We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Spacious rooms and great staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Highfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Highfield
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Spacious rooms and great staff.”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A great welcome awaits you when you choose to stay at this hotel. All the staff from the reception to the maintenance staff are friendly and cheerful. This is a family run hotel and although the reception is not 24/7 it is very easy to contact a member of staff. The room we stayed in was huge and clean. The bathroom had a bath with a shower over. As we were booking in the staff we helpful at recommending a good restaurant close by. Although we didn't use the leisure facilities we went to have a look and the pool looked very inviting. There were people using these facilities and the equipment looked new and well maintained. In all I would say that this is now on my list of places to stay should we ever go to Bradford or the surrounding areas again. Nicest touch was a lovely email from reception on our departure wishing us a good trip home. Its those kind of things that make the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullMeercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review – we’re really pleased you were happy during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Hopefully you’ll have time to enjoy the leisure facilities on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    39
    25
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
32
3
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed at the Highfield whilst working through the night in Bradford. The rooms are enormous clean and comfortable. As I was sleeping through the day I was given a room to the rear of the hotel which was quiet and I was undisturbed. There was breakfast available to me when I woke which was a bonus. The staff were excellent and always welcoming. Adjoining to the hotel is a leisure centre which was free to use for guest and suitably equipped for most needs. For a similar if not cheaper stay to say a premier inn its a no brainer for me. Will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vids123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We’re really glad to hear that. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

What a fantastic place ,Family Freindly , Large Clean Comfy well decorated rooms well heated, never ran out of hot water,the hotel was very busy during our 2 Month Stay A big thank you to Paul, dierdre,Mell,Annie and all the staff for looking after us,already missing the place (and the sauna pool steam room and gym , Keep up the good work,and as for The steak and ale pies mmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in this review. We’re so pleased you were happy with all the facilities and we look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

I recently visited the Highfield which is very close to my home , I was the only person in at first on a cold snowy lunchtime and the lovely barmaid just made me feel so welcome . She was very chatty and funny and attentive . I ordered a simple meal of Nachos and it was brilliant !!!
Really cheered me up as I had recently had a relationship break up!!
Never got the girls name but her customer service was outstanding and a breath of fresh air !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We like to think all our staff welcome customers and make them feel as much at home as possible, we’re really glad we were able to cheer you up (especially on a cold winter’s day!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I was a little scepital turning up at this hotel having read the reviews below but I think they were overly harsh.

The rooms are lovely, very big and comfortable with ensuite. Would suit people traveling as three singles or couple & child.

The hotel was quiet and peaceful.

Very good value too.

The breakfast is a buffet style with loads of cereals, porridge,fresh fruit, yogurts, cheese, toast, crumpets, jams, all kind of fruit teas, etc. The breakfast is open long hours too which is very good if you needed flexibility like us.

The reception is not always manned but the staff were welcoming & friendly. We also got some recommendations for local restaurant which was tremendous.

The leisure facilities were an added extra and not always available on hotels of this price range. Pool, sauna etc.

The spacious car park was handy and located next to reception but off the main road. Again important to us.

Yes, be warned that this is not an ultra modern chain souless hotel but it's a comfortable reasonable family run hotel.

I'd come back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hd2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We’re really pleased you came to stay and that you were happy with all our facilities. We try hard to give a good, friendly Bradford welcome to all our guests, and we will always try to accommodate everyone’s individual requirements. Thank you for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 November 2012

One of the worst hotels I have stayed in. The heating had been switched off during the night and my 4month old baby almost froze to death in her cot bed. Luckily I woke up in time due to a cold nose to find my baby as cold as a stone.

I complained to management they informed me the timer for the summer had not been changed on the heating. When we had arrived at the hotel the staff had forgotten to heat up the room so it was like a fridge when you walked in. The bathroom radiator wasn't working so had a shower in the cold too.

Following day the room had not been made up so had to complain again, breakfast was not continental it was exactly as described by other reviews written on here.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We do remember your visit, although our recollections are different from yours (we know you were stressed at the time about your other child being ill).
We were sorry that the room was not warm on your arrival – this was an oversight on our part for which we apologised at the time. We took steps to correct it as soon as you reported it to us, including providing a fan heater for the duration of your stay (we did also offer you another room but I appreciate that you had got settled in your original room and so were reluctant to move). We’ve made sure this won’t happen again, so we appreciated your feedback on this point.
With regard to your room being made up in the morning, you unfortunately missed the cut off time for housekeeping but again as soon as you reported this we arranged for clean towels and a room refresh. When the manager spoke to your husband at breakfast time he assured us everything was now fine, so we were disappointed to receive this review.
Finally, please note that our breakfast is described as a “light breakfast”. Most guests are pleased with the selection available (and the fact it is available all day).
We would always welcome (and where possible take on board) any constructive criticism.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford hotels

Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

Never stayed in the hotel, dont think i would ever want to. i was at the gym which i paid good money for but never got the value for money the pool as been closed all week and it was the pool that prompted us to join the gym (how foolish we are and to think we cancelled our other gym which was £6 cheaper. not only is the hotel deserted so is the gym. it was closed down in the past and i think it will end up getting closed again and staying shut. the young girl on reception in the gym is the only good thing about this place.( sorry i had to put this in the hotel review because it dosent give me an option to review about the gym)

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nanells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 13 October 2012
Dear Nanells,
We were really disappointed to read the comments in your review.
We closed the pool for some routine maintenance (a small teething problem we wanted to get fixed) and it was only in fact closed for three days.
We were disappointed ourselves to have to close the pool at all but we want to make sure everything is right for our customers. As you know, the other facilities remained open throughout.
We're glad the gym hasn't been too busy for you - we have kept our memberships fairly small at first as we want people to have a pleasant time and be able to use all the facilities without having to wait or queue. And ten people squashed into the sauna wouldn't be a great experience!
I'm not sure what you mean about the hotel being deserted - we're glad it seemed quiet, but as the hotel and gym are separate we're not sure why you got this impression (and why it would be a problem to you)?
We hope you will reconsider and stay on at the Highfield Escape - as I say the pool is back open again now and we have no plans to close it again (although I hope you will understand that we may occasionally need to for maintenance - but it's in all our interests to keep closures to a minimum).
If you ever have a problem with your membership - please do speak to us - we want to keep our customers happy, and perhaps we could have worked something out if you had spoken to us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
810 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Leeds/Bradford
2.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
1.6 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
414 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highfield

Property: The Highfield
Address: 47 Highfield Road | Idle, Bradford BD10 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highfield 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel offers a large family friendly bar with lounge area and is open from 12pm serving a good selection of bar snacks and meals Monday from 12pm through to Sunday 6pm. Staff can assist you with extra services such as printing airline tickets and are able to offer information on their private functions, wedding services and meeting/banqueting facilities for up to 120 guests. Leisure club on site, free use of the swimming pool, gymnasium, spa, sauna and steam room offered to all hotel guests. Sun bed available at a charge. Additional amenities include a pool table, games machines and complimentary Wifi access. A light breakfast is included every morning of your stay. RV and truck parking available. The property may provide extended parking privileges to guests after check-out. This is a smoke-free property offering non-smoking rooms, rooms and facilities for disabled guests, heating and luggage storage The legendary Johan Cruyff stayed at the hotel (the ‘Baron of Beef’ as it was then), as it was close to Dennyfield, Thackley’s ground, where his Barcelona team trained before the match with Leeds in the European Cup Semi Final (if you have any more information about the history of the site, or any old photos you’d like to share with us, we would love to hear from you).The 30 ‘American Sized’ guest bedrooms at The Highfield all include 19-22 inch LCD televisions with 40+ channels including music/radio channels via freeview & a DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers in every room. Bathrooms are all private en-suite and comprise of a bath/shower, shaving socket and complimentary toiletries. No charge for cot hire. Iron and ironing boards available upon request. Complimentary Wifi access is also available. We can also provide drinks in your room, by prior arrangement. All rooms at The Highfield are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Highfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highfield Hotel Bradford
Sporting Hotel Bradford
The Highfield Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing