We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice cup of coffee” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Midland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice cup of coffee”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Was meeting a colleague for a quiet coffee. Central location. Parking and best of all nice lounge to enjoy a hot cup of coffee. Staff are friendly and wiling to help. External building very grand. Defo will return.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davesmithy444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear davesmithy444

Thank you for posting this review on Tripadvisor, I am most grateful.

May I also thank you for pointing out to other users, that they are always very welcome to meet friends and colleagues here at The Midland Hotel for coffee.

I am pleased you enjoyed your visit, and we will very much look forward to welcoming you back at some point in the future.

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

696 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    380
    207
    65
    28
    16
See reviews for
112
220
35
196
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Myself and a couple of friends went for a meal at the Midland Hotel on 4/8/14. we had never been before, and was so surprised at the inside of the building, It is absolutely beautiful. The atmosphere was so relaxing, it was amazing, We felt at home. The meal itself was gorgeous, I have a few dietry requirements and the waitress I think she was called Adele was more than helpful. she went to check the menu with the chef, which i appreciated gratefully. We all enjoyed our food and went home happy bunnies, would love to be able to stay and enjoy more of the atmosphere.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesleyherbertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Lesleyherbertson

May I start by welcoming you to Bradford and The Midland Hotel; I am pleased you enjoyed your first visit. Adele did mention to me that you had enjoyed your evening very much.

We will always help with any dietary needs wherever possible, and I believe Adele organised a nice selection for you to choose from.

I do hope we can welcome you and your friends back to the hotel at some point in the future.

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

I attended a dinner in June in The French Ballroom, supporting a national charity so obviously there was quite a number of people to be served. Of the 5 course dinner there was not one blip in the service or the quality of the food. The staff were exceptionally helpful, the table beautifully decorated and with the chandaliers there was a feeling of opulence.

Parking is available, and there is a lift is stairs are difficult (as ballroom on the first floor) The lifts have large wrap around mirrors and again were spotless

On a second occasion I ate in the dining room downstairs on a evening with my partner. Again food fantastic and the service was efficient,friendly without being intrusive

I would visit again and not shy away from a large event as the quality and service is so individual, praises and compliments to all the staff.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diboo2317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Diboo2317

Many thanks for posting this splendid review; I just can’t thank you enough. I am of course thrilled you enjoyed both dining experiences.

I will very much look forward to sharing your review with my team, who I will also thank for taking such good care of you.

On a more serious note, I do hope the charity benefited greatly from the evening.

It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to The Midland Hotel at any point in the future.

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

My colleague recommended I stay here when working in the area and how right he was. The lady on reception last night was lovely, the lady on the bar who got me my supper last could not have been nicer and staff and food at breakfast this morning were great.
My room was lovely with high ceiling and large with lots of room, bathroom floor needs a bit of regrouting and skirting needs a lick of paint and room got very hot but still give room 8/10.
Will definitely be back to this great hotel, big thank you to the staff
Roy

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank redwoodpc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Roy/redwoodpc

I would like to thank your colleague for recommending the Midland Hotel to you, and of course yourself for staying with us.

I am also very grateful you took the time to post such a generous review on Tripadvisor. Your comments regarding my team are very much appreciated. I will certainly pass both yours and my thanks onto them.

It would be my pleasure to welcome you back here at some point in the future.

Gary peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

Free parking for residents- fantastic bonus for the city centre location!

Reception staff were lovely and helpful at check-in. The hotel itself is classic, clean and has just about everything you could need.

I had a standard double room, which was comfortable. An iron and press were provided, along with a kettle (tea, coffee & hot chocolate), hair-dryer and a modern flat screen tv with a good choice of tv channels.

There was room service available with a good choice of food and drinks, although I didn't use this service.

Breakfast was delicious! I ordered a full English breakfast with bacon, sausage, mushrooms, tomato and a fried egg. There was also a range of pastries, toast, cereals and juices to choose from.

The staff were organised- there was a wedding and 2 groups using the hotel suites as well as the usual guests. I didn't feel impacted upon at all. The only thing I would say about staff is that at breakfast I felt a little lost at first. I wasn't sure if I was to choose my own table or not.

Overall, a lovely stay. I would definitely return.

Room Tip: I had room 241, it was fairly compact, but was quiet because it was at the back, central part of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Isabel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Isabel S

Many thanks for submitting this review to Tripadvisor. I am thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay.

It is very important that our guests are taken good care of, no matter how many events are going on at the time of their stay. We are all more than happy to go that extra mile to make your stay is an enjoyable one. How very kind of you to say you would definitely return for a second visit.

I shall look forward to welcoming you back to the Midland Hotel at some point in the future.

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
168 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

One of the great railway hotels so steeped in history you wouldnt know where to begin! I remember this hotel in the 1960's and then when it was a very much unloved empty building and now it has emerged as an absolute delight!
I'm not saying that everything here is perfect or that the staff get everything right but their attitude to service is great and the food is brilliant! The prices for the food in the bar compare very favourably with fast food equivalents but with proper ingredients well cooked and presented.

Breakfast this morning was so good that I cant really do it justice here. The only breakfast we have ever had to match it was at the Grand in Tynemouth. You really can tell the difference when proper chef's have prepared the food and here it was most noticable on the presentation of the fresh fruit platter - what a choice and so beautifully crafted and also in the poached egg I ordered on my full english instead of fried which was perfect!

Yes the original sash windows wouldnt stay open on a hot night so we used a coat hanger lengthways to hold them open - so what it is an old building full of character and quirkiness! I do suggest to the management that as with many hotels we have stayed in recently in this hot weather that a proper pedestal fan be in every room because we were too hot.

As for the original features well they are absolutely gorgeous as is the artwork and tapestries on the walls. Walking up the original ramp from the station as it was then and now the carpark to the reception was like stepping back in time completely and it was so beautifully presented too!

Final word is that I asked for a low floor or near lift because of walking difficulties and when we arrived we had been given a complimentary upgrade to a room quite near the lift and stairs. It did look out into the scruffy central courtyard but the bathroom was out of this world.

BIGGEST thing they got right that we noticed better than every hotel we have stayed in was the availability and number of plug sockets all strategically placed where you would need them - well thought out!

Just to mention too that the biscuits in the room (grandma wilds) were dairy free which is rare so I was able to have biscuits with my coffee which is a first!

Cant wait to stay again - it was great!

Room Tip: only one lift here because it is an old building so lower floors help with being able to choose stai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank juliejules2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear juliejules2

I don’t know where to begin with my response to this review! I had better start by thanking you so very much!

I find it incredibly interesting that you can remember the hotel in the 1960’s. I am very proud of this beautiful Victorian building, and as I have said on many occasions I feel very privileged to be working here.

May I also thank you for your generous comments about my team, nothing is too much trouble and we are all more than happy to go that extra mile. Guest satisfaction is of the utmost importance.

Your comments on the breakfast are very much appreciated, I will pass this review on to my Chef, who I know will be just as pleased as I am.

We have great plans for the internal light well area, once our investment programmes for the main public areas externals are completed. Perhaps in a few short years you will see a lot more changes in and around the hotel.

It would be a pleasure for me to welcome you back to The Midland Hotel at some point in the future. Until such time I feel I must thank you one last time for taking the time to post this wonderful review on Tripadvisor


Gary Peacock
Midland Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

About the hotel: It’s a very nice hotel. Very grand in a great location with all the amenities you need for a day in Bradford. Parking is onsite which is great and the hotel is very well decorated. The only negative I would have is that the rooms don’t have any air conditioning. Not really too much of a problem as the staff were able to supply a fan to help keep us cool.

About the staff: On the two days we were there I came across some of the most professional, courteous and helpful staff I have ever dealt with in any hotel in the world. Having a 6 month old meant we had a long list of requirements all of which were met. The staff were helpful and did everything they could even at 3am!

Great Hotel/Great Staff. Would stay again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr_dangh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GaryPeacock, General Manager at Midland Hotel, responded to this review, 31 July 2014
Dear Dr_dangh

Many thanks for posting this review on Tripadvisor. I really do appreciate your time, but most of all I value your comments on your recent stay with us.

As I am sure you can imagine I am overjoyed with your 5* award for my hard working team. I am left absolutely speechless with your comments, they are so very generous. It will give me a lot of pleasure discussing your review with the extremely conscientious staff team.

It would also give me great pleasure to welcome you back to The Midland Hotel at some point in the future, and allow us take care of you once again.

Gary Peacock
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
0.2 mi away
Great Victoria Hotel
Great Victoria Hotel
#15 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 733 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#13 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midland Hotel

Property: Midland Hotel
Address: Forster Square, Bradford BD1 4HU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Midland Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Midland Hotel is now Bradford’s Premier city centre hotel by reputation. Blending contemporary facilities with an era of opulence, the hotel offers some of the finest Victorian interiors in the County, ornate plaster work, high ceilings and glittering chandeliers. Classically designed new Four Poster Suites, Family,Premium, Executive bedrooms and all the modern day facilities that you would expect of a 4 star hotel, including Free Wireless broadband to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your Midland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midland Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing