We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“well placed central Hotel”
Review of Midland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Midland Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
west sussex
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“well placed central Hotel”
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Midland is an old style grand hotel from the railway era. The staff are particularly welcoming. Whilst registering I was offered a glass of wine, as a thank you for booking. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant was as shown on the Hotel web site and I found the food tasty and well prepared. Throughout my stay I found all the staff helpful and friendly.The Hotel is close to the city centre: being a two minute walk from Forster Square rail station. The hotel was undergoing refurbishment but I found it a nice touch that the style and architecture from its origins remained. Good value and good standards , the staff clearly want to ensure guests are happy during the stay

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank advisor15168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear advisor15168,
I would like to thank you for your very gracious review of the hotel and its facilities following your recent stay. I believe the review you have written is both informative, and it portrays everything that we strive to achieve for our guests. I am delighted that you found the service from the staff, food standards and overall facilities and services of the hotel to meet your expectations, and good value for money.

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel once again in the near future, but in the meantime thank you once again.

Warmest Regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    217
    66
    33
    16
See reviews for
116
227
36
206
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2013

on 9th. march 2013 i attended an evening function, an 80th. birthday party, at the Midland hotel. From the initial booking arrangements with the events manager Kate to the evening itself we found the staff to be of excellence. The food was excellent the function room was excellent the disc jockey was excellent ....now as you know it is my wont to tell the absolute truth in my reviews and i keep looking at all the "excellents" i have included in the above ....i make no apologies for the repetitive use of the word because this is how i found things. ......the hotel itself is well placed in the centre of Bradford, and is a beautiful building, the bedrooms are spacious and spotlessly clean and comfortable. Needless to say the evening was a huge success and I end this review by saying well done and thanks to all management and staff

Room Tip: i only used one room, I made enquiries of other overnight guests, of which there were plenty, and th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank star056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear star056,
I appreciate you having taken the time and trouble to write your review following the recent 80th Birthday celebration party. Thank you for your kind comments regarding the Staff, and in particular Kate, the Food and DJ on the night.

I am grateful for your overall appraisal of the hotel and I am pleased that the party was such a success.

I hope to see you at the hotel in the near future.

Thank you

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2013

The food was absolutely lovely and the service was fantastic. The staff made all of us feel special, especially my mum and my mother in law. A huge thanks to all at The Midland, in particular Clem, Liz and Matis who made the day one to remember.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pimasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Pimasmum,
Thank you very much for your kind feedback following your visit to the hotel on Mother’s Day. I am really proud of my staff and delighted to hear that they made your mother-in law feel so special. Thank you for naming individual members of staff, to whom I will offer my personal thanks.

Thank you and we look forward to welcoming you back before too long.

Regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Held my mum's 80th birthday party here last night. The staff were very professional and attentive, especially the events managers Kate and Gary, but also the bar staff and receptionists. The food was very good and the prices were competitive. There are several different sized rooms to choose from, each with its own bar area. Would highly recommend it for a party.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leslie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Leslie R
I was delighted when I read your review following your Mum’s 80TH Birthday Party; this is very kind of you indeed. Thank you for your very kind comments regarding the Staff and the food and your overall recommendation as a party venue.

I am pleased that you had an and enjoyable party and may I add my personal congratulations to your mum on her 80th Birthday.

We hope to see you again very soon

Thank you and kind regards

Gary Peacock

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salisbury, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2013

We stayed one night at the lovely Midland Hotel but all wished it could have been for longer - 4 adults and one toddler. All our rooms were excellent and the overall friendly welcome and standard of cleanliness everywhere were particularly noticeable. On arrival, when we were all tired after a long journey from Wiltshire, the bar-staff bent over backwards to make us all feel comfortable and cosseted, even to the extent of offering to warm some milk for my grandson. If we return to Bradford, this hotel will be our first choice and we will remember Peel Hotels when next travelling in the UK. We enjoyed one bar meal and a delicious and varied breakfast menu.

Room Tip: If staying in winter, make sure you know how to turn down the excessive heating - my daughter slept...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear Penny,
Thank you very much indeed for your review following your recent stay with us. I am really delighted with your comments and so pleased that the staff looked after you so well, particularly your Grandson. I appreciate your generous views on the bedrooms and food, both at breakfast and the bar meals.

I am sure you will receive as good a welcome and service at any of the other Peel Hotels.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel and Bradford hopefully before too long.

Thank you

Kind Regards

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing West Sussex
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013 via mobile

Coming from the South of England I was ignorant of the history of the mills around Bradford. A trip to nearby Saltaire and a walk around Bradford was enlightening and enjoyable.
Staying at the historic Midland hotel added to the pleasure. A lovely welcome from the reception staff and a free glass of wine sipped in the comfortable seats by the magnificent staircase (on which Henry Irving died) was a good start.
The room was spacious with a well equipped bathroom and a comfortable bed.
We didn't have dinner in the hotel but can recommend the breakfast.
To summarise, loved it!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MysteryTripMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2013
Dear MysteryTripMan,
I am writing in reply to your excellent review that you posted following your stay at the hotel. I am particularly pleased that you had an enjoyable trip to the Bradford District and saw some of what we have to offer, which also includes the history of this landmark hotel.

Thank you for your overall review of the hotel, staff and facilities, I am truly grateful that you chose the Midland Hotel initially and have subsequently taken the time to write your review. I feel that I must add what a pleasure it is for us all to have been of service to you.

I hope it’s not long before we can welcome you back to the Midland Hotel.

Thank you

Warm Regards

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

I attended my brothers wedding here, the wedding coordinator as brilliant! I haven't been to a wedding since that has been so organised and well run! Timings was brilliant! Food and atmospher great! Everyone went well out there way to ensure we had a great day!
Only down point is that the mens toilet by the princes ball room is smelly and makes the corridor smell of wee! Nice!
But overall 5 star!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alex186408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Alex,

I am very grateful to you for your review after attending your brother’s wedding at the hotel. Your feedback regarding Denise, who co-ordinated your brother’s wedding, is particularly pleasing and I will ensure she is thanked personally. I will also offer my thanks to the Head Chef and the Operations team who took care of the wedding food and service delivery.


Thank you most sincerely for having taken the time and trouble to write your review, and as you are obviously local to us here in Bradford it will be a pleasure to welcome you once again very soon.

With grateful thanks and best regards

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Victoria Hotel
Great Victoria Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
769 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,294 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#13 of 27 in Bradford
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
4.6 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland Hotel

Property: Midland Hotel
Address: Forster Square, Bradford BD1 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland Hotel is now Bradford’s Premier city centre hotel by reputation. Blending contemporary facilities with an era of opulence, the hotel offers some of the finest Victorian interiors in the County, ornate plaster work, high ceilings and glittering chandeliers. Classically designed new Four Poster Suites, Family,Premium, Executive bedrooms and all the modern day facilities that you would expect of a 4 star hotel, including Free Wireless broadband to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Midland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midland Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing