We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Great Victoria Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Bradford Shipley(Shipley)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$92
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dubrovnik Hotel(Bradford)
US$94
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$73
US$62
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$75
US$66
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$66
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$53
US$47
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Midland Hotel(Bradford)
US$83
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (885)
Filter reviews
885 results
Traveller rating
279
276
148
97
85
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
279
276
148
97
85
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfourth floorthe penthouselaw courtsfree car parkoriginal featureswide corridorsgrand hoteltrain stationfloor roomdvd playercentral locationlovely hotelwet roomfour poster bedchristmas partyself servicepublic areas
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
743 - 748 of 885 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Didnt stay at hotel but went for afternoon tea. Only one sitting at 3pm. We got there at 3pm prompt and found the food on a couple of tables waiting for people, which culminated in stale bread with uninspiring fillings and soggy desserts which were minute even for a Borrower! The tea was aired and weak and the atmosphere was non existent. You can't really go wrong with afternoon tea as its the most easiest thing to sell at a profit but this was absolutely appalling. Of the little we ate we were done by 3.10pm and were starving hungry so went for a curry instead. Alex Polizzi needs to show them how a real afternoon tea should be done.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding Afternoon Tea. I am sorry to hear that this experience was not up to your satisfaction.Our afternoon tea stands are freshly prepared on a daily basis shortly before sitting time, 3pm. Regarding tea and coffee service,we serve it up to standards but if our guests wish to have it stronger or weaker we always follow the request. Afternoon Tea is served as a afternoon snack rather then a substitute of a meal.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Returned to this hotel again while attending Film Festival. A grand hotel from the past bought up to date very tastefully. Friendly and courteous staff. Excellent accommodation and food. Very good value. Hope to return in the future

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JandGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in future here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I last stayed here five years ago. I liked it then and I kind of like it now, though it’s more shabby than chic than it was five years ago. Considering it’s in a moderately grand building and gave me a full suite for £109B&B including wi-fi and free parking this was a good deal in anyone’s language. To be fair, the facilities were commensurate with a budget hotel - no bottled water in the room, no tissues, no bathrobe, lots of biffs and bashes and a grotty view. When every wall is stark white every bump and crack shows up so the hotel needs constant attention and maintenance which I don’t think it gets.

The breakfast buffet in the cavernous restaurant was very basic, too - inexpertly poached eggs came on horribly soggy toast and the pre-cooked bacon/mushrooms/toms etc were terrible. I got the impression they operate on a skeletal staff but everyone was friendly and seemed to come from everywhere except Yorkshire. There’s not a lot of choice in Bradford but I’d always opt for this fairly characterful place rather than an antiseptic box like the Hilton across the road.

Stayed: April 2012, travelled solo
2  Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I have passed your comments onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance team. We look forward to welcome you back again here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2012

Arrived late afternoon at the hotel, travelling with Travelstyle, first impression from outside it looked very nice and quite impressive.
Check in was efficient as was the information talk and meal time information.
Rooms very nice, had one overlooking square towards Law Courts, flat screen tv, video, not sure if you paid too hire DVDs though, very clean as was the on suite bathroom with over bath shower.
Offered choice of starter, main course and sweet, all very well presented, hot and delicious, staff very friendly and efficient, seemed to be central/eastern european but spoke english and were helpfull. It was nice to have a meal in a hotel that wasn`t buffet.
Breakfast again was very good and plentyfull, this time buffet.
Very nice hotel, efficient and helpfull staff, very good location, ideal for rail/bus interchange, city centre, local entertainment (Cinema, Bowling, Casino and pubs) would cetainly recommend and hope to stay there again.
Good endorsement was that no one on the coach trip had any complaints and all thought it was good value for money.

Room Tip: Rooms looking towards the Law Courts, found it to be quiet and spacious.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George H L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We are enchanted to hear you enjoyed your time in our hotel and we await your return to the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

We have just spent one night in the Great Victoria hotel and we were amazed at the modern and very clean interior as its very deceptive when you look at the hotel from the exterior, but we were really pleasantly surprised, the rooms were first class and the evening meal and breakfast were excellent too,and the staff were very pleasant, plus the hotel was in a prime location in the town centre, would definitely recommend

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tonyhorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at The Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews