We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely afternoon tea”
Review of Dubrovnik Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Dubrovnik Hotel
Ranked #8 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
leeds UK
Level 6 Contributor
289 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Lovely afternoon tea”
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

Super afternoon tea, with fizz, proper china cups and nice white tablecloths. Tables far enough apart, smiling happy staff in a nice environment. What more could anyone ask for. A real family run hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank leedsUKLesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Leeds Uk Lesley


Many thanks for taking the time to respond. We hope to see you here again soon.


Best Wishes


Simon and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    117
    52
    23
    16
See reviews for
67
130
23
89
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stonehouse
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

We booked for a much needed weekend break, however the week before arrival Simon phoned us to advise us they had a large wedding party on the Saturday and if we preferred we could change our booking to another weekend as it was likely to be noisy until the early hours of Sunday, we really appreciated that we had been told, however we decided to carry on. I am so glad we did, all the staff without exception were friendly, informative and helpful from the minute we arrived until when we left. We did however have a meal out on the Saturday night as the hotel was very busy, again Simon gave us some recommendations and we chose a local thai restaurant, Simon booked us a table and a taxi and we had a lovely meal
The food at the hotel was lovely, the rooms were very comfortable, we couldn't find fault with anything, and we will definitely be going there again
Nigel and Anne Wright Stonehouse Glos

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trees007, Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Stone house



Many thanks for taking your time to respond. We hope to see you again. Please book directly with us next time you wish to call by. We will beat any deal!!

It was loving talking to you


Best wishes


Simon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

although we went on the wrong day Tues to fit in with our holiday in the area the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly, our afternoon tea was great
scones as good as any we've had
Thanks Simon for a lovely time!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bigmarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Bigmarl


It was a pleasure speaking with you , and dont leave it too long before we meet again!!!

I hope the Hotel in Scarborough contacted you.

Speak soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Negative TripAdvisor reviews often reflect as much about the reviewer as the venue being reviewed. I'm a long standing member of TripAdvisor and I never post a negative review without some serious consideration. I acknowledge now that there were some warning signs at check-in at the Dubrovnik Hotel that, in retrospect, should have told us to just turn around and leave.

As we arrived on a Saturday evening, it was clear that a big wedding celebration was underway. Having recently been married ourselves, and having personally been responsible for keeping the party going very noisily until the small hours, I do not begrudge the right of a newly married couple to party on their wedding day.

However, the attitude of the Dubrovnik Hotel staff towards us, as one of the few guests not part of the wedding party was simply dismissive. Initial impressions were bad, as reception was unstaffed and all visible staff were busy serving desert to the banqueting suite. When a friendly receptionist did appear (apparently reception was going to be unstaffed from 5:30PM on a Saturday) she checked us in and simply said "these [insert nationality here] weddings do tend to get a bit rowdy... so it's probably best just to join in."

Our room (#25, a Standard Double) was fine - clean and tidy but nothing more than you'd find in a modern Premier Inn. There were some faults; one electric plug didn't work and the kettle had no thermostatic control, so didn't stop boiling. The complimentary wifi was visible on a variety of devices, but didn't work on any of them.

The big problem was the arrangement of the hotel. The large and well appointed banqueting hall is located in the middle of the building, between the original house and a newer extension. We were assigned a room directly above the banqueting hall. We could hear the speeches being delivered from the bathroom, and we were kept wide awake until after 1AM listening to the disco.

Given that a wedding is a time for celebration, it would be unfair for me to trash a hotel on TripAdvisor without trying to resolve the problem during the stay. I would have tried to find another room by contacting the hotel staff, only I couldn't find any. The reception desk was unmanned during the evening, and no-one picked up the phone. Even on check-out at 9:30 on a Sunday morning, reception was unmanned. Eventually a cleaner found someone to take our room key, and she made no effort to enquire if everything had been ok. We had no opportunity to resolve this during our stay.

For the price we paid (£50, non-refundable) we could have booked a Premier Inn and benefited from that chain's "good night guarantee." We chose the Dubrovnik Hotel because we wanted to enjoy the benefits of a hotel, namely the bar and restaurant. With no advance warning, both were unavailable to us as they were occupied with wedding guests.

In the morning, it was apparent that we were some of the only people in the hotel not part of the wedding party - dozens of guests had stayed overnight. Given the vast expense of a wedding package such as that offered at the Dubrovnik Hotel and the large number of guests staying there (and not likely to mind the late night partying), the management shouldn't be accepting bookings from unrelated guests such as ourselves, and certainly shouldn't be offering us rooms directly above the dance floor. We had no forewarning that our stay might be disturbed nor that the restaurant and bar would be unavailable.

Given the fine reviews preceding this one, I'm sure the Dubrovnik is a great place to stay - but I'd advise weekend guests to check for functions and to insist on a room further away from the banqueting suite.

Room Tip: On the first floor, rooms 22 - 30 and 37-40 are above the banqueting hall. The corridor serving them...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Mr James B

We here at the Dubrovnik Hotel, do strive to meet everyones expectations. Unfortunately we were unable to contact you as the agent you used does not allow us to. We had other non residents, from Groupon and Private bookings , and as soon as we knew the wedding was going ahead , we contacted them, and gave them all an option , to move dates , or for us to find an alternative suitable Hotel. All of which thanked us for informing them of the potential noise. In your circumstance, we were unable to do this,

The Bar is situated next to the reception, our staff are able to see guests walk in and out to reception.

The Kettle has now been replaced and we do thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Being an independent Hotel we thrive on giving the best possible customer service and are fortunate enough to have a lot of repeat customers. I do hope you give us another chance.

Please contact us directly, should you wish to stay at the Hotel again


Yours Sincerely


SImon Grybas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

The staff were incredibly friendly although for many of them, English was not their first language so it took several attempts in trying to communicate with them. The room seemed very nice and clean. We enjoyed a really nice Full English breakfast before checking out in the morning.

Not sure if this is normal, but we were awoken in the middle of the night by gun shots and fireworks. The area surrounding the hotel didn't seem that "rough," but for that reason alone, I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, 24 September 2013
Dear Katire W


Many thanks for taking the time to respond. The Firewroks and what sounded like gun shots was from the Fayre, that now has moved on. It is a safe Area and we have been here for 35 years. Touch wood we will be here another 35 years.
Please do come back if you are in the area.
Our First Language is English , however , it is the norm in Hotels to employ a variety of people. From all types of back ground.

We do take your comments on board
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Staff at Hotel Dubrovnik provided a personal touch unrivalled by hotel chains. On arrival, staff extremely accommodating with important calls that had to be made. Thanks to their local knowledge,and map-drawing skills, we were able to make the most of our short stay. My family was made to feel very welcome.
Patricia, Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patricia217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Patricia217


Many thanks for taking the time to respond. we do appreciate your feed back.


Best Wishes


SImon and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

We had a very enjoyable stay, lovely hotel, large deluxe room, nicely decorated and furnished. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Breakfast is cooked to order and would like to commend the chef on perfect poached eggs. Would definately recommend this hotel,

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen0784
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
trees007, Guest Relations Manager at Dubrovnik Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Karen 0784

Many thanks for taking the time to respond. We do hope you return and enjoy more of our poached eggs


Best Wishes

Simon and all the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
1.8 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
865 reviews
3.8 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
2.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Great Victoria Hotel
Great Victoria Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bradford
773 reviews
1.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
1,315 reviews
4.0 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#15 of 27 in Bradford
526 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dubrovnik Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dubrovnik Hotel

Property: Dubrovnik Hotel
Address: 3 Oak Avenue, Bradford BD8 7AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Dubrovnik Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a Family run hotel and have been established for 35 years. We make sure that all our guests feel at home when staying with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and LateRooms so you can book your Dubrovnik Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dubrovnik Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing