We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice evening”

The Stansfield Arms
Ranked #11 of 675 Restaurants in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Stansfield Arms dates back to 1543 and is a beautiful beamed historical pub. There are lots of different areas with varying ceiling heights, nook and crannies and not a straight line! It is Family run, our crown and glory.We serve good homemade food all day, every day and have real ales as well as a good wine list.Set in the idyllic Apperley Bridge area, near the River Aire and open countryside it is popular with walkers, cyclists, dog owners all year round. Perfect in the summer on our very large south facing patio area and cosy in the winter by our open fires.We have a large car park.We are famous for our award winning early bird, £12.95 For two courses off the main menu and our Sunday lunches that starts from £9.95. Chris and Nick Green
Bradford
1 review
“Really nice evening”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014 via mobile

After visiting a restaurant nearby & leaving promptly after terrible service & attitude of stuff we arrived at the Stansfield. We were a party of 10 & all the staff could not do enough to accommodate us. We were so welcome & had a fabulous meal. The food was beautiful!
We had a great night & although our gang can be quite 'lively' when put the staff were great with us & had a laugh with us.
A lovely place to go if you want nice food with nice staff & a good atmosphere.
Thanks to all in particular nick!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gemlou22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Gemiou22,

Thank you for your review. Glad we could sort you and your party of 10 out.
Happy to hear you all enjoyed yourselves!

Nick Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    217
    93
    64
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gomersal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent service, fab food and superb staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We were a last minute booking for 10 people, this was not a problem for the staff who were so accommodating. Excellent staff couldn't be more helpful, superb service and lovely food. What more could you want?

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Caroline M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Carolinaisabella,

Thank you for your review. Great to hear we managed to fit you and your party in.
Hope to see you back soon.

Kindest regards,

Nick Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
49 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great place for dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We'd booked a table for 7pm and were surprised that we still got the Early Bird offer which is great value and well worth going for.
The waiter was fantastic, very friendly and helpful, one of the best i've come across. Timing between courses was just about spot on, not too fast or slow.
The food was very good with lots of choice, i could easily have picked half a dozen starters and main courses, which is not always the case

Would highly recommend and will be definately returning soon.

NB Its a popular place so would recommend booking ahead (we stopped by without booking a few months ago at about 6.30 - earliest available table was 9.30, so had to drink up and move on)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear John S,

Thank you for a great review.
We do indeed get busy at times at it can be better to book.

Thanks for your great feedback.

Nick Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eldwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Early bird menu is fantastic value..7days a week.
Fantastic choice
Fantastic service.. Lovely staff
Our party of 12 had a great evening a round table would have been better so we could all chat..but long table no worries.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Paulette B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Paulette B,

Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed the food and the staff. The round table is out at Christmas but we find that we don't have much call for it at other times as we can have a sofa corner instead. If you want it future, please just let me know and I'll do my best.

Kind regards,

Nick Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford West Yorkshire.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“really great”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

We had good food well cooked and plenty of, the service was great and the staff are friendly and nothing is to much for them, no wait for a table ,my family and myself eat here a lot would recommend try it its lovely and a good choice of food on menu.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Betty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CpgBradford, Owner at The Stansfield Arms, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Betty M,

Thank you for your great review and recommendation.
Kindest regards,

Nick Green
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Stansfield Arms also viewed

Menston, West Yorkshire
Apperley Bridge, Bradford
 

Been to The Stansfield Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing