We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Victorian splendour and up to the minute service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Great Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Victorian splendour and up to the minute service”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We visited as part of a coaching weekend, staying overnight. Our party was treated royally from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble and our accommodation was top notch. The menu for our evening meal was surprisingly varied and the food was fresh and plentiful, all served in elegant surroundings by attentive staff. After a peaceful and comfortable night, the ample and tasty breakfast set us up for the day. We would highly recommend the Great Victoria to anyone needing a place to stay in Bradford.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post you comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had pleasant time in our hotel. We await your return to the Great Victoria in future.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

756 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    239
    252
    126
    79
    60
See reviews for
89
296
65
178
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (187)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
lincoln uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012 via mobile

The revamp is boutique styling, tasteful and subtle in a classic Victorian hotel. luckily it retained the grandeur eg high ceilings and dark wood, , but it t be awfully expensive to maintain such a building - so dont expect perfection in everything. Breakfast was fantastic with crisp whiite tablecloths in a beautiful restaurant with all then original features. The sheets are also pure crisp cotton - none of that horrid poly cotton. Staff lovely and helpful.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank catrinLincolnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lancashire
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2012

My husband and I stayed with two other couples,the hotel was very clean,we had an excellent evening meal,the mushroom with stilton in batter starter were mouth watering and the steak was tender and not to mention the enormous chips,they were so tasty. The location was perfect,next to train station in which we had a day out in Leeds to the many shops and old pubs and the next day to York,the dungeons are a must and we ate in a lovely Italian Restaurant, then in the evening the hotel staff recommended a fantastic Indian Restaurant,which all enjoyed.Later we spent the evening in the HOTEL BAR. In all we have had a very good weekend away,comfortable and friendly surroundings.We only live in Morecambe and will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Depending on budget,you can have standard room which were lovely and spacious or more luxurious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lancashirececil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comment on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you and your friends had enjoyable stay at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back again here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
71 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2012

This is the second time I have stayed here. It was on a Groupon deal so was £59 for a night in a luxury room with 2 course meal and wine,

We arrived at 1.50pm and check in was at 2pm. They would not let us check in 10 minutes early. We had only travelled from Leeds but if you had a long journey I think this is unacceptable.

Once we checked in we went up to the room. The room was spacious with a separate living area then through a door to the bedroom and bathroom. The room was clean and tidy (little bit rough around the edges...you could see where touch ups had been painted on the wall and the carpet had a few stains. Also cracked sink.) The toilet lever had to pumped a few times to actually flush the chain.

The bed was amazing, firm but soft and we slept really well....apart from when the surrounding rooms used the sink or flushed the toilet you could hear the plumbing work.

The meal we had was fantastic. We both had the blue cheese mushrooms then I had fish and chips and my partner had the tandoori baked cod. Presentation was fantastic, service was great and the food was delicious. I am an avid fan of table covers so it is nice to sit and eat with proper high back chair and a crisp white table cover.

Overall this hotel is great but I don't think this would have been worth the full price of £144.

Come on Great Victoria, you could be a fantastic hotel...just iron out a few things.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Draculas_Bride666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments on the TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel.
In regards to your check in experience, 2pm gives us enough time to guarantee rooms to be ready. The time when you checked in was one of the days when we were extremely busy. Therefore we required the extra 10minutes to service your room. In regards to maintenance issues, all the comments have been past onto our Maintenance team. Once again we would like to thank you for your review.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Didnt stay at hotel but went for afternoon tea. Only one sitting at 3pm. We got there at 3pm prompt and found the food on a couple of tables waiting for people, which culminated in stale bread with uninspiring fillings and soggy desserts which were minute even for a Borrower! The tea was aired and weak and the atmosphere was non existent. You can't really go wrong with afternoon tea as its the most easiest thing to sell at a profit but this was absolutely appalling. Of the little we ate we were done by 3.10pm and were starving hungry so went for a curry instead. Alex Polizzi needs to show them how a real afternoon tea should be done.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PJLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments regarding Afternoon Tea. I am sorry to hear that this experience was not up to your satisfaction.Our afternoon tea stands are freshly prepared on a daily basis shortly before sitting time, 3pm. Regarding tea and coffee service,we serve it up to standards but if our guests wish to have it stronger or weaker we always follow the request. Afternoon Tea is served as a afternoon snack rather then a substitute of a meal.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford hotels

England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Returned to this hotel again while attending Film Festival. A grand hotel from the past bought up to date very tastefully. Friendly and courteous staff. Excellent accommodation and food. Very good value. Hope to return in the future

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JandGTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
dear Guest,

Many thanks for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back in future here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 648 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I last stayed here five years ago. I liked it then and I kind of like it now, though it’s more shabby than chic than it was five years ago. Considering it’s in a moderately grand building and gave me a full suite for £109B&B including wi-fi and free parking this was a good deal in anyone’s language. To be fair, the facilities were commensurate with a budget hotel - no bottled water in the room, no tissues, no bathrobe, lots of biffs and bashes and a grotty view. When every wall is stark white every bump and crack shows up so the hotel needs constant attention and maintenance which I don’t think it gets.

The breakfast buffet in the cavernous restaurant was very basic, too - inexpertly poached eggs came on horribly soggy toast and the pre-cooked bacon/mushrooms/toms etc were terrible. I got the impression they operate on a skeletal staff but everyone was friendly and seemed to come from everywhere except Yorkshire. There’s not a lot of choice in Bradford but I’d always opt for this fairly characterful place rather than an antiseptic box like the Hilton across the road.

Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Pausanias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 21 June 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback regarding your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I have passed your comments onto our Housekeeping and Maintenance team. We look forward to welcome you back again here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
1.4 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Victoria Hotel

Property: Great Victoria Hotel
Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Old-fashioned Hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Superbreak UK, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing