We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“More than meets the eye.......!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Royal

The Royal
Ranked #45 of 675 Restaurants in Bradford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“More than meets the eye.......!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014 via mobile

What do you want in a pub? Helpful pleasant staff? Value for money? You can't go far wrong with the royal! It's a great place. The staff are great, virtually a laugh a minute. And Ian is fantastic in that he puts people at ease. And it's a pleasant experience.

I rarely wax lyrical about a watering hole unless I'm impressed, and I'm rarely impressed because I'm old style in that I love taverns and old style sensibilities. It's got the old style of tavern sensibilities. Which is sweet!!!!

Give the royal a go, you won't regret it! :-D

Helpful?
1 Thank Alam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    44
    10
    6
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dundee
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Real Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014 via mobile

Visited on Saturday 22nd Feb with wife after reading existing Tripadvisor reviews. Also happened to be closest place to hotel! Glad we went! Had a 10oz steak done to perfection and wife had fishcakes in a japanese crumb coating which were excellent! Portions were massive! Royal should not take it as an insult that we couldn't finish portions! Wine was great value at £10.99 for a bottle of sauvignon blanc! Paul the owner is a nice guy who chatted for a while to us travelling Scots! Great place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LocalFoodieBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Christmas Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Eventually got around to our Christmas Dinner, not before time! We chose to go to The Royal, try it for ourselves. Thirteen of us in all, they reserved us our tables, just aswell really, most of the tables were taken (good sign). The building inside is fresh, clean and tidy, the staff let us settle in before taking our orders. Good selection of food, fair prices, portions quite large in general, if you don't want large portions tell them when ordering.
Staff cheerful and happy to accommodate your requirements. Happy to return in the future.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Secretaryx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“First visit for 15 years!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We used to live close to The Royal and went in frequently when it was a 'drinking pub'.

We were told it had been refurbished and thought it might be fun to drop in - what a good decision. The whole pub is now open plan and bright and airy with lots of tables in two separate areas. It still has the bar in the same place and there was a sprinkling of regulars just having a drink, which made for a relaxed, informal atmosphere.

The menu was limited but varied so no problem finding something to suit almost any taste.

I had the 'Royal Burger' which came with a basket of chunky chips and a fresh crispy salad. The burger was superb; it tasted of real meat and was excellently enhanced with the bacon/cheese topping. The chips were big n fluffy and filling. I like to think I have a good appetite but struggled to clear the plate!

My better half had a chicken wrap which was equally delicious and filling (along with the chips n salad).

The bill came to £16 for the meals which is a bit over typical 'pub grub' prices but given the quality and quantity I'm not going to complain

Will definitely be going back to sample the other menu items.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank chris b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Fab food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

My friend and I went to The Royal for something to eat and a catch up. She has been a few times before and said how good it was. There was a lovely lively atmsophere in the pub and the staff were very friendly. The food was served quickly and tasted fab. The portions are so generous that we didn't have room for a dessert. I would definitely go there again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Royal also viewed

Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 
Bradford, West Yorkshire
Bradford, West Yorkshire
 

Been to The Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing