We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not the best but, they are trying...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here 13th Oct for one night with Living Social deal, after reading reviews here I was dreading it & well prepared to come home!

To be fair we were presently surprised,yes the hotel is frequented by locals so what would like to be told you can't drink in your local because we have hotel guest?& also there we not that many it was extremely quiet.cheking in was hassle free & friendly
Our room 203 was lovely brand newly fitted massive bathroom with jacuzzi bath, huge wardrobe, flat screen 32" TV & crisp white bed linen.
Yes there are things that could be better one main one been he heating it was freezing in our room when we got back & in the morning & we were glad we were on the top floor as it has very surely floor boards & you must here them in the room below.
We only went out locally to. Italian called Orlandos food ok nothing exceptional, & across the road to a local bar called the Park, we walked back to The Cartwright.
We had an uninterrupted nights sleep no noise from the bar or other guests.breakfasy was meant to be in the huge conservatory but it was so cold in there 2 guest had coats & scarfs on! We ate our in the bar with other guest, I didn't have a cooked breakfast but had toast brown& white,cereal lots of choice, & there were yogurts, individual jam pots juice & milk.husband had a cooked breakfast & said it was fine, bacon, sausage, black pudding mushrooms & egg.only thing we had to ask for glasses & cutlery but in the grand scheme of things that could happen anywhere & the girl doing breakfast was lovely & chatty as was Faye on reception.
All in all would not go back but we've been & like to go to different places with the groupon & living social deals,after reading reviews you would be put off but I'm the worse sleeper anywhere & I slept fine so yes it's cheap & cheerful but hey it's just one night!
This is my opinion & I have been as honest as to how we saw it

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank eboney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (118)
There are newer reviews for The Cartwright Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

78 - 84 of 118 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2012

From the outside the hotel looks quite good.but that's when you should turn back. Once inside it was soon clear that the bar lady was also receptionist, admin etc. etc. Poor girl was very busy. The room was clean and well decorated but lacked anywhere to hang your clothes. There was a bath but no plug. Other inmates, I choose the word carefully, appeared to include the bail hostel's overspill. The bar, due to its reasonable prices, was 'home' to local vagrants who could also be found under the Lister statue in Lister Park, it resembled a scene from Shaun of the Dead.
Breakfast was in the conservatory, read ice-box. It had a radiator but the waitress/receptionist/bar lady/admin person said it was on a timer and couldn't be turned on. Milk ran out (the bail hostel overspill saw to that), orange juice ran out, no baked beans in lieu of tomatoes, I knew I shouldn't have asked! Food otherwise not too bad.
Don't go there, even if it is cheap, it's not worth it.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just do not book this place, it really is dreadful. Im not a really fussy person, but there is a limit, we stayed for five mins then checked out. I could not have slept in any of those rooms and I could not have eaten or drank there. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MRMOJORISIN46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Most serious complaint is that there does not appear to be a security guard or any means of nightime security. We were not told what to do if coming in late at night and were given no outside door key. We saw no security guard. Between the hours of 12.30pm - 3.30am three very loud foreign male voices were heard in the corridors, on the stairs and outside our hotel door. We reported this to the manager the next day and he said they had no groups of male guests staying so he would check CCTV later. We assume therefore that they simply walked in from the street through an open door in the middle of the night.

More minor complaints - bathroom light didn't work so bathroom was pitch black. The hotel offered us candles but no means of lighting them as a 'solution'. Dinner was in their sister hotel, which was up a dark, quiet street. Dodgy bar downstairs. Questionable breakfast. Rubbish in the car park. Dilapidated building. Weeds in the 'gardens'.

Positives - large room, new furnishings and newly decorated room. Bargain deal through 'livingsocial' of £50 for two (although in light of what happened not a bargain!) Excellent evening meal.

Lesson learnt from our experience with the Cartwright Hotel - check on trip advisor before you book! I agree with some other reviewers that the positive reviews of this hotel are suspicous in their origin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2012

very disapointed with this hotel, booked through wowcher which described the Cartwright as a luxury hotel, but in truth I think this a local hostel, no food was being served and they were in the middle of refurbishment, and hadd workmen and tools all over, we only stayed one night, nowhere within walking distance to visit either except Lister Park which is lovely, but AVOID the hotel !

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2012

We booked a trip to the Cartwright Hotel in Bradford through Living Social. The hotel was pleasant; old fashioned but clean and tidy with friendly staff. We ate in a curry house that was recommended to us in walking distance of the hotel and had a few drinks in the hotel bar which was reasonably priced.

Breakfast in the hotel was ok; a little chaotic and understaffed perhaps but this did not detract from our overall enjoyment of the place.

The hotel is well situated and should I ever visit Bradford again, I would be happy to stay there.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I was unfortunate enough to book a room via KGB deals for this hotel so that we could visit family in the area. We booked a cot for our one year old, checked it was book twice and checked it was booked with reception before we went up to our room. Its an odd hotel, all twists and turns and doors and stairs so not great for parents with prams and definately not for disabled guests.
When we reached our room, there was no cot. Well, I know its not the end of the world, but there were low sockets, low set windows, and trailling wires and Id rather not risk a life when a travel cot is a simple item to provide. We returned to reception and were told that there was nothing they could do. We called the manager from reception and were told that he wouldnt be doing anything about it either, he was too busy. I cant fault the receptionist, the poor man was trying to work with no tools never mind broken ones. After being told that we were unreasonable, rude and that we should check out and go elsewhere at our own expense we asked to speak to the owner and mentioned the litigation involved in injury or death. The receptionist called the owner and we were promised a cot within the hour (how odd!!). We had to walk to the sister hotel as the kitchens and dining room of this hotel were out of action - beware this is not a short walk and the area is decidedly dodgy. When we returned there was a cot, so we settled down for the evening. The hotel is noisy as it is on the main road and there was considerable banging in the night and the noise of guests being moved. In the morning we learned that the ceiling of the dining room had collapsed (what goes around, comes around I guess!). Breakfast was no better than what I could do at home, althought the poor receptionist who had been up all night sorting out the ceiling had had the forsight to walk to the sister hotel and retrieve a highchair. (Please note that I am not just being a 'pain in the behind mother' - when we booked this hotel, the online booking system stated cots and highchairs)

Fawlty towers complete with 'Basil' the rude manager. If you would like to be the butt of the joke, then go to this hotel, otherwise avoid it like the plague.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Beaky79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
2.6 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
1.9 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
884 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#14 of 27 in Bradford
533 reviews
0.9 mi away
The New Beehive Inn
The New Beehive Inn
#23 of 27 in Bradford
69 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
470 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel

Address: 308 Manningham Lane, Bradford BD8 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range: £33 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished, Victorian hotel located close to the nationally acclaimed Cartwright Hall Museum, Alhambra Theatre and of course Bradford City FC, as well as being within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales - you certainly won't be bored during your stay at The Cartwright! All the rooms are beautifully decorated and en-suite, with Free view TV, DVD player, WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and a hairdryer - what more could you need? As well as a full licensed bar, the Hotel offers a patio area overlooking the award-winning Lister Park. Jazuzzi room available, perfect for birthdays or any special occasion. Breakfast is very popular at the Cartwright and served from 7am every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and Hotels.com so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartwright Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing