We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“happy family at the Highfield”
Review of The Highfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Highfield
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“happy family at the Highfield”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My partner and I staid with my 7 year old for one night. I was sceptical of booking at first after reading some reviews and was surprised by the cheep rates considering the facility's listed. We arrived to a very warm welcome, the staff could not have been more helpful, I am a smoker and wanted a room close to the front door, the staff offered to sort this to the extent of offering us the four poster room near reception. the room we took (not the four poster) was a big size, clean and well presented. The house keepers brought a full size bed for my son and where very friendly.

The bar next door is a standard pub but with free wi-fi and comfortable sofas. my son knocked his coke over with in 2 min and we where made to feel its not an issue and made a joke of it settling a worried looking boy. Although we did not eat the menu looked like good value for pub fair.

The leisure facility's were very nice the boy had lost of fun in the pool and used up plenty of energy, the steam room was one of the best i have ever been in (hot, hot, hot) and the sauna and hot tub where of a high standard. Very impressive considering the cost of the hotel.

breakfast was as described, cereals, toast, crumpets, muffins, fruit, tea coffee and fruit juice. After years of enduring awful hotel cooked breakfasts this is the kind of thing i have any way, my partner was happy with fruit and the boy ecstatic about the provision of coco pops. The fact this was available until late was also a plus.

over all a very nice stay. i would like to say to some of the people who put hotels like this down, i have staid in hotels for 100 days a year on average for the last few years. i have paid £150 a night for hotels with smaller rooms, dirtier leisure facility's, awful breakfasts, and" i am better than you" service. I say for around £50 a night any breakfast is good and the use of the facility is exceptional value.

Dont expect the versace but to expect a nice time and good nights sleep.

Thanks to all at the Highfield

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was such a pleasure to have you and your family stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time your in the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    40
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
34
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
york
Level Contributor
130 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Our room was clean spacious,bed so wonderfully comfortable,staff on arrival friendly and polite. So why put "breakfast" in a small dark reception area where everyone was fighting to get to the kettle.This is "self service" at the extreme. It would not take too much thought to improve this ,especially checking on the freshness of the food put out the night before.We did mention about the mouldy bread at breakfast but got no apology. On our second morning we had breakfast at Morrisons just down the road.!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denoYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your comments. We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay and its great to hear your compliments on the room and the staff, we do take pride in our hotel and with us being a family run business it is great to hear your great comments.
We’re sorry you didn’t enjoy the breakfast area; we have made some improvements to this and hope on your next visit you will see the changes.

We did speak to the member of staff on breakfast duties on the morning of your stay and she is very sorry if she didn’t apologise to you, this was due to the fact another lady had mentioned it seconds prior and she was about to check over everything and remove the bread, again we can only hope you will accept our apologies for this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vilnius, Lithuania
Level Contributor
81 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I would not have found this without a booking site as it's tucked away, but very convenient for Leeds Bradford airport and a good change from the usual chain hotel offering. It's not easy to find as it is set well back from the road behind a big pub, but there is plenty of car parking space and the road is quiet. I had a single room which was reasonably sized, fairly comfortable and clean. I used the adjoining leisure centre for a swim, which was a pleasant surprise, and decided to stay a second night. The hotel is not staffed - check-in is at the adjoining pub - and there is no door security; I was in a ground floor room and I think many solo guests would have been worried by this. Minimal breakfast was laid out for self-service in the entrance lobby; this was a bit off-putting, but there was a good selection of cereals and you could even make a fresh cafetiere of coffee, which was a plus. Didn't use the adjoining pub for meals - prices seemed good but not the best place for a woman dining alone, and on Saturday night it was very lively. Can't comment on service - I spent less than five minutes checking in and after that didn't see anyone - but this isn't a criticism, just a reflection of it's minimal staffing.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smferguson678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerIdle, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Thank you for your review

We feel being set back from the main road is a real plus point but if guests wish to drink or dine in a livelier area, we have that too

On some occasions we have asked guests to check-in at the public bar but this is not normally the case, we do hope this was still a satisfactory check-in

We do take on board your comments about door security, guests may come and go as they please and we are looking into a door entry system which hopefully will be in place in the near future, just for your piece of mind however, we do have 24 hour CCTV security and out of hours / emergency contact numbers on each room slip, for any requests, however big or small

We hope you enjoyed the light breakfast advertised, the majority of guests are happy with the breakfast provided and although it is a light breakfast, guests may have as much as they wish from approximately 6am until 11:30am. We are also considering the offer of a cooked breakfast

We are sorry you didn't feel you could dine in the public bar but we are very pleased to say that we opened our BBQ Smokehouse & Steak restaurant in October 2013 so if you do come back and stay with us, we would highly recommend you pay a visit here

Sometimes we do require our hotel team to pop down to the public bar to help out where needed and we don't have a 24 hour reception but we have taken you comments on board

Thank you once again, we do hope you will consider staying with us in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A great welcome awaits you when you choose to stay at this hotel. All the staff from the reception to the maintenance staff are friendly and cheerful. This is a family run hotel and although the reception is not 24/7 it is very easy to contact a member of staff. The room we stayed in was huge and clean. The bathroom had a bath with a shower over. As we were booking in the staff we helpful at recommending a good restaurant close by. Although we didn't use the leisure facilities we went to have a look and the pool looked very inviting. There were people using these facilities and the equipment looked new and well maintained. In all I would say that this is now on my list of places to stay should we ever go to Bradford or the surrounding areas again. Nicest touch was a lovely email from reception on our departure wishing us a good trip home. Its those kind of things that make the difference.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SolihullMeercat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your kind review – we’re really pleased you were happy during your stay and we look forward to welcoming you again soon. Hopefully you’ll have time to enjoy the leisure facilities on your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2013

I stayed at the Highfield whilst working through the night in Bradford. The rooms are enormous clean and comfortable. As I was sleeping through the day I was given a room to the rear of the hotel which was quiet and I was undisturbed. There was breakfast available to me when I woke which was a bonus. The staff were excellent and always welcoming. Adjoining to the hotel is a leisure centre which was free to use for guest and suitably equipped for most needs. For a similar if not cheaper stay to say a premier inn its a no brainer for me. Will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vids123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
We’re really glad to hear that. Thank you for taking the time to write this review, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

What a fantastic place ,Family Freindly , Large Clean Comfy well decorated rooms well heated, never ran out of hot water,the hotel was very busy during our 2 Month Stay A big thank you to Paul, dierdre,Mell,Annie and all the staff for looking after us,already missing the place (and the sauna pool steam room and gym , Keep up the good work,and as for The steak and ale pies mmmmmmmmm

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to send in this review. We’re so pleased you were happy with all the facilities and we look forward to seeing you again soon, hopefully.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
139 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013 via mobile

I recently visited the Highfield which is very close to my home , I was the only person in at first on a cold snowy lunchtime and the lovely barmaid just made me feel so welcome . She was very chatty and funny and attentive . I ordered a simple meal of Nachos and it was brilliant !!!
Really cheered me up as I had recently had a relationship break up!!
Never got the girls name but her customer service was outstanding and a breath of fresh air !!!!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 18 June 2013
Thank you very much for your review. We like to think all our staff welcome customers and make them feel as much at home as possible, we’re really glad we were able to cheer you up (especially on a cold winter’s day!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
5.0 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highfield

Property: The Highfield
Address: 47 Highfield Road | Idle, Bradford BD10 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highfield 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel offers a large family friendly bar with lounge area and is open from 12pm serving a good selection of bar snacks and meals Monday from 12pm through to Sunday 6pm. Staff can assist you with extra services such as printing airline tickets and are able to offer information on their private functions, wedding services and meeting/banqueting facilities for up to 120 guests. Leisure club on site, free use of the swimming pool, gymnasium, spa, sauna and steam room offered to all hotel guests. Sun bed available at a charge. Additional amenities include a pool table, games machines and complimentary Wifi access. A light breakfast is included every morning of your stay. RV and truck parking available. The property may provide extended parking privileges to guests after check-out. This is a smoke-free property offering non-smoking rooms, rooms and facilities for disabled guests, heating and luggage storage The legendary Johan Cruyff stayed at the hotel (the ‘Baron of Beef’ as it was then), as it was close to Dennyfield, Thackley’s ground, where his Barcelona team trained before the match with Leeds in the European Cup Semi Final (if you have any more information about the history of the site, or any old photos you’d like to share with us, we would love to hear from you).The 30 ‘American Sized’ guest bedrooms at The Highfield all include 19-22 inch LCD televisions with 40+ channels including music/radio channels via freeview & a DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers in every room. Bathrooms are all private en-suite and comprise of a bath/shower, shaving socket and complimentary toiletries. No charge for cot hire. Iron and ironing boards available upon request. Complimentary Wifi access is also available. We can also provide drinks in your room, by prior arrangement. All rooms at The Highfield are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Highfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highfield Hotel Bradford
Sporting Hotel Bradford
The Highfield Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing