We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cold comfort!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cold comfort!”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

Stayed a Saturday night in October. Car park full of football fan's cars as it was match day. Difficult for guests to park. The hotel has an identity crisis; is it a pub or a hotel? Staff poorly trained, I don't think they have ever stopped at a hotel themselves or they would act very differently. Lots of money has been spent but lacks attention to finish and detail.Bathroom and shower all new but no heating on! Shower luke warm. Large TV in room with new carpet.
Breakfast served in a freezing conservatory. Fried breakfast okay but served on ice cold plates; has the chef never thought of warming them first.Just littel things that would have stopped me writing my first ever trip adviser review.! All the other guests joked about wearing coats to breakfast. Only saving grace that we had booked using a voucher and our stay was for just one night. PS Fire door wedged open-a bit worrying.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank weekenderxxxx2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    34
    18
    10
    22
See reviews for
9
68
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

This is a big, old looking building, that was at some time possibly a "home" or hostel. However, as the advertising blurb goes, it has had a considerable amount spent on it recently (350k !!). It is obvious that some money has been spent on the ground floor, which is where one of the problems arises - The Cartwright isn't sure whether its a hotel or a pub. When we arrived. it was match day and the bar was full, therefore no one at reception, which is just on the opposite side of the bar ! Eventually a member of staff took our voucher off us and gave us a key, without any explanation as to where the room was ! Upstairs, a new cheap carpet with old wallpaper and paintwork and a warren of passages and rooms. Our room appeared recently refurbished and was clean - but no wardrobe or anywhere to hang clothes. Neither were there any draws for clothes or bedside lamps, nor any hotel info. The ensuite bathroom was recently refurbished too, although the antiquated skirting had been left when it was tiled (!) and the lighting was dingey. The bed was soft and uncomfortable and on closer examination (possibly not a good idea !) very old and held up with blocks of wood. Ah well, there was always breakfast to look forward to - or not. Tables had been set in the conservatory, which was not much above freezing, so other clients had moved back into the bar, which was slightly warmer. Cereal was...... cereal. The full breakfast - warm, but poor quality and as for the coffee, we were served cappucino without being asked if we wanted milk or not ! I say cappucino, it was some warm grey liquid with froth. Other things missing - bath plug, TV remote and any ambience whatsoever. Due to the voucher, this was a cheap night, but not one we would care to repeat for half that price. Fortunately the sun shone, but even that fact would not entice us back.

Room Tip: Find another hotel !
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ConwayReiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford hotels

Yorkshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2012

We stayed here 13th Oct for one night with Living Social deal, after reading reviews here I was dreading it & well prepared to come home!

To be fair we were presently surprised,yes the hotel is frequented by locals so what would like to be told you can't drink in your local because we have hotel guest?& also there we not that many it was extremely quiet.cheking in was hassle free & friendly
Our room 203 was lovely brand newly fitted massive bathroom with jacuzzi bath, huge wardrobe, flat screen 32" TV & crisp white bed linen.
Yes there are things that could be better one main one been he heating it was freezing in our room when we got back & in the morning & we were glad we were on the top floor as it has very surely floor boards & you must here them in the room below.
We only went out locally to. Italian called Orlandos food ok nothing exceptional, & across the road to a local bar called the Park, we walked back to The Cartwright.
We had an uninterrupted nights sleep no noise from the bar or other guests.breakfasy was meant to be in the huge conservatory but it was so cold in there 2 guest had coats & scarfs on! We ate our in the bar with other guest, I didn't have a cooked breakfast but had toast brown& white,cereal lots of choice, & there were yogurts, individual jam pots juice & milk.husband had a cooked breakfast & said it was fine, bacon, sausage, black pudding mushrooms & egg.only thing we had to ask for glasses & cutlery but in the grand scheme of things that could happen anywhere & the girl doing breakfast was lovely & chatty as was Faye on reception.
All in all would not go back but we've been & like to go to different places with the groupon & living social deals,after reading reviews you would be put off but I'm the worse sleeper anywhere & I slept fine so yes it's cheap & cheerful but hey it's just one night!
This is my opinion & I have been as honest as to how we saw it

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eboney66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

From the outside the hotel looks quite good.but that's when you should turn back. Once inside it was soon clear that the bar lady was also receptionist, admin etc. etc. Poor girl was very busy. The room was clean and well decorated but lacked anywhere to hang your clothes. There was a bath but no plug. Other inmates, I choose the word carefully, appeared to include the bail hostel's overspill. The bar, due to its reasonable prices, was 'home' to local vagrants who could also be found under the Lister statue in Lister Park, it resembled a scene from Shaun of the Dead.
Breakfast was in the conservatory, read ice-box. It had a radiator but the waitress/receptionist/bar lady/admin person said it was on a timer and couldn't be turned on. Milk ran out (the bail hostel overspill saw to that), orange juice ran out, no baked beans in lieu of tomatoes, I knew I shouldn't have asked! Food otherwise not too bad.
Don't go there, even if it is cheap, it's not worth it.

Room Tip: Try a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Adrian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

Just do not book this place, it really is dreadful. Im not a really fussy person, but there is a limit, we stayed for five mins then checked out. I could not have slept in any of those rooms and I could not have eaten or drank there. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MRMOJORISIN46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 September 2012

Most serious complaint is that there does not appear to be a security guard or any means of nightime security. We were not told what to do if coming in late at night and were given no outside door key. We saw no security guard. Between the hours of 12.30pm - 3.30am three very loud foreign male voices were heard in the corridors, on the stairs and outside our hotel door. We reported this to the manager the next day and he said they had no groups of male guests staying so he would check CCTV later. We assume therefore that they simply walked in from the street through an open door in the middle of the night.

More minor complaints - bathroom light didn't work so bathroom was pitch black. The hotel offered us candles but no means of lighting them as a 'solution'. Dinner was in their sister hotel, which was up a dark, quiet street. Dodgy bar downstairs. Questionable breakfast. Rubbish in the car park. Dilapidated building. Weeds in the 'gardens'.

Positives - large room, new furnishings and newly decorated room. Bargain deal through 'livingsocial' of £50 for two (although in light of what happened not a bargain!) Excellent evening meal.

Lesson learnt from our experience with the Cartwright Hotel - check on trip advisor before you book! I agree with some other reviewers that the positive reviews of this hotel are suspicous in their origin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2012

very disapointed with this hotel, booked through wowcher which described the Cartwright as a luxury hotel, but in truth I think this a local hostel, no food was being served and they were in the middle of refurbishment, and hadd workmen and tools all over, we only stayed one night, nowhere within walking distance to visit either except Lister Park which is lovely, but AVOID the hotel !

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank julie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
1.9 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
840 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel
1.6 mi away
Homeleigh Hotel
Homeleigh Hotel
#2 of 2 in Shipley
54 reviews
3.9 mi away
Campanile Bradford
Campanile Bradford
#13 of 27 in Bradford
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel

Property: The Cartwright Hotel
Address: 308 Manningham Lane, Bradford BD8 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished, Victorian hotel located close to the nationally acclaimed Cartwright Hall Museum, Alhambra Theatre and of course Bradford City FC, as well as being within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales - you certainly won't be bored during your stay at The Cartwright! All the rooms are beautifully decorated and en-suite, with Free view TV, DVD player, WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and a hairdryer - what more could you need? As well as a full licensed bar, the Hotel offers a patio area overlooking the award-winning Lister Park. Jazuzzi room available, perfect for birthdays or any special occasion. Breakfast is very popular at the Cartwright and served from 7am every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HRS, Hotels.com, Hotel.de and Cancelon so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartwright Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing