We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not happy at all” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Walsall, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not happy at all”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel 19th April 2014 this was an organised coach trip to York with family and work friends. On arrival the reception were not very welcoming to our coach party they just asked us to confirm our names and gave us the keys to our room informing food would be served downstairs at 7.30pm. To my knowledge there was no lift to upstairs I was with my mother who suffers with arthritis and my daughter 3 months pregnant I had to carry 3 large bags up a flight of stairs no offer from reception to assist with doors or luggage. The room was very clean and comfortable and I had no complaints on the standard or room. Dinner was served at 7.30 and was very pleasant after we had finished our meal the table was cleared very quickly and the coach party we were with quickly started to leave the room as the waitresses were removing tableclothes and made us feel
we had to leave. We all gathered in reception to try and socialise together there were not enough seats we asked if they could find us more seating the gentleman behind the desk told us to go
downstairs and collect them we advised that they should be at least sorting the chairs for us. The environment was very noisy and alot of people in and out of building constantly. I went to the room
I was sharing with my daughter to try and relax unfortunately the music was blaring into our room
above the party. Me and my daughter turned the volume up on tv but all the noise from party was
far too loud. We had people laughing arguing and shouting outside underneath window whilst
having a cigarette and children running riot in corridors outside our room. I tolerated this noise
until 12.40am and rang reception to question how long I could expect this noise to stop they
advised me 1am. I requested to know why a guest not attending the party had been placed in the
room directly above the gentleman confirmed this was due to the hotel being full. I know that
guests of the party were placed further down the corridor where it would have been much quiter. I
finally got to sleep about 1.30 am and had to be at breakfast for 8.00am the next morning. My
daughter and I were extemely tired the next day and this actually blighted our day. I feel the hotel
need to improve drastically on customer service and every guest treated with respect and
consideration. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone whilst a party is being held as the
hotel do not seem to care about the other guests on their stay.

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 18 or 19 when hotel hosting a party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carla m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    82
    90
    54
    15
    14
See reviews for
47
81
7
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

loved it here nice clean rooms. good little pub up the road also. reception staff were perfect. xmas carols in march was a little strange. give it a try if in the area. even have cobra on draft. good price on the rooms.

Helpful?
Thank Leem1969
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Dundee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Wife and i stayed over 2 nights, Friday 21st and Saturday 22nd February. Arrived late, had dinner in restaurant, then breakfast next day...all very nice...then came Saturday night. Tried to book dinner in restaurant for 8.30. Was told i couldn't as whole restaurant was booked for a wedding! Was then advised i could probably eat there if i was out by 8! How about eating in the bar? Nope. That's booked too. Where CAN i eat? In your room. What about drinks in the bar? Ok, you can buy them, but you have to take them back to your room. So the residents can't eat OR drink in the resident's bar or restaurant? They're not MY rules sir...Sod that - we're off out for a meal ( see review of Royal - excellent!)
Came back late to a horde of drunken Bradford gadgies shouting, screaming and running about whilst their feral children ran about mad, unsupervised and out of their minds on e numbers and fizzy drinks. Was politely advised to try to avoid standing in the vomit on reception floor...so took cover in bedroom...just in time to hear a domestic kick off in room next door! Phoned reception to intervene...no answer. Receptionist probably taking cover too!!! Have stayed in number of Best Westerns over the years and have all been great...Would advise Mr Best Western to nuke this one and start over...

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GuidePostAdmin, Manager at BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2014
Dear Customer

In response to your review regarding dinner on Saturday night I quote below a paragraph from the confirmation sent to you by email.

Restaurant
Due to the hotel being a popular wedding/function venue, on certain dates throughout the year the Restaurant may not be open during your stay. It would be advisable to contact us closer to your arrival to check availability of the Restaurant, however alternative dining arrangements/times may be available.

I have spoken to the staff on duty and they have told me that you could eat in the reception area or have room service free of charge. This is standard when our Restaurant and bar area is booked out for a function.

Unfortunately, a guest had vomited on the reception floor and as stated you were politely made aware of this, on occasions vomit and (domestic kick offs) are unavoidable, These are very rare occasions.

I am sorry that your second nights stay was not as enjoyable as anticipated but glad you enjoyed dinner on the Friday evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one night in January 2014 for business. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was on the small side but perfectly functional for a business stay. My group ate in the restaurant for dinner & breakfast and both meals were good quality, although the dinner menu was a bit pricey. Would happily stay here again if I find myself in the Bradford area again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank WildlifeMadTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel after a last minute decision to visit relatives who live within 2 miles of the hotel. As we travelled with a 1year old we decided it would be easier to stay over in Bradford rather than drive back the same evening. The decision to stay at the Guidepost Hotel was made easier by the discounted price available by booking last minute (in our case, the night before). We were a bit disappointed that they wanted to charge £10 for a cot putting in our room so we decided to cram our travel cot into the car instead. We were greeted by a very helpful and friendly receptionist who checked us in. A very tidy and homely feel to the hotel. Although my wife complained to me that it was way too hot in the corridors and also in the room too. Overall though, a very pleasant stay and would def stop again if an impromptu visit to the parents happens.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank XBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Leeds/Bradford
1.0 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#12 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 490 reviews
2.8 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
2.5 mi away
The Bradford Hotel
The Bradford Hotel
#13 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
7.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel

Property: BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel
Address: Common Road | Low Moor, Bradford BD12 0ST, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 42
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN Bradford Guide Post Hotel Yorkshire
Bradford Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing