We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what an experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed 22 September 2012

very disapointed with this hotel, booked through wowcher which described the Cartwright as a luxury hotel, but in truth I think this a local hostel, no food was being served and they were in the middle of refurbishment, and hadd workmen and tools all over, we only stayed one night, nowhere within walking distance to visit either except Lister Park which is lovely, but AVOID the hotel !

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for The Cartwright Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked a trip to the Cartwright Hotel in Bradford through Living Social. The hotel was pleasant; old fashioned but clean and tidy with friendly staff. We ate in a curry house that was recommended to us in walking distance of the hotel and had a few drinks in the hotel bar which was reasonably priced.

Breakfast in the hotel was ok; a little chaotic and understaffed perhaps but this did not detract from our overall enjoyment of the place.

The hotel is well situated and should I ever visit Bradford again, I would be happy to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I was unfortunate enough to book a room via KGB deals for this hotel so that we could visit family in the area. We booked a cot for our one year old, checked it was book twice and checked it was booked with reception before we went up to our room. Its an odd hotel, all twists and turns and doors and stairs so not great for parents with prams and definately not for disabled guests.
When we reached our room, there was no cot. Well, I know its not the end of the world, but there were low sockets, low set windows, and trailling wires and Id rather not risk a life when a travel cot is a simple item to provide. We returned to reception and were told that there was nothing they could do. We called the manager from reception and were told that he wouldnt be doing anything about it either, he was too busy. I cant fault the receptionist, the poor man was trying to work with no tools never mind broken ones. After being told that we were unreasonable, rude and that we should check out and go elsewhere at our own expense we asked to speak to the owner and mentioned the litigation involved in injury or death. The receptionist called the owner and we were promised a cot within the hour (how odd!!). We had to walk to the sister hotel as the kitchens and dining room of this hotel were out of action - beware this is not a short walk and the area is decidedly dodgy. When we returned there was a cot, so we settled down for the evening. The hotel is noisy as it is on the main road and there was considerable banging in the night and the noise of guests being moved. In the morning we learned that the ceiling of the dining room had collapsed (what goes around, comes around I guess!). Breakfast was no better than what I could do at home, althought the poor receptionist who had been up all night sorting out the ceiling had had the forsight to walk to the sister hotel and retrieve a highchair. (Please note that I am not just being a 'pain in the behind mother' - when we booked this hotel, the online booking system stated cots and highchairs)

Fawlty towers complete with 'Basil' the rude manager. If you would like to be the butt of the joke, then go to this hotel, otherwise avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2012

We booked the hotel using a discount voucher (£67 for two nights B+B for two). I read some of the comments on trip advisor before we left and was a little concerned at some of the reviews but I speak as I find.
On arrival we were greeted nicely and check-in was easy- Sometimes it can be slow when using a voucher. The room was lovely and clean. Crisp white bedding and plenty of fluffy white towels. The only draw back was there was no wardrobe as they were awaiting delivery.(This is why I rated 4 rather than 5.)
The bathroom was nice and modern too.
Breakfast was delicious and served in the conservatory.
The bar had a good range of drinks available at reasonable prices.
Easy access into Bradford centre and a wonderful park directly opposite the hotel.
Lovely stay and would return if in the area.
Thanks to Eamon, Faye and Fatima for excellent service.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clare H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Firstly, only paid £63. for two night stay for two, so excellent value for money.
Read earlier reviews about noise and bar customers. No problems this visit, bar quiet and few customers friendly. Bar / reception staff very good, also doubled as waiter for breakfast.
Room very good, clean, good size and comfortable bed. Lacking clothes hanging space though. As in front of hotel quite noisy from road traffic.
Breakfast excellent in pleasant surroundings. Very minor details - Tea served in mug with tea bag still in, would have better in a pot ! No separate knife for use with bread / toast. These are very minor details. if addressed I would rate this hotel as very good.
Good location next to Lister park (very nice) and convenient for buses into town or for surrounding area.
I would not recommend eating at sister Hotel (Lister Hotel). Tried it, food average, service average but quite pricey.

Room Tip: Try to avoid front of Hotel (only due to road noise) as on very busy road.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AirlieJock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

The buliding in its day would have been home to a well to do family situated diagonally across from the attractive Lister Park home to Cartwright Hall. But dont get carried away this is Bradford after all. We went on the cheap deal so this only equated to £15pppn & that has to be borne in mind you dont get much for that these days. We suspect as others have alluded to that recent history for this hotel has been for as a home for the less fortunate in our society & we assume the owners may be trying to get back to the tourist hotel status as opposed to a dhss facility. The bed linen & towels were clean & fresh but the carpets had seen better days. There was a bit of a odour which after 24hrs faded or we got used to it. The cleaner worked hard but I think she was up against it! Reception at the weekend was a bit lacking needed batteries for the remote control asked on our way out and 4hours later was told they had none & as their was no other staff available could not go to obtain some. The breakfast was ok although a bit greasy the lady on this morning (Mon)was more professional & attentive.
We had 2 lovely meals in the area - the Olive tree Headingly, Greek & yummy (although there is one a bit nearer) & a very reasonably priced curry at Bharat - nice staff & fab onion bhajis & nan. We visited 2 excellent museums -the National Film & Media Museum & the Industrial museum. Saltaire too is worth a visit. We had a stroll through Lister park before leaving and it is a very nice park. We enjoyed our weekend and what do you want for this price.

Room Tip: floor 2 had more up to date shower rooms & window is facing next door gardens whereas front room...
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cbelle13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The dilemma isn't ours - it was the Cartwrights! Are they are classy luxury hotel as advertised in their blurb or are they a temporary stop over for the homeless.
Yes we couldnt believe it either!!!
We feel strongly that the Cartwright management have to get their clientele sorted as you don't pay money to stay in a hotel and have the local 'worthies' wandering in and out to discuss their days activities with one another. Yes you have lots of security cameras which is a bad message in itself but there are no staff on the shop floor to deal with the people coming and going.
Our deal was with living social so you could say we got what we paid for - but there is a limit. . To be fair we got a good, clean room - apart from the crime scene mattress on the bed which had a blood stain or something equally sinister on it. The towels were new but there were no wardrobes to put our clothes - but there were coat hangers - bizarre. Our shower room was new and quite good but the window was screwed shut and there was no extractor.
The staff were friendly if a bit exhausted - so exhausted that they forgot to get us toilet roll..and tea..and batteries to make the remote control in the bedroom work.. but hey there was only one person on for the first 24 hours we were there and he was also serving at the bar.
Breakfast was equally interesting. Part of the dining room ceiling also fell down the first morning we were there, then we had to sort out the dining room, ask for juice etc and had no choice other than a full english which was adequate but greasy and the sausages had been almost reheated but didnt quite reach the hot mark. Also be prepared to sort out your table, the cutlery, the crockery and all the other bits and bobs yourself As a consequence we decided we couldn't manage any more early morning drama and opted to miss breakfast on the second morning.
The thing is the Cartwright could be good if it just sorted its self out. There are no finishing touches, jobs left undone, and furniture in a disgusting state. You advertise a £350k refurb but it would be better if you SPENT some time looking at what is wrong and then fixing it - in short it has no soul and needs a female eye. Get a woman in to look at it - preferably Alex Polizzi - sort it out and sort out your customers and then put the offers out there for people to snap up and they will then hopefully recommend you to their friends and family. At the moment you are not doing yourselves any favours and just throwing good money after bad. Sorry.
On a good note Bradford is a fine city with fabulous museums and parks and was a great experience for us - and even the dodgy moments at the Cartwright had their own 'one for the album' edge to them.

Room Tip: dont check the mattress - it will put you off travelling for life
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AhrleneFerguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
2.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Beehive Inn
The New Beehive Inn
#23 of 27 in Bradford
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel

Address: 308 Manningham Lane, Bradford BD8 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range: £33 - £46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished, Victorian hotel located close to the nationally acclaimed Cartwright Hall Museum, Alhambra Theatre and of course Bradford City FC, as well as being within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales - you certainly won't be bored during your stay at The Cartwright! All the rooms are beautifully decorated and en-suite, with Free view TV, DVD player, WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and a hairdryer - what more could you need? As well as a full licensed bar, the Hotel offers a patio area overlooking the award-winning Lister Park. Jazuzzi room available, perfect for birthdays or any special occasion. Breakfast is very popular at the Cartwright and served from 7am every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartwright Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing