We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September Cottage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Sun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Sun
Ranked #15 of 21 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Morecambe, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“September Cottage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2012

My Husband, dog Charlie and I was staying at September cottage and we found this establishment very dog friendly. The staff were very accommodating and cheerful and friendly. We went on several occassions to eat and have drinks. Charlie was allowed inside and on each occassion the food was great and service excellent. We would reccomend anyone to visit the Old Sun Inn.
Many thanks to all. Charlie said thank you to the excellent chef for all the beef you gave her!

Room Tip: We never stayed however we was offered a very good price to go back next year and the dog can stay t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kirsten S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    3
    2
    10
See reviews for
20
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2011

Went there for an overnight stay Saturday 2 Sunday was made very welcome by new management team they was really friendly and helpful food was great value and excellent would defenatly visit again and advise 2 go and stay there was really good weekend.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daz30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheshire
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2011

Don't eat here. For our party of 7, one persons food arrived after about 25 minutes, but after 40 minutes no other meals. We enquired and were told they were coming. After another 10 minutes we asked again and were told the chef was ill but the food was coming. After 60 minutes people who arrived 30 minutes after us were being served, so we asked for our money back.

This was eventually done with very bad grace and the money aggressively slammed down, when checked it was short. We were too fed up to argue.

We also noticed that the chef was scruffy and did not wash his hands after using the toilet.

A very unpleasant experience which did not quite spoil our day at this delightful village.

There are plenty of good places to eat in Haworth, just avoid the Old Sun.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ShropshireTenor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2011

Terrible, unless you like staying up until 2 in the morning. An ideal base for Haworth, being at the top of the main street. The room was clean and comfortable, with plenty of tea and coffee supplies. The breakfast was nice. We didn't eat an evening meal there but they looked good. If you are staying at the weekend and want to actually get any sleep before 2am, then don't bother staying here. We were told (AFTER we had paid) that they would be open until 2am - no mention of any loud music though. We didn't mind them being open that late, but what we did mind was the INCREDIBLY loud music that kept us awake until 2am. (this they didn't happen to mention) It was totally impossible to sleep - the bed was vibrating with the sound (not exagerating here!) and objects in the room were also being vibrated by the music below! At one point i had 2 pillows over one ear and one pillow over the other and it was still really loud. In the end we gave up trying to sleep and watched tv (which we had to put on 3/4 volume to be able to hear it and we were 1 foot from it!) If we'd know that loud music was going to be played until 2am we would've stayed elsewhere (plenty of choice!) What is the point of a bed and breakfast if you CAN'T ACTUALLY GET TO SLEEP? At breakfast in the morning I was waiting to be asked "Did you sleep well?" But guess what? We weren't asked. NEVER again. Haworth Old Hall and The Fleece don't cost much much and you can actually get some sleep.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sarahstreetteam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haworth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashmount Country House
0.4 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
1.5 mi away
Old Silent Inn
Old Silent Inn
#11 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Sun

Property: The Old Sun
Address: 79 West Lane, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Sun, Haworth is under new management. We offer a warm friendly atmosphere for families, locals and tourists alike. There is a cosy open fire to gather around and shut out those winter temperatures. We welcome families and dogs and serve food daily, catering for vegetarians too. The hotel offers 4 en suite bedrooms that include a family room and a twin. The Old Sun has free Wi-Fi and a lovely function room for dining, parties, meetings and the like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Sun Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing