We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Last resort” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The New Beehive Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The New Beehive Inn
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Brecon
2 reviews
“Last resort”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Tatty old pub with a few rooms upstairs.Could be good but certainly isn't Noisy at night,window didn't open,bathroom light wouldn't switch off etc.As per normal you get what you pay for-just.
,Avoid if at all possible!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Purpleplumhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    25
    12
    8
    8
See reviews for
5
16
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

On arriving in Bradford in the afternoon to see a show later on, we went straight to the Beehive to have a beer and get our bearings. The receptionist (serving in the gaslit bar) was very friendly and helpful, the locals were welcoming and the place itself was full of interest. It dates from 1901 and has been sensibly and carefully updated by the owner into a good real-ale pub with plenty of downstairs space.

Our ensuite room was very clean and well-furnished, with a miscellany of good old furniture rather than matching, cheaper stuff. The bathroom was roomy, the towels were soft, the bed was comfortable and the freeview TV worked fine. Secondary glazing cut out the noise from the busy road outside.

Breakfast, at £7.50 each, was worth it - including grilled cherry tomatoes and crisp bacon, and a cafetiere of good fresh coffee. C's vegetarian plate was as good. We liked having butter, jam and marmalade in their native state and not in fiddly little plastic pots. Afterwards the owner told us something of the place's history and his plans for further development, and we look forward to coming again to see how he gets on.

Not for you if you feel safer in a Premier Inn, but a good experience, and recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BestToursWorldwide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nitra, Slovakia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Exellent location in Central Bradford. Pleasant staff. great rates. Breakfast if booked. just need to find your evening meal. Many places locally for this. Good for staying and commuting by local transport to Leeds. close to all of these. I will be returning.

Room Tip: handy for travelling on a Budget. Easy to find. Short distance from local transport.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

Stayed on 23rd April (Wednesday). On arrival, met by the owner William, who was very welcoming and knowledgeable about the history of the building. The quaint bar rooms and the gas lit public bar was like travelling back in time. During the evening, there were quite a few 'interesting' locals to chat to and have a bit of banter with. The jewel in the crown here was the vast selection of real ales (both hand -pulled and bottled), which appeared beautifully kept, and the ones I tasted (hic) were exceptional. The barman was chatty and knowledgeable about the beers and his recommendations certainly hit the spot.
The single en-suite room I stayed in was clean and the bed comfortable, and as it was at the back, there was little noise or disturbance. Freeview TV and tea/coffee making facilities were also provided.
I didn't have the cooked breakfast so can't comment on it. There is a large car park to the rear with plenty of spaces. The hotel is a 5 minute walk from the town centre and there are numerous cafes and restaurants (especially excellent curry houses) in the vicinity.
Overall, the place is full of character (and characters!), and for the price (£27 for the night I stayed), it was excellent value for money.
If you want bland, characterless rooms and food, then stay at any one of numerous hotel chain properties (and pay double the price) - if you want a bit of banter, character, and an experience that would qualify for most peoples' bucket list - then a stay at The New Beehive is a must. Even if you don't stay at the hotel, just pop in for a couple of pints of real ale. It will be worth it. Would I go back and stay there again? In a heartbeat!
Cheers!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank barbuie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

Classic early 20th century pub with nice Edwardian touches still evident throughout. It even has the original gas mantle lighting that's still used.
Check out the wonderful pics on the wall in the back room that relate to our musical past. They are simply awesome.
Nice friendly barman, and good beer. Very enjoyable visit indeed.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gaz E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2013 via mobile

Untouched by time. Gas lights. Coal fires. Excellent beer.
If you are drinking beer in Bradford you have to visit this establishment.
Check out the artwork in the back room.
And the fox in the games room.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank simon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2013

Really looking forward to visiting this pub during a recent crawl round Bradford. One of the few remaining gas lit pubs in the UK and in the CAMRA inventory. Whilst the building itself was very impressive and the period features fantastic, it felt very much like the place had lost it's way. My partner and I were the only customers at around 6.30 on a Saturday evening with the exception of 2 residents of the hotel who appeared a little worse for wear. The beer was very well kept and there was a good range of real ales although it looked like only half of the available pumps were in use. Unfortunately, the lack of customers meant it didn't have a great deal of atmosphere. We spoke to the bar tender who that the place was empty most evenings which was not helped by it's location and the fact that a nearby pub had closed recently. They basically appear to be surviving on passing trade for the majority of their business. It would be a great shame to see such a fantastic building close down.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoblinhairdoShef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.7 mi away
The Westleigh Hotel
The Westleigh Hotel
#21 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#6 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford Central Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Beehive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Beehive Inn

Property: The New Beehive Inn
Address: 169-171 Westgate, Bradford BD1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Beehive Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The New Beehive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Beehive Hotel Bradford
The New Beehive Inn Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing