We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay beautiful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Great Victoria Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great stay beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

Stayed overnight with friends for a catch up and I was very impressed to say the least, the hotel is beautifully done out and the rooms and beds are really comfortable. The service was second to none and nothing was too much trouble, dinner was really good as was breakfast the following morning.All in all a lovely change and far superior to some of the hotel chains and definately worth a visit, very grand and good quality at affordable prices

Room Tip: the 4th floor rooms are magnificent but all are of a very good standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phillip o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sir

Thank you for your great feedback, I look forward too welcoming you back to The Great Victoria very soon.

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    237
    249
    124
    79
    56
See reviews for
84
293
65
177
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

I needed a location close to Bradford Interchange, a comfortable well appointed room & decor I would feel relaxed in. I was not disappointed! The staff were welcoming & knowledgeable, the breakfast was excellent in terms of both quality & choice and the sound insulation in my front facing room was such that sounds from road outside and interchange taxi rank were virtually unnoticeable. The well built, historical building was is good order, although my bathroom, despite being perfectly satisfactory was in need of a little modernisation. However, I would have no hesitation making a return visit and certainly for the casual leisure traveller (who is actually paying for their accomodation!), the Great Victoria offers good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sir

May I take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and I am sure that as we continue our refurbishments the bathrooms will undergo modernisation.

I look forward too seeing you again soon

Kind regards
Dan kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

My wife and I have just stayed here and had an excellent time, mostly thanks to the wonderful staff and excellent facilities on offer. We decided to upgrade to one of the rooms on the 4th floor, and we certainly were not disappointed, as we were treated to some real luxury! This is our 2nd stay here, and we will certainly be back. Amani and Rob were particularly helpful, as they took time out to really show us the benefits of staying here. Great location too!!! Even the housekeeping staff were cheerful and friendly. All in all, a wonderful time!

Room Tip: Choose any from the 4th floor, although 212 is also very stylish and affordable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jollygirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sir

May I thank you for your much appreciated feedback, I have passed on your comments to my staff and am pleased that you found the fourth floor to be the asset it really is.

Kind regards

Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

The wonderful staff at this beautiful hotel made a very special day even more special for my family.
Our host for the day Jade could not have been more helpful, nothing was too much trouble for her.
On the day we were allowed to arrange the room however we wanted to suit our family, the old chesterfield couches were beautiful. The tables were laid beautifully for our lovely afternoon tea. My mum the birthday girl had such a wonderful day surrounded by her family and in opulent surroundings. Thank you Dan and your wonderful team.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jules C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Jules

I am so pleased your mum had a lovely birthday, it was great to hear that my team were so attentive and I will be sure to feed this back.

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked this hotel as we were going to the Alhambra Theater to see War Horse (very good!). The hotel is very conveniently situated for the theaters and City Center and is full of character - not like those modern stale hotels! The staff were very friendly and very helpful and the food was excellent - we were able to have an early meal before the theater.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GarrodCooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Sir

I am indeed very pleased to read of your good stay here at The Great Victoria and I look forward to welcoming you on a future leisure break

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Stayed one night and was wondering what it would be like but I need not have worried at all! It has the no.1 location in the city as far as I can tell anyway.

We had a great stay and would happily stay there again. It was a foul day weather wise and when we arrived the reception were quick so that we could get straight to our room to dry off and when we got to our room it was exceptionally warm and inviting and we could hang our things up to dry off and coffee soon warmed us up. This is the sort of service we received the whole stay from friendly professional staff.

The room was generous in proportion and like the rest of the hotel had kept the best victorian features. The bed was very comfy and the pillows let your head melt into them - wonderful!

The bar was pleasant when we returned from the cinema and casino which are only yards away across the car park (well lit and we were absolutely fine). The displays on the walls of old photos of Bradford were entertaining to look at and provokes interesting discussions and we really enjoyed them.

However, the breakfast did not match the rest of our stay and the general concensus of opinion being muttered around the room seemed to agree! I have written separately to the hotel when they asked for feedback regarding this because it would not take much to make it perfectly nice. Hopefully one day I will return and see if it has improved both in quality of the food and service standards and professionalism and most of all in cleanliness at the point of service.By this I mean they used large spoons to dispense things like beans and scrambled eggs but these had been clearly used since the start of service and were so clogged up with globby half dried constantly topped up bean or egg mess that they were actually unusable as a utensil - ready for this - as were the saucers on which they had stood all the time which were both completely covered in said items and it was all congealed and drying up - simply unapetising thats all. When items ran out they were not being replaced - despite staff looking under the hot food lids and seeing that they had run out - there was still almost half the breakfast time remaining. There was little choice of food and no menus or item signs. We said we would walk over to the premier inn next time and have one of the best breakfasts to be had.

There are the film and photography museum and the alhambra theatre only 5 mins walk away and it is adjacent to the travel interchange which can be a big plus when travelling by train or bus with suitcases.

Room Tip: low floor request worked out well for us as the lift (one small lift probably due to nature of victo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Madame

I am sorry to read that breakfast has let our hotel down, I would like to assure you that since this comment I have addressed improvements at breakfast and have assured that serving implements are regularly replaced for guests.

I hope that you will return soon and let me change your opinion of the breakfast served her at The Great Victoria

Kind regards

Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Stayed one night as part of a coach trip. Must admit I was dubious about staying here after reading some of the reviews and on our approach to the hotel looking at the surrounding area I thought those doubts were going to be confirmed ! However, once onside the hotel with its wonderful original chandeliers and beautiful fireplace my doubts began to disappear. Check in was quick and efficient. Had a twin room on the first floor which was absolutely fine although quite warm dont think there was air con. Bed was very comfortable and room was very clean with a good hot powerful shower and TV what more do you need for the one night. Had dinner in the dining room which was such a great setting with the wood panelled walls and huge arch windows. The dinner itself was very nice three courses from a set menu, well cooked and presented. Breakfast a buffet of hot and cold was also really good. The staff were wonderful all really friendly. Would use again if I was in the area. Did not use the bar but the prices looked very reasonable for a hotel bar list.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaManager, General Manager at Great Victoria Hotel, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your great feedback.

I hope to welcome you again on your return visit to Bradford her at The Great Victoria

Kind regards
Dan Kirkham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.2 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
1.4 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Great Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Great Victoria Hotel

Property: Great Victoria Hotel
Address: 39 Bridge Street, Bradford BD1 1JX, England (Formerly Victoria Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Great Victoria Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Old-fashioned Hotel located opposite Bradford Interchange Station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotelopia, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Great Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Bradford
Great Victoria Bradford
Victoria Hotel Bradford
Great Victoria Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing