We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 stars for the hotel but 5*+ for the staff.”
Review of Midland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Midland Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2014

About the hotel: It’s a very nice hotel. Very grand in a great location with all the amenities you need for a day in Bradford. Parking is onsite which is great and the hotel is very well decorated. The only negative I would have is that the rooms don’t have any air conditioning. Not really too much of a problem as the staff were able to supply a fan to help keep us cool.

About the staff: On the two days we were there I came across some of the most professional, courteous and helpful staff I have ever dealt with in any hotel in the world. Having a 6 month old meant we had a long list of requirements all of which were met. The staff were helpful and did everything they could even at 3am!

Great Hotel/Great Staff. Would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dr_dangh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2014

Dear Dr_dangh

Many thanks for posting this review on Tripadvisor. I really do appreciate your time, but most of all I value your comments on your recent stay with us.

As I am sure you can imagine I am overjoyed with your 5* award for my hard working team. I am left absolutely speechless with your comments, they are so very generous. It will give me a lot of pleasure discussing your review with the extremely conscientious staff team.

It would also give me great pleasure to welcome you back to The Midland Hotel at some point in the future, and allow us take care of you once again.

Gary Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (743)
There are newer reviews for Midland Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

406 - 412 of 743 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2014

great experience, friendly staff, comfy beds. We complained about our room having to endure the noise from the building of Westfield outside and they promptly moved us to another room - no hassle, no groans.
Very nice feel to it, the restaurant wasn't particularly to my taste and was expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Victoria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Dear Victoria G

Many thanks for posting this review on Tripadvisor, I am most pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we took good care of you. We will always do our very best to make our guests stay an enjoyable one, so not a problem for us to to change your room.

Should we have the pleasure of your company again do have a look at our lounge menu, it has quite a good choice.

Gary Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Stayed here for one night in July on business. Really nice staff, friendly and attentive. Lovely grand Victorian hotel right in the centre of town. The only let down was lack of air con and it was very, very warm in the rooms.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Moldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear Moldog

May I start by thanking you for posting this review on Tripadvisor, I am most grateful.

I am thrilled we took such good care of you, and I shall look forward to sharing your comments with my team.

If we do have the pleasure of your company again and it's too warm please contact reception. They will do their very best to make you more comfortable.

Gary Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Stayed here on business,this Hotel part of the Peel Hotel Group is well located for the centre of Bradford and has ample free parking.The big stand out is the very efficient and friendly service provided by all the staff, cant do enough for you including a free glass of wine on arrival! I didnt dine in the evening but the restaurant and quality of choice at breakfast was very good so no complaints.The only downside are the rooms are a bit hit and miss and dated and could do with a bit of modernisation but apart from that its well recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LamcsMr-b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Dear LamcsMr-b

Many thanks for this most generous review. I see you are a seasoned traveller, and have posted many reviews on Tripadvisor. Many thanks for your time, and your very generous comments.

I am thrilled we took good care of you. It was a pleasure to welcome you with a glass of wine on arrival. It’s a perfect way to relax unwind, and enjoy your stay with us.

It goes without saying you are always welcome at The Midland Hotel Bradford, for business or pleasure.

Gary Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A beautiful Victorian hotel in the heart of Bradford. Beautiful chandeliered ballroom, elegant meeting rooms, comfortable bedrooms. I arrange my business meetings here. Next to Forster Square railway station. Only downside = almost no off-street parking.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Philip G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Philip G

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor. I absolutely agree with your comments on this beautiful Victorian building, and I will never tire of working here.

We do have a car park at the rear of the hotel which is complementary, and you are most welcome to use it.

Gary Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Having received a group email from the guesthouse we had booked several weeks earlier doubling the cost of our stay, (Cherrytree guesthouse in Idle, shamelessly profiteering on the TdF), we needed to find a room at short notice. No easy task when 2.5m people were due to watch the Grand Depart of the Tour de France in Yorkshire.

As it happens, the Midland was perfect. Available rooms, cheaply priced, fantastic location by Forcester Square station, well appointed clean rooms (with bath), excellent breakfast, nice Gin & Tonic in the bar, and above all staff who were friendly, polite, and professional. Secure free parking was a bonus. Highly recommended.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Anthony G
Thank you for this most generous review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry you were put in such a position with your accommodation prices being increased substantially, but I am pleased we managed to help.

Le Grand Depart was truly an amazing event for Yorkshire, and I am thrilled you were able to come and be part of it. I am equally pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and it is most kind of you to recommend our hotel so highly.

Should you return to Yorkshire at any time in the future, I do hope you would afford us the pleasure of your company.

Gary Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My wife and I went there on Saturday 5th July. We had drinks before and after dinner in the bar. We were served in the most polite and professional way by a young man called Rich, his service and the general standard of the hotel was 1st class. It added to our enjoyable evening. These standards are what can make Bradford great again. Thank you. Mr & Mrs Henson, Bulldog Beds, 33 Cheapside, Bradford, BD1 4HR.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear Brian H

How very Kind of you to post this amazing review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased you received “1st Class Service”

I am thrilled you enjoyed your dining experience here with us at The Midland Hotel, and it was an absolute pleasure to take good care of you both. I will very much look forward to sharing this review with my team.

I do hope we will have the pleasure of your company again, at some point in the future.

Gary Peacock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.2 mi away
Great Victoria Hotel
Great Victoria Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
779 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,344 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bradford
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
1.2 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland Hotel

Address: Forster Square, Bradford BD1 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range: £74 - £156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Midland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland Hotel is now Bradford’s Premier city centre hotel by reputation. Blending contemporary facilities with an era of opulence, the hotel offers some of the finest Victorian interiors in the County, ornate plaster work, high ceilings and glittering chandeliers. Classically designed new Four Poster Suites, Family,Premium, Executive bedrooms and all the modern day facilities that you would expect of a 4 star hotel, including Free Wireless broadband to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, LateRooms, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Midland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midland Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing