We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tour de France stay”
Review of YHA Haworth

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
YHA Haworth
Certificate of Excellence
anon
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Tour de France stay”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed here for one night in room 1 which consisted of a double with a single bunk overhead, and a separate single bed. A disabled bathroom with shower was located just outside the doorway for us to share with the room next door, although other hostel users were making use of the facility, possibly because it was a busy time.The double bed was smaller compared to other hostel doubles I've slept in before, and it had a metal frame ( the ones with wooden frames seem more comfortable to me). As a result I didn't sleep too well and with hindsight I should have slept in the separate single bed. There was no sink or mirror in the room which I thought was unusual.Breakfast was plentiful and the building had a lot of character, complete with a curious cat patrolling outside the front of the hostel, watching the residents come and go.The stroll to the centre of Haworth was long but pleasant.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank owlAnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    33
    14
    3
    4
See reviews for
22
12
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
412 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I stay at YHAs a lot but don't normally write reviews of them on here as you generally know what you're getting but as my experience at Haworth was a big disappointment I thought I'd make an exception.

Our private two-bedded room was pokey beyond compare. There literally was not room to swing a cat (and I was tempted to try as there was one wandering around the communal areas which seemed a bit odd). Thankfully we were only staying one night as anyone with more luggage would have struggled to fit it and themselves into the room. Do yourself a favour and sure you ask for any room but room number 2!

The self catering kitchen was also extremely poor. It was hidden away in the basement next to the drying room and literally smelt of old damp socks. Not an pleasant place to cook. It seems that the big push in certain English YHAs these days is to sell meals to you rather than make it enjoyable for you to cook your own (thankfully this is not the case north of the border where we use hostels more often). The showers and toilets also left a lot to be desired.

And finally, the whole place was just in need of a bit of tender loving care. It's a beautiful old building but just seems rather neglected. Come on YHA, get your act together!

Room Tip: Avoid room number two!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eddymaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Last minute booking, this seemed to be the only youth hostel in Yorkshire that was free.
Nice historic building and provided with a huge room. Staff friendly but not big on manning the front desk. Kitchen area very small for the size of the building. Actually a good 20 minute walk from Haworth Main Street. Overall a good trip away and would return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank ben79white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

This was my first trip to Howarth YHA, and a while since I stayed in a youth hostel. Knowing that the YHA has let some of its old buildings deteriorate over the past 20 years I was delighted with the condition I found it in, especially as I was introducing three friends to the YHA for the first time.

The disabled facilities were excellent, making my stay stress free and my friends were pleased, and amused, by their small single rooms on the top floor. Our only complaint was that as the weather had unexpectedly turned milder it was too hot as the heating was on full blast all the time.

My booking had been handled very efficiently and I was able to secure facilities that suited us all. Breakfast was plentiful and staff were friendly and helpful. Everywhere was incredibly clean and nicely decorated.

We felt overall we had good value for money, particularly as other accommodation in Howarth was very expensive.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sylvia747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
550 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2014

This a real Gothic pile,left to the YHA and sensibly kept by them.There is a stunning and HUGE glass window that overlooks the staircase to the first floor.The staff have been helpful each time I have stayed at the venue. It provides cheap accomodation in an area that is not cheap- so use it! My only moan is that is a bit of a walk to the centre of the village, but as there are a good selection of shops and eateries that you pass on the way, then this is not as bad as it sounds. Haworth is a super area, steeped in history, but is not the most accessible place to reach. It is worth the ffort ot reach the village and the YHA hostel. There is also a friendly cat at the hostel, although I never found out whether it was the hostel´s or came in to sample the building!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabatinitennis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The YHA house looks like taken from a horror film, it's a big Gothic house, decorated with Orange stained glass windows. Inside it's really gorgeous and the rooms and premises are actually quite comfortable, clean, with modern facilities and central heating. The staff was super nice and friendly. Well worth the price, pity it's only open on weekends.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeoCOUTURE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Took a short break to recharge the batteries and spent three nights at Haworth YHA. After a long drive, decided to eat in the first night and was served a nice hot meal at an agreed time which was very nice. Also took their breakfasts which were very good value with a good small range of starters from fresh fruit to cereals, there was a reasonable choice of hot items to follow and tea, coffee, toast freely available. Room was comfortable and suitable for our needs. A goood base from which to visit various attractions or enjoy the outdoors.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vinylman101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haworth
0.7 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
4.0 mi away
Premier Inn Bradford North (Bingley) Hotel
17.8 mi away
YHA Malham
YHA Malham
#1 of 4 in Malham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
70.5 mi away
YHA Whitby
YHA Whitby
#2 of 52 in Whitby
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
2.3 mi away
Old Silent Inn
Old Silent Inn
#12 of 20 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Haworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Haworth

Property: YHA Haworth
Address: Longlands Drive, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8RT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Speciality Lodging in Haworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Haworth 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your YHA Haworth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Haworth Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing