We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Probably the quirkiest in Bradford and definitely friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The New Beehive Inn
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
“Probably the quirkiest in Bradford and definitely friendly”
Reviewed 28 December 2010

I chose the new beehive inn over the other bland chain hotels because i always seek out the unusual and preferably quirky - i researched it online - chose well - and would definitely stay there again.

As a single woman travelling alone I enjoyed the friendly atmospheric bar, real ale, original features, wood panelling, dimmed French bar style lighting and a welcoming open fire. Local drinkers at the bar gave me excellent advice on the best Indian restaurants, two of which were within a stone's throw and which i'd already researched online. I was on a course, stayed Monday and Tuesday night, and appreciate that it could be noisy at the weekend but that's obvious if you decide to stay at a pub.

This was my first time in Bradford and i enjoyed the company of everyone i met at the Inn. Breakfast was fine. Good bed. Shower slightly unpredictable but i got used to it. Appreciated the wi-fi.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-pea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    12
    27
    12
    8
    9
See reviews for
5
17
15
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 November 2010

We stayed for two nights with friends - the landlord (William) was very genial and the staff were friendly. Live music was played but this did not detract from the excellent nights' sleep enjoyed by all of us.
This place has quality, local ales and interesting customers. The gaslight bar with real fire was lovely after a day walking the hills around Bradford. This place needs to be celebrated.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BelperTwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2010

I spent a couple of nights here as I was attending a course at Bradford Royal Infirmary and wanted to stay somewhere other than the usual Holiday Inn type of place. I was attracted by the description of the gaslit, Edwardian interior and real ale!

My room was huge and very comfy, with very crisp clean sheets and free Wifi. It was also nice and warm, despite the cold weather outside, and there was piping hot water on demand so I could have a bath as soon as I got back from the hospital.

I had breakfast on both days and it was a delight, everything was cooked fresh with lovely ingredients and the staff were very attentive and made sure that I had everything I needed. The table was all laid out beautifully too, with the butter and jam in little dishes - it's details like this that make things more special. I sat in the bar for a bit on the Thursday night and tried some of the fab real ales, and it's very atmospheric with the gaslights though I was a bit disappointed that the fire wasn't lit, especially as it was so cold outside.

I had a wonderful peaceful night's sleep on the Thursday night. Sadly, I couldn't sleep at all on the Friday night because there was a band playing downstairs and it was incredibly noisy. I spoke to the manager the next morning and he seemed very concerned and said he would have moved me to a room in another part of the hotel if I had gone to see him. The noise was due to a band which had been booked for Halloween - had I not been on a course on Saturday morning I would have gone down to join in the festivities.

All in all, apart from the noise I had a lovely comfy stay and I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaToni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2010

Well, arrived and hoped for so much. My group stayed for 3 nights and we had breakfast every morning, well its a good job the company paid because The New Beehive Inn should have paid me to stay there. The fist breakfast had no bacon/sausage, second day had no beans or toast and on the last day still no toast....no toast unbelievable. I am sure it must be used as an half way house because we had a smack head of a women in the room next to us who we avoided like the plague, she seemed to just step out of her room when one of our group left our room. Oh i nearly forgot to mention the prostitute's who are a 20 second walk just down the road. Would i stay again mmmmmmm let me think about that one

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steven1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beehiveBradford, Owner at The New Beehive Inn, responded to this review, 20 October 2010
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. We offered you a full breakfast in the morning and we are sorry if the type of toast you preferred was not provided, although croissants and bagels were available as well as toasted teacakes. I am also sorry if the lady in the room next to you made you feel uncomfortable but we do not discriminate between which guests we allow to stay here based on looks. Your remark was extremely insulting to her. In regards to your other concern we are situated just outside of a busy town centre and any prostitution that is taking place in the town is outside our control. However we take a very strong stand against this and do not allow this to occur around our property.
I hope this addresses your issues.
William
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bradford hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 September 2010

Lovely pub, great atmosphere and good food. I thought that the b and b was very good value, and the staff were so friendly and helpful that I'll definitely be back. Nothing was too much trouble. Beer was good too! The room was big, well decorated, comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was everything you would want, and they went out of their way to sort out a very early morning spread just for me.
A pub with real character and a story round every corner.
Definitely so much better than the hotel chains!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louisiana00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2010

We stayed for a weekend as we were visiting our daughter who is at uni in Bradford - plus point it's very near the uni. It is a big old pub with traditional gaslights which are quite quant and keep the bar areas warm. Basically, if you want a good traditional British pub serving great real ales with live music in a proper old pub then this place is great.
Accommodation wise I don't think they can be bothered - it's just a little side line alongside the real business of running a pub and that shows. They don't do food and that includes breakfast (though you might book it/ask for it no-one will actually be bothered to organise this for you). The room was clean but dilapidated - bathroom ancient and decrepit, bedroom had the wind blowing the curtains and was very cold.
Not terrible but not great either

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FifiLincolnshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Notts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2010

The hotel itself was quite nice, but I didn't get a full night's sleep on any of the 3 nights I stayed there. The first night was hampered by an alarm noise (I couldn't tell where it was coming from and was too tired to find out!) which was stopped at about 2am after a LOT of banging and shouting by some drunk sounding men. The second and third nights were disrupted by the noise of the TV from a room next door. The first time it was on all night at a very loud volume, and not turned off until 6am. I did sleep through it for a few hours though! On my third night I was so fed up I banged the walls at about 2:30am when I couldn't stand the sound of "Masterchef" coming through the walls!!! It did quieten down eventually. I would only stay here again if I wasn't in town to work. I really needed some sleep, and didn't get much at all! On a more positive note, the 2 members of staff I encountered were very pleasant and helpful. But I didn't get fresh towels or replenished tea and coffee supplies for my third night, which was a shame and didn't help my mood after my lack of sleep! Overall not a great experience, but would try again sometime as the room was very comfortable and due to my working hours, I didn't get a chance to make the most of sleeping above a real ale pub!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Berties_friend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bradford hotels
0.9 mi away
Dubrovnik Hotel
Dubrovnik Hotel
#8 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Westleigh Hotel
The Westleigh Hotel
#21 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Cartwright Hotel
The Cartwright Hotel
#19 of 27 in Bradford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Midland Hotel
Midland Hotel
#2 of 27 in Bradford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 706 reviews
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Bradford
Jurys Inn Bradford
#4 of 27 in Bradford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Budget Bradford
Ibis Budget Bradford
#24 of 27 in Bradford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The New Beehive Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The New Beehive Inn

Property: The New Beehive Inn
Address: 169-171 Westgate, Bradford BD1 3AA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Bradford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 27 Hotels in Bradford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The New Beehive Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The New Beehive Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The New Beehive Hotel Bradford
The New Beehive Inn Bradford, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing