We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant”
Review of The Highfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Highfield
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Iv stayed at the highfeild for a couple of weeks well working in the area I found my stay very good the rooms are nice the staff are very pleasant and welcoming friendly and very helpful great value for money would defiantly stay again and recommend to anyone

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigB1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerIdle, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thankyou for taking the time to write your kind honest review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again next time you are working in the area.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    41
    26
    4
    8
See reviews for
29
36
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kirkburton
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for one night to attend a function. The welcome was warm and inviting. We were shown our room which was very large, empty and dark even with all of the lights on. The room was cold and uninviting. After we turned the radiators on it took a couple of hours to warm up. The bathroom had seen better days and the toilet took 4 times to flush properly.

The TV was tiny.

Furniture was 'minimal. A double bed (should have been a kingsize),a wardrobe without a front, a moth eaten sofa a bed side cabinet anb a small chest of ikea style drawers.

The room also smelled musty.

We would have been better served at the local Premier Inn at half the price. This is what I would recommend to others.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank HSM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerIdle, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thankyou Henry for taking the time to write your review.
I am very sorry that you found the room to be cold, the housekeepers do usually ensure that in the colder months the large radiators are turned on before check in time of 2pm, unfortunately they must have overseen your room on this occasion.
All our bedrooms have tv’s which are mostly 23in, some are 19in, you will find this is pretty standard in most hotels. Your bed was actually a king size bed, I’m not sure if this looked smaller to you with the room being a large American sized bedroom as advertised on our website along with booking affiliates . Your room was equipped with a king size bed, wardrobe, 3 draw chest, bedside table, bedside draws, desk, settee & poof.
We don’t feel the need to fill our American sized rooms with furniture that isn’t necessary, we do however, feel that our spacious American sized rooms are a benefit to customers, such as being able to comfortably accommodate up to five beds in each room such as a family room.
Each room has 5 wall lights situated around the room, plus two lights in the bathroom, all lights are low energy bulbs which as I’m sure you are aware take a few moments to brighten but this has never posed a problem for other guests.
The plumber has checked the toilet on 3 separate occasions since your visit on Saturday and couldn’t find a problem, we’ve also checked with the guests who are now staying in that room for 5 nights and they said they haven’t had any problems with it either.
We do hope you will stay with us again in the future & we look forward to welcoming you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford hotels

Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2013

We really enjoyed our stay in the Highfield Hotel. Our room was a lot larger than most we have stayed in and was nice and clean and adequate storage for clothes. Shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, shower cap, pack of tissues, cotton buds and a sewing kit were also available in your room free of charge. The leisure facilities were nice and clean and when we first went in we had the pool area to ourselves and spent over an hour in the Jacuzzi, which did not keep cutting out all the time. The steam room and sauna were also nice and clean and hot as you would expect. Included in the price was a continental breakfast, this included, bagels, lots of cereals, scones, teacakes, crumpets, yoghurt, fruit juice and tea/coffee. The staff were really friendly in both the Hotel and the adjoining pub. The Pub has a free quiz on a Tuesday night, which was great fun and consisted of a picture quiz and a general knowledge quiz. They also had a raffle for "Play Your Cards Right" competition (£1 per ticket) and if you managed to turn all your cards over and guess higher or lower correctly the prize was £200. The pub also provided free food at 10:30, which was an added bonus. The only thing that I could fault at this hotel was mascara stains on the white towels (which had obviously been washed, but the stain hadn’t come out). We will definitely be returning to this hotel as it was a great short break and really good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pinkboatlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerIdle, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thank you for your lovely review
We're very happy that you really enjoyed your stay with us and had the chance to use all our facilities and to take part in our weekly quiz with our lovely locals.
We look forward to welcoming you again next time you're visiting the area
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

room was a decent size and that isthe only positive, staff were rude and barely been trained when dealing with customers, there was a woman that was especially rude i think she was family of the owner but she was drunk and way out of control, the hotel had a cheap feeling to it as if everything has been bought from a charity store, its hotels like the highfield that gives this area of business a bad name.....bedding was dirty, cups were dirty, towels smelt damp, i also came awa with terrible cold de to the level of dampness in the bathroom, i can honestly say if any stays here YOUR TAKING A DIVE ITS TACKY AND CHEAP WITH AWFUL OWNERS!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Owner at The Highfield, responded to this review, 25 September 2013
This review needs to be REMOVED WITH IMMEDIATE EFFECT

These customers are currently under police investigation CRIME REFERENCE 13130391477;

1. These customers trashed the hotel room which has put it out of action for a minimum of one week
2. One of the guests was arrested for assaulting a member of staff, held for 10 hours
3. ALL FOUR guests been given a court order to pay a fine of £200 each to us
4. They bragged about trashing the room on Facebook

We are supposed to be sent these reviews 24 hours BEFORE they are published, which did not happen, which is NOT acceptable

This review will now be passed to Office Darren Somma in the case against them
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bouddica
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Stayed here recently overnight on a business trip.
Pros
The welcome was warm and friendly.
The hotel was in a quiet position.
The rooms were massive with a lovely comfortable bed.
The hotel was very clean

Cons
The window was open in my room which meant it was cold
The sheet kept coming off the bed
The extractor fan in the bathroom went on for a good 20 minutes after the light was switched off which made it difficult to sleep
The breakfast was laid out the night before in a tiny nook by the front door - food security was a concern as anyone could have tampered with it before I ate it which I don't like. We bypassed breakfast and ate elsewhere
The bathroom smelt strongly of cleaning chemicals but not in a pleasant way

Overall it was a good honest hotel which presented value for money for a business stay but don't expect it to light your fire.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bouddica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerIdle, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write your review
I’m sorry to hear that the bedroom window was left open prior to your arrival which left the room cold for you and that the bathroom smelt strongly of cleaning products, we have spoken to the housekeepers and they will avoid such instances in the future.
There are two lights situated in the bathroom, one which activates the extractor fan for when you are taking a bath or shower to remove any steam, this stays on for approximately 10mins and another that doesn’t activate it which is ideal for a pop to the loo.
The reception/breakfast area is always available for drinks & refreshments but isn’t laid out fully until the early hours of the morning, dependant on guests, we sometimes have guests who work shifts and leave earlier than most other guests during the week, the area is fully monitored by cctv.
We do hope this hasn’t put you off and you will visit us again soon in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crook, co durham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2013

me and my friend have just stayed 15 weeks at the highfield while working in bradford. we cant praise it enough,the staff was always friendly and very helpful,the room we had was very roomy,clean and tidy.we ate in the bar most evening, and were very happy with quality of the food.

thank you. paul and stephen, durham

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerIdle, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Thankyou Paul and Stephen for taking the time to write your lovely review.
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope you will visit us again next time you are working in the area.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheffield
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We found the staff to be very rude and the hotel to be poor in general. It seems that the staff in the hotel also work in the pub so it was difficult to get hold of anyone. The breakfast is left on a table by the door, all packaged items!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pabloelmacho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul J, Manager at The Highfield, responded to this review, 2 September 2013
Thank you for your comments although I do find it hard to pinpoint any of your comments as unfortunately it’s been 11 months before you’ve had chance to leave them.
I do find it hard to believe that any of the staff were rude to you, a few of our staff are multi skilled which includes serving in the bar and working the hotel reception as the reception is not manned 24hrs as stated on our website, however there are contact details located in reception should you wish to contact anyone 24 hrs a day.

You may find it more helpful to businesses and other travelers to leave the comments as more constructive criticisms as soon after your stay as possible where people can actually take your comments into consideration and improve on services.

The breakfast area is located in reception area as we clearly show on the website pictures with all items stored in containers, sachets, fridges etc etc, I can only presume this is what you mean when you refer to ‘packaged items’. We do give all guests comments cards on check in and get lots of great feedback including the breakfast being self serve, we know it’s not to everyone’s taste but it’s certainly a great plus for those who want a bite to eat in their own time or those with children
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
841 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
4.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
421 reviews
5.0 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
5.0 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highfield

Property: The Highfield
Address: 47 Highfield Road | Idle, Bradford BD10 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highfield 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel offers a large family friendly bar with lounge area and is open from 12pm serving a good selection of bar snacks and meals Monday from 12pm through to Sunday 6pm. Staff can assist you with extra services such as printing airline tickets and are able to offer information on their private functions, wedding services and meeting/banqueting facilities for up to 120 guests. Leisure club on site, free use of the swimming pool, gymnasium, spa, sauna and steam room offered to all hotel guests. Sun bed available at a charge. Additional amenities include a pool table, games machines and complimentary Wifi access. A light breakfast is included every morning of your stay. RV and truck parking available. The property may provide extended parking privileges to guests after check-out. This is a smoke-free property offering non-smoking rooms, rooms and facilities for disabled guests, heating and luggage storage The legendary Johan Cruyff stayed at the hotel (the ‘Baron of Beef’ as it was then), as it was close to Dennyfield, Thackley’s ground, where his Barcelona team trained before the match with Leeds in the European Cup Semi Final (if you have any more information about the history of the site, or any old photos you’d like to share with us, we would love to hear from you).The 30 ‘American Sized’ guest bedrooms at The Highfield all include 19-22 inch LCD televisions with 40+ channels including music/radio channels via freeview & a DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers in every room. Bathrooms are all private en-suite and comprise of a bath/shower, shaving socket and complimentary toiletries. No charge for cot hire. Iron and ironing boards available upon request. Complimentary Wifi access is also available. We can also provide drinks in your room, by prior arrangement. All rooms at The Highfield are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Highfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highfield Hotel Bradford
Sporting Hotel Bradford
The Highfield Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing