We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab food”

The Stansfield Arms
Ranked #18 of 717 Restaurants in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Stansfield Arms dates back to 1543 and is a beautiful beamed historical pub. There are lots of different areas with varying ceiling heights, nook and crannies and not a straight line! It is Family run, our crown and glory.We serve good homemade food all day, every day and have real ales as well as a good wine list.Set in the idyllic Apperley Bridge area, near the River Aire and open countryside it is popular with walkers, cyclists, dog owners all year round. Perfect in the summer on our very large south facing patio area and cosy in the winter by our open fires.We have a large car park.We are famous for our award winning early bird, £12.95 For two courses off the main menu and our Sunday lunches that starts from £9.95. Chris and Nick Green
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at The Stansfield Arms this evening. I had the belly pork and it was by far the best meal out I have had in months. My daughter had the beer battered fish and although it was nearly the size of her, she ate the lot! My son had his usual burger but enjoyed it also. The only downside was that my husband's steak was a little chewy (perhaps he should have sent it back). I would definitely recommend this for restaurant! Service was great and you cannot beat a cold pint of Peroni!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AmandaRob8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear AmandaRob8,

Thank you for your review. Good to hear you and your family enjoyed your visit with us. Thanks for the recommendation.
Best wishes,

Nick Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
There are newer reviews for The Stansfield Arms
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

618 - 622 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 20 April 2014

Chosen for its location at the end of a walk, the Stansfield Arms surprised us with the quality of the service, drinks and meals that we enjoyed. Staff were welcoming, friendly and attentive, and seemed to be enjoying their jobs. A pint of Landlord, and a bottle of house Merlot (Chilean) were spot on for taste, while the food courses were all excellent from the gravadlax and fishcake starters, to the perfectly cooked pork fillet (and mustard sauce) and sirloin steak mains. The desserts were also light and a perfect sequel (the treacle sponge and custard was exceptional). We are looking forward to our next visit!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Geoinvestigator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Geoinvestigator,

Thank you for your lovely review. Delighted you enjoyed your visit with us. Look forward to seeing you again soon.
Best wishes,

Nick Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Thanks once again to the staff at the Stansfield Arms. Had a lovely Mothers Day meal. Nice atmosphere, we were not rushed in spite of the restaurant being incredibly busy. Thanks for making her day special.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KAREN123Halifax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear KAREN123Halifax,

Thanks for your review. I am glad your Mother's Day went well.

Kind regards,
Chris Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I dined there yesterday evening having not visited in over 30 odd years. First went when we were courting and it's our Ruby wedding this year. Will certainly return but maybe not leave it another 30 years.
The service could have been slightly quicker, but the waitress, an extremely pleasant young lady, did say when she first came to the table that she was very busy. I had the halloumi cheese salad for starter but the amount of cheese was fairly disappointing. The pork and the lamb main courses were very good indeed. We declined the sweet course although most dishes sounded very tempting
You're always slightly apprehensive about returning somewhere after so long, but very enjoyable, good food, and will go again, probably closer to our anniversary. The waitress was like a breath of fresh air, unlike those in a lot of establishments nowadays.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Geoff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Dear Geoff G,

Welcome to Tripadvisor!
Many thanks for your kind words and review. Congratulations on your wedding anniversary and hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon some day.
Kindest regards
Nick Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We (a party of six adults + one child) visited this restaurant on Sunday evening 23/3/2014 and had the early bird menu which was very good, BUT when I was presented with the bill there were two extra meals and one extra kids meal on it. When I mentioned this they removed the amount (almost £30) without seeming to check anything which made me wonder if it was a deliberate over sell.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mike-Craven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2014

Dear Mike-Craven,

Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the early bird when you and your party visited last Sunday evening. However, we are certainly not in the business of ripping off our customers, I can assure you, had we been, we would not have stayed open for very long. We also do not have the policy of arguing with our customers when a genuine mistake can easily be rectified as it was in your case.

Yours sincerely,

Nick Green

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stansfield Arms also viewed

Menston, West Yorkshire
Apperley Bridge, Bradford
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Leeds, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Stansfield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing