We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, helpful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cartwright Hotel
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Aviano, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Friendly, helpful hotel”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Room 101 was SUPER!!!! Nice large room with pleasant furnishings. Do not miss the hotel's full English breakfast!! All staff members went out of their way to be helpful. Bar area has a pool table and locals did talk to us. We stayed two nights and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WcMiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    33
    17
    10
    22
See reviews for
9
67
8
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My friend had bought a group on for me and my boyfriend for his birthday.
After reading some of the reviews we thought we where going to have a nasty surprises. .. how wrong we were!!
As soon as we arrived at the hotel, we where given a warm welcome by a lovely lady called Nicola. She gave us our key and offered us a night key also. She then took us to our room, which was room 101. The room was lovely. It was big and the bed was massive! !. It had a tv with free view channels and a inbuilt dvd player. The room was also very clean and had a lovely big wardrobe, draws and bed side tables, there was enough storage to stay for a month! !!.
On the night time we went to the bar. Met another lovely lady called Laura. It was a very enjoyable evening and met some lovely locals. Also when we where in the room we heard nothing from downstairs bar area!!
The next morning we had breakfast, we had a choice of cereals, and then we had a choice of hot breakfast which was very nice. The chef also kept checking to see if we and everything was ok. To round it up we had a lovely warm comfy stay would stay again and would definitely recommend. Xx

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I cancelled my original hotel (which I've stayed at for 4 weeks) at 8pm last night (Thursday 17th July 2014) due to excess noise from an event being held there.
I booked The Cartwright hotel via LateRooms.com at short notice but only read LateRooms.com reviews.
Reading TripAdvisor while parked nearby trying to find the hotel, I nearly turned around.
As I pulled up in the carpark there were a few people sitting outside the entrance, smoking and having a drink in the evening sun.
The young lady on reception was very friendly and helpful. Reception is at the entrance to a medium sized bar. I was a little concerned that it might be a noisy bar, but no problem.
The lady showed me to my room (104). It is a modern, clean, refurbished double room. High quality. No wardrobe but a hanging rail (no coat hangers though).
I slept well. Overwhelmed by the politeness and commitment of staff at breakfast. Enormous full breakfast for only £5. Staff couldn't do more to help.
Very attentive.
I'd stay here again.
Shame about the negatives reviews but I believe at least some are from competitors trying to win business...

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank GCollinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

In one night we encountered a broken bed, clumpy/lumpy pillows, an unsightly plaster patch on the ceiling, a matress that lost its spring back in the war, a broken shower screen, torn duvet cover and for breakfast....nothing, not a baked bean, no staff, no chef, no breakfast! We were courteous enough to wait 20 minutes past our allocated time, even though both another couple and ourselves had booked breakfast for 9, it seemed the staff had other plans, we decided enough was enough and went to pack our belongings, as did the other poor couple. Upon departure we finally encountered a member of staff whom we handed the key too, he then asked "arnt you having breakfast?"!
Those that purchase groupon vouchers do so to have a well earned break with the same luxuries as every other guest, I just hope that no one else wastes their money on this dump (apparently refurbed recently, we must have been put in the room that they missed).
Just don't bother!

Room Tip: Don't let them put you in 202
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kellywH369PY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford hotels

Bebington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
89 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I am submitting this review because I was almost put off staying at this hotel after reading the Tripadviser reviews. However I am glad that I chose to ignore them. The hotel was extremely comfortable and clean with plenty of wardrobe space. We had a superb very large room at the top of the hotel with a beautiful en-suite with a Jacuzzi bath. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. Our room overlooked the beautiful Lister Park which was a lovely view to have from our window. As the room was on the top floor, the staff took up our luggage for us and were most polite and courteous throughout our stay. An added bonus was that it is on a direct bus route into Bradford with a bus every 10 minutes so we didn't have to use the car and we could use our 'senior citizens passes'.

Room Tip: I think it was room 203 with an extremely good outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank 262Barbara262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

A friendly welcome close to the city centre. A large room on the top floor over looking the car park. A basic clean room with a new bathroom made a comfortable stay. A excellent breakfast made the stay even better. New blind needed as it let in the light. For the price a very good stay.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank psimpsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
derby
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

Stayed here for one night, check in very good, very helpful young lady. Showed us to our room. Lovely large room with jacuzzi bath. Bar staff very friendly and helpful. Lovely home cooked breakfast, would definitely come back again. :-) ignore all the bad reviews.....

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sazzlesez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.1 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Bradford Shipley
Ibis Bradford Shipley
#1 of 2 in Shipley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
2.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.7 mi away
Best Western Bradford Guide Post Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cartwright Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cartwright Hotel

Property: The Cartwright Hotel
Address: 308 Manningham Lane, Bradford BD8 7AX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cartwright Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A recently refurbished, Victorian hotel located close to the nationally acclaimed Cartwright Hall Museum, Alhambra Theatre and of course Bradford City FC, as well as being within easy reach of the Yorkshire Dales - you certainly won't be bored during your stay at The Cartwright! All the rooms are beautifully decorated and en-suite, with Free view TV, DVD player, WiFi, tea and coffee making facilities, an iron and a hairdryer - what more could you need? As well as a full licensed bar, the Hotel offers a patio area overlooking the award-winning Lister Park. Jazuzzi room available, perfect for birthdays or any special occasion. Breakfast is very popular at the Cartwright and served from 7am every morning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., Book Direct Rooms, Ebookers, HRS, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cartwright Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cartwright Hotel Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing