford before. Friendly staff and good central location. Rooms at front were a bit noisy so would recommend being at the back facing the Law Courts. Continental breakfast fine although slightly under-whelmed by the evening menu. Would stay again. Hotel recommended Omar Khan’s for a Bradford curry. Certainly better than Brick Lane.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PMWoody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Next time you book please speak to our reservation team and they will accommodate you on the quiet side of our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again at great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

We visit Bradford regularly as our son is at the university. The groupon prompted us to stay
Longer and we have had a great time.the great Victoria is brilliantly located and for those of us who love traditional hotels we must support these fab establishments or they will all be lost to travel lodges and P inns. The room was very clean and well appointed on the first floor.we looked at upgrading to the forth but we liked the room we had. Have to mention the meal which was really enjoyable. We had 2courses and each dish was of a hgh standard. I had the salad nicoise and my husband chose the lamb. We shared the dessert of apple crumble with cinnamon and ice cream. Devine! The hotel was busy with parties and weddings which is just how hotels should be. Will return.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs. It's not so noisy but please expect a busy hotel to have guests coming and going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elbowsoffthetable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to ear you head enjoyable stay and dinner in our hotel. On your next visit please ask our reservation team to accommodate you on the quiet side of the hotel.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
309 reviews
1.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
4.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Victoria Hotel

Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range: £40 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand old-fashioned hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Superbreak UK, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford
The Great Victoria Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing