We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical pub lunch”

The Hare and Hounds
Ranked #312 of 698 Restaurants in Bradford
Price range: US$5 - US$16
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
219 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“A typical pub lunch”
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Visited this pub numerous times - very good Sunday lunch - reasonable price - plently of parking space - very good service - good atmosphere - would revisit again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank John42Manchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    26
    19
    23
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
235 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Nice pub”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

I went here for the first time with 2 friends for some food and drinks. The website has loads of information with food and drinks menus to plan your budget. The pub has a lovely decor and good atmosphere; there are at least two wood burning fires however, we sat directly next to one and I was still cold. The toilets need some attention - a lot of the door locks would not lock and the water in the sinks sprays all over you (this is when your hands are nowhere near the tap!). The food menu has a fair selection and is reasonably priced, also I think they do a lot of offers including different themed food nights (e.g. Thursday is curry night) and 2 for £10. We all ate different dishes and enjoyed them however, my portion was on the small side. Service was efficient but lacked any warmth or personal touch. You can pay on card here - even for drinks (so maybe no minimum spend?) - which for me is always a bonus. I'd visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charlimcbean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Third time unlucky”
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Today I walked out of the Hare and Hounds saying I would never go back - for the third time. Twice before we have had disasters - one of them a Christmas Day meal, but decided to give them a try again. Today there was one person at a busy bar taking food orders and drink orders, so I waited too long to order lunch. We then waited far too long for the food to arrive. Two of us had stuffed chicken and the vegetables were nearly cold. They were sent back and returned still not hot enough. Then I found pink in my chicken. Apologies were profuse and we got a refund for the two chicken dishes, but this time I will definitely never go back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
250 reviews
154 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Group Christmas meal a success - good food, good service”
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I organised a group Christmas meal here for our Art Society following a visit to Cartwright Hall gallery. The contacts I had through the booking process were always helpful and efficient. From the point at which our group of 19 arrived, the whole experience was a positive one. We were seated in the pleasant conservatory area. The food was served quite promptly, with all the dishes exactly according to our individual choices. All of us enjoyed the meal, and I received nothing but favourable comments. The menu was good value at £9.95 for 2 courses and £12.45 for 3. Car parking was also very easy.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BRADFORD,UK
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“xmas dinner!”
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Me and my family booked here for our xmas day dinner,the place was very cold,i did ask staff to turn the heating on twice! to no avail,the food was average,plenty of it but for £40 ahead we were very underwhelmed,the starter was the best dish a prawn cocktail,the main of turkey was dry and the oversized veg and roasts made the plate look a mess,one of us had a steak at £2 extra and it was full of grissle and well overdone,the dessert was a real let down the choc log was cheap looking and came with cream that was off and on a hot plate??no atmosphere at all most likely because we were all freezing! wont be returning....

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TINAGBradford_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hare and Hounds also viewed

 
Apperley Bridge, Bradford
 

Been to The Hare and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing