We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Underwelming but comfy customer service not so great”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Great Victoria Hotel
Ranked #15 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed 16 May 2012

Me and my partner spent a night at the hotel. The fist positive thing going for it is its close proximity to the Interchange Ideal for the tired traveller. On checking in was greeted by a sour faced lady on reception. No friendly greeting or smile just a very bog standard check in (something you expect from a budget hotel chain) The room was comfy and clean and the location restful. The paper delivered at a stupidly early time in the morning but at least we got offered the option. The smell from the breakfast room was enough to put you of eating so checked out and found a local cafe instead. But I can say that we had a good one night stay for the price we paid.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank magicmoments1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments.
Good customer service is of the utmost importance for us and we are very sorry to hear we did not meet your expectations. We do offer delivery of a newspaper and it is in the early morning however it is done without disturbing our guests.
Once again thank you for your feedback and we look forward to welcome you back here at the Great Victoria.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (849)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

700 - 706 of 849 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2012

My fiancé and I stayed here with two other couples. 2 of our party's rooms were standard doubles and one was a room with four poster bed and bath in the bedroom all rooms were well equipt with tea coffee making facilities and cleansing products such as soap body wash shampoo ect. All rooms were clean and spacious. Our room was across from the court which was very quiet. We got the train to Leeds which was under £5 each return and didn't take long. The train station is next to the hotel which is brilliant for access. We also went to York which took an hour and cost under £15 each return-great day out! The hotel staff were very friendly and helpfull. One of the receptionists recommended akbars Indian restaurant which was a short taxi ride down Leeds road. We had a fab time there it appeared to be very popular as it was full and staff were all lovely. All in all our stay at Bradford was memorable for all the right reasons and would definitely recommend staying at great Victoria. It is in the best location lovely staff and great food in the restaurant-the lamb was to die for! Can't wait to return would love to have a suite bedroom on the top floor next time!!!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hayleyandben
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your comments. We are pleased to hear you had enjoyable stay in our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back very soon.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Wasn't sure what to expect, but the Great Victoria was a real surprise. From the moment we saw the revolving door on the entrance it was a step back in time in the best possible way. The staff were friendly and helpful, the room was really lovely and the food was brilliant. I would surely return to this hotel, and would definitely recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thelmaandlouise2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your feedback. We are enchanted to hear you had pleasant stay in our hotel and we look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2012

Arriving in the evening, through the revolving door, you enter a warm, inviting, candlelit environment. The wood panelled foyer, wide corridors, and high ceilings make this hotel a special step backwards in time. The only hints that you are in the 21st - and not the 19th -Century are the pc on the reception, and the modern lift. The staff are customer-oriented, friendly, and natural, which makes a refreshing change from the anodine word-patterns trained into the staff of so many chain hotels. The bedroom is clean, large enough, and equipped with leather chair, desk, some of the Freeview TV channels, and a DVD player. The bathroom is fully tiled and modern. The window in my room didn't really open wide enough to cool the room down, so check before you unpack if you're a fresh air fiend.
The food in the restaurant is of a very high standard, reasonably priced, and served by staff who care, and who will go the extra mile to accommodate the seating preferences of a large group.

Room Tip: Let the staff know whether you prefer one of the warmer or cooler rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oysterloverEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay in our hotel. Please contact our reservation team next time you book about your room preferences.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Me and my wife married here at the Great Victoria in January 2012. We looked at many venues and this one stood out for us. The staff from start to finish were brilliant, nothing was too much trouble. The food both for the wedding and breakfast was fantastic. We were lucky enough to stay in the Ira penthouse suite which was amazing. All in all our day was fantastic and were couldn't have asked for more. Looking forward to celebrating our first anniversary here!!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liltman1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for taking time to post your comments onto TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed time here at the Great Victoria especially on such a important day. It will be a real pleasure to welcome you back again especially on your anniversary.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2012

We visited as part of a coaching weekend, staying overnight. Our party was treated royally from start to finish. Nothing was too much trouble and our accommodation was top notch. The menu for our evening meal was surprisingly varied and the food was fresh and plentiful, all served in elegant surroundings by attentive staff. After a peaceful and comfortable night, the ample and tasty breakfast set us up for the day. We would highly recommend the Great Victoria to anyone needing a place to stay in Bradford.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Les L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post you comments on TripAdvisor. We are delighted to hear you had pleasant time in our hotel. We await your return to the Great Victoria in future.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2012

The revamp is boutique styling, tasteful and subtle in a classic Victorian hotel. luckily it retained the grandeur eg high ceilings and dark wood, , but it t be awfully expensive to maintain such a building - so dont expect perfection in everything. Breakfast was fantastic with crisp whiite tablecloths in a beautiful restaurant with all then original features. The sheets are also pure crisp cotton - none of that horrid poly cotton. Staff lovely and helpful.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
Thank catrinLincolnUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 21 June 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to post your feedback. We are pleased to hear that you had a pleasant time and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Anna Krucinska

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,406 reviews
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#3 of 27 in Bradford
764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bradford
315 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel Bradford
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Great Victoria Hotel

Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range: £40 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand old-fashioned hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford
The Great Victoria Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing