We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening before our wedding and wedding night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Highfield

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Highfield
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Evening before our wedding and wedding night.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

Our stay was made very welcoming. The rooms were basic but clean and spacious, and very reasonably priced. Bed was so comfy and huge !. Would definitely stay there again. Thanks to all. Mick & Jane Clough.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank Jane C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    39
    25
    4
    8
See reviews for
28
32
3
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

This is a what you see is what you get sort of hotel. My wife & I stayed for two nights Huge room Nice big bathroom ...Bed clean & comfortable room & bathroom very clean as well ......Breakfast continental selection .....well maybe not the best in the world but we thought at £55 per night it was good value......Dead handy for the MOO restaurant next doo,r & the pub, which is very good so all in all we would recommend this place & if we stopped in Bradford again would use it again the staff were very friendly & helpful also

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

Difference between chain and family run hotels is the uniqueness with family owned places offering more comfort and treat you better not just like a number like a chain of hotels identical rooms. Nice friendly service and large clean rooms

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Harrison112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Stayed at this hotel for one night before flying from Leeds Bradford.
Got a lovely welcome from receptionist and showed to a very large downstairs room with windows all down one side overlooking secluded track area with trees which was lovely. Apparently being landscaped so might not be so private when finished. Room was great with en-suite facilities, shower very powerful with plenty of hot water. All very clean. There was a private party in the function room but we did not hear it from our room.. Bed was really comfy and had a great nights sleep. Tea and coffee making facilities and TV. No complaints. Had a bar snack which was a little small but very tasty. Breakfast continental and self service with plenty of choice of different breads, crumpets etc, cereals, cheese - everything you need. Only downside was we thought it was over expensive but it was a late booking and tour de france was on so we were just grateful for finding a place to stay.
Would definitely recommend and will go back next time we fly from Leeds Bradford.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vicky E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Stayed for 2 nights. Reception staff very friendly and helpful and check in was quick and painless. Shown to our room, which was huge, basically furnished but clean and probably the biggest room we have stayed at in the UK. True the room was basic but the bed was comfortable, and the room clean and tidy. Breakfast was Continental style but with a very good selection of breads, crumpets, muffins and bagels as well as bread. Cereals, fruit all available and fresh and restocked throughout breakfast period which is extended time till late morning which is unusual.
Overall a good basic hotel for exceptional value and one we would stay in again when we are up this way again.

Room Tip: Rear rooms are quieter .
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

The good : lovely helpful girl at reception . Nice though small leisure club to use ..great for the kids...cold breakfast self service till 12pm which means no rushing in the morning and a good brunch to take you through the good part of the day. No check out rush.
The bad: we booked as our first option was booked...so was very disappointed with the room which is very very basic...very large room with a tiny tv without a remote..there was a function so very noisy and we didn't get to sleep till very late..too hot but couldn't open the windows due to noise...

Room Tip: Do t expect too much above basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rtn2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

stayed just one night for a wedding,got a early check in,the room was large and clean.when we got back from our wedding there was one going on at the hotel.very noisy but could not hear anthing in the room.tip if staying at the week end try to get a room at the rear, as they are very quite.breakfast was a bit of a let down,but it did the job.staff very good .would we stop there again?not sure on that

Room Tip: rear rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reg m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
1.6 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
4.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Leeds/Bradford
2.4 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
3.2 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
5.0 mi away
Chevin Country Park Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Highfield? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Highfield

Property: The Highfield
Address: 47 Highfield Road | Idle, Bradford BD10 8QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Highfield 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Hotel offers a large family friendly bar with lounge area and is open from 12pm serving a good selection of bar snacks and meals Monday from 12pm through to Sunday 6pm. Staff can assist you with extra services such as printing airline tickets and are able to offer information on their private functions, wedding services and meeting/banqueting facilities for up to 120 guests. Leisure club on site, free use of the swimming pool, gymnasium, spa, sauna and steam room offered to all hotel guests. Sun bed available at a charge. Additional amenities include a pool table, games machines and complimentary Wifi access. A light breakfast is included every morning of your stay. RV and truck parking available. The property may provide extended parking privileges to guests after check-out. This is a smoke-free property offering non-smoking rooms, rooms and facilities for disabled guests, heating and luggage storage The legendary Johan Cruyff stayed at the hotel (the ‘Baron of Beef’ as it was then), as it was close to Dennyfield, Thackley’s ground, where his Barcelona team trained before the match with Leeds in the European Cup Semi Final (if you have any more information about the history of the site, or any old photos you’d like to share with us, we would love to hear from you).The 30 ‘American Sized’ guest bedrooms at The Highfield all include 19-22 inch LCD televisions with 40+ channels including music/radio channels via freeview & a DVD player, tea and coffee making facilities and hair dryers in every room. Bathrooms are all private en-suite and comprise of a bath/shower, shaving socket and complimentary toiletries. No charge for cot hire. Iron and ironing boards available upon request. Complimentary Wifi access is also available. We can also provide drinks in your room, by prior arrangement. All rooms at The Highfield are non-smoking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Highfield reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Highfield Hotel Bradford
Sporting Hotel Bradford
The Highfield Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing