We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding day excellent - service not so good ....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford
Ranked #20 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wedding day excellent - service not so good ....”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We recently celebrated my mums wedding day at the Holiday Inn - the day was excellent, the stay not so great. Pre wedding was excellent Melissa was very helpful and kept in contact with both me and my mum in the run up to the wedding. However on the day of the wedding, check in was a mess - we were told prior we might be able to check in earlier than 2pm as the wedding was at 3.30pm however this was not the case. We asked at reception at 1pm and was told it would be 20 min wait - 1hr later we got into the room. The person on reception was not very helpful. They then mixed one of the rooms up after I had explained which room was for whom - but then insisted that she could not release a room before taking payment in which the bride ended up sorting out. My room was ok classed as an exec room on the 2 nd floor but not very exec to me apart from size. The tv had a large crack on it and looked like it had been knocked over previously, the bathroom taps, mirror and shaving mirror needs attention very old looking and rusty. The complimentary water and chocolate was missing the chocolate!!!!! The day went off as planned, and Carole was a great support throughout the day, I would say though more staff needed to help with room changes Carole was on her own, our wedding photographer ended up helping with moving chairs. One thing that let it down for some guests is they experienced noise from other guests after 1am - we had people running in the corridor and continuing their party until breakfast time!!!!! I appreciate people want to have fun, but there is a limit!!!! Breakfast was self service and although great I think their plates shrunk in the dishwasher. Having stayed and got married myself here I am sorry to say the standards are slipping and attention to detail like decor and cleanliness is also slipping. For the money paid myself and other guests have stayed in lower valued establishments and experienced better service. Having read other reviews it would be great if the person responding actually read the comments and responds accordingly.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TJCrazycards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your feedback from your mums wedding day .I can assure you that we have taken on board all your comments .

Check in is from 2pm I am sorry If you thought our service we provided for this is not up to standard.

The chocolate bars and water you did not receive, we could have rectified this straight away for you by letting reception know, we would have sent them up straight away with are apologies.

Based on your feedback I have given my maintenance manager your concerns from the bedroom you stayed in to rectify these problems straight away.

I am pleased to hear your great feedback about Carol who was running the wedding. I can assure you the function was staffed for the numbers attended.

We do aim to give each guest an exceptional customer service and since last year are feedback on trip advisor has improved and we have moved from 22nd out of 30 hotels to 12th out of 30 hotels with better results than most four stay hotels within the area and we have also achieved a certificate of excellence for 2013 based on guest reviews.

Once again my apologies for the issues you experienced and I hope to welcome you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    113
    85
    36
    25
See reviews for
84
90
23
110
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We decided to have our wedding breakfast & evening reception here. We took advantage of the offer 40 day guests & 70 evening guests. We were given good service from the start by Melisa.
We had family from Leeds, York, Scotland so it was important it was well located.
For both my nights at the hotel I stayed in room 6 executive suite it was very nice 2 double beds a sofa, walk in wardrobe 2 TV's. Very nice. Could have had a bit more in mini bar instead of just a kitkat.... only grumble
We also had a disabled room for both night s for one of the party and Kirsty from reception gave us a spare key for emergency's which was very useful Thank you.
The day of the wedding was fantastic both Matt and mary were excellent.
The dj we had was the boss and he was fantastic. The food through out was excellent.
Thank you to the bar man who stayed up Friday and Saturday to the early hours of the mornings SORRY!!! but THANK YOU.
I would recommend having a wedding here, and we will be back for breaks.
Well done team Holiday inn. Thank you
Simon & Adele

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adele h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford, responded to this review, 27 November 2013
Dear Adele,

Thank you for your feedback from your wedding day with us. I will pass on your great feedback onto the team. We wish you all the best for the future from all of us at the Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon. Book direct with the Hotel for the best Bedrooms deals available.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Our trip was staying over in Leeds for a friends 30th birthday weekend. The hotel had very good customer service. We had booked one of the suite rooms that came with a free bottle of wine. Although customer service were great checking us in, they forgot about our wine but once prompted brought this up to our room straight away.
Good night sleep at the hotel and was set in a area which was good for walks in the morning. In some areas, the hotel seemed a bit dated but overall was a good experience.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 399JamesHD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear James,

Thank you for taking the time to post your from your stay with us. We are set in the beautiful village of Tong Just outside Leeds. There are some great walks available around the village, and surrounding area, just ask reception on your next visit for further details.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here, everything was spotless with really friendly staff always willing to help. The receptionists are welcoming and cope well under pressure.
Would recommend this hotel to any one looking for a business or pleasure stay

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Greywings88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your kinds words from your recent stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Me and my partner stayed in the executive suite for 1 night the room was basic but clean and consisted of a lounge area with flat-screen TV and a separate bedroom area with flat-screen and en-suite bathroom.The bed was extremely comfortable, the only let down being that the room was dated and could do with refurbish. We had a drink in the bar downstairs and it was only one, a pint of becks vier been 3.70, and a double baileys wait for it, 11 quid yes 11 quid daylight robbery. Bearing in mind its just been on offer in Morrisons were my partner bought several bottles for £9 a litre. Sufficed to say we soon went to bed still dumbfounded with shock by the bombshell that befell us in the bar. The next day we had breakfast which i must say was a lovely continental selection followed by an ordered cooked English breakfast very nice.
The grounds are lovely and the hotel itself is a old country house set in the quaint village of tong. I would of given this hotel a five star only i thought the price of certain things very overrated and overcharged for what they were.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnboy098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Dear John,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review from your stay at the Hotel.

We constantly Monitor are Bar prices and are very competitive against other hotels within the area.

Why not come back for a Christmas Party night this year at the Hotel, where the drinks are all inclusive in the price, and all you need is your taxi fare home.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

Out in the sticks which is fine and clots to the Nawab which was good. No iron or board when I got there so when I asked at reception was told oooo not sure that we have any spare. Told them I needed a shirt and one was there when I got back from dinner. Old guy on reception was annoying and expected more as a platinum member but seems like I was putting them out with every query.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bertroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your balanced feedback from your stay with us. As a Hotel we pride ourselves on delivering great customer service to all of our guests.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frimley Green, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 22 October 2013 credit card Amex Cardmember Review

This is pretty much a standard Holiday Inn, but two things make it stand out when I need to do business in Leeds. Firstly, the staff are friendly and helpful; secondly, the location is picturesque and peaceful.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matt G, Manager at Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear Tony,

We appreciate your feedback from your stay with us. Our priority is to deliver exceptional customer service, which includes that Great Yorkshire welcome to all of our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel very soon.

Regards

Matthew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bradford
3.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bradford City Centre
3.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
3.5 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Leeds South (Birstall) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Hollins Hall Marriott Hotel & Country Club
7.4 mi away
Mercure Bradford, Bankfield Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford

Property: Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford
Address: The Pastures Tong Lane, Bradford BD4 0RP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford 4*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As a former 19th Century vicarage, the Holiday Inn Leeds - Bradford Hotel has been gracefully converted into one of West Yorkshire's most popular hotels. This hotel near Leeds, located in the ancient village of Tong is set in the surroundings of beautiful countryside, with the convenience of being just five minutes away from the M62 & M1. With 53 en-suite bedrooms this hotel near Leeds is ideal for the business and leisure guest. The Holiday Inn Leeds-Bradford is a popular Wedding Venue as a hotel near Leeds with 220 free car parking spaces and idyllic gardens for photography. For breakfast or dinner, the Courtyard Restaurant offers a relaxed and informal dinning of or choose the fire lounge where light meals and snacks are available. If you want to venture out, this hotel near Leeds is 10 minutes from the City Centre. The Holiday Inn Leeds-Bradford has superb conference facilities offering 11 meeting rooms, all with natural daylight, air conditioning and internet access. Arranging your christmas party? The Holiday Inn Leeds-Bradford has packages starting from 15.95 per person. With easy access to motorways and just minutes from Leeds and Bradford this hotel near Leeds is ideal for business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford Hotel Bradford
Holiday Inn Bradford
Bradford Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Leeds Bradford Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing