We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You will like this place if...” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Sun

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haworth
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Old Sun
Ranked #14 of 21 Haworth B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
53 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“You will like this place if...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

...You like Cold showers, no television, loud music until 1am, greasy breakfast and general uncleanliness. Otherwise keep clear. Obviously ChaplowG is either the owner, use to poor standards or reviewed the wrong B&B.

Room Tip: There isn't one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManchesterBigeater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    10
    3
    2
    10
See reviews for
20
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

If you like having all of your five senses offended, this is the spot for you. Upon opening our room, we were greeted to dust and mold everywhere- including on the bedside lamp, the Kleenex box (which only had two used looking pieces of tissue inside and literally upon all surfaces. The walls were stained and had grease and scuff marks covering them. Clearly, this room did not need to be decorated with the Halloween theme that the downstairs pub had going on as there were already plentiful cobwebs and at least three spiders already in residence when we checked in. The beds themselves, I feared to sleep in without a full body suit of protection. I would have just left and gone somewhere else, but this was literally the ONLY place in Haworth with vacancy on the weekend that I had to be in the village for a research trip (it is no wonder why no one comes back and no one would want to bear such a hell hole).

After my initial terrifying view of the room when I dropped my bags before venturing out, I returned to have a shower and a cup of tea before going on a ghost walk and dinner (by the way, the Haworth Ghost Walk with lanterns is great, and I highly recommend it). The shower cubicle is TINY and I was repulsed to see not only a HUGE ball of hair in the drain, but a discarded bar of used soap covered in a past occupants pubic hair already in the shower cube! There was no where to put my towel or clothes inside the bathroom, as there was no toilet seat or other place to rest them, so I gingerly had to place my clean garments on the floor.

As soon as the water started running, a sewage like rotten egg smell began to fill the bathroom- it was unclear if it was coming from the drain or the water tap. I was too fearful to investigate any further and got out as soon as I could. When I went to make a tea, I found some loose tea bags floating around in a dusty service basket. I was already deeply terrified before I went on the ghost walk, and for all the wrong reasons.

Upon being forced to return to the Old Sun as there was no where else to go after the evenings activities, I was met with a counting game of bed springs, from a mattress which may have been from the same time as the Brontes, and a pillow which would rival a piece of paper for thickness. The pub below was banging music long into the night, as they had a lock in and it was not until well past 3am that there was a break from the loud noise provided from drunk pub goers.

The breakfast, which I dared to eat as I thought it could not get any worse, was literally a plate of grease.

I literally am thankful to have just survived the place- PLEASE, for all that is good in staying away form home, DO NOT GO TO THIS PLACE!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Twenty seven years ago, newly married and with our new puppy in tow, we booked a room here to enjoy the sights of Howarth. We recall that time with fond affection and remember a warm, intimate pub with good beer and welcoming hosts. Lesson learnt...NEVER go back! The Old Sun is now a soulless dump with Sky Sports blaring to an empty bar. All the recent TripAdvisor reviews are right, this is the worst B&B I have stayed in since Blackpool in 1979. The room was poky, with peeling wallpaper and a television the size of an iPhone. The brown carpet smelt of must, and the bedding, bizarrely, was a hideous shade of purple. Pillows were wafer thin, and no mattress protector - god knows what biological soup we might have been rolling around in all night. The bathroom had no toilet paper, and the toilet had a macerator which sprang into action at random times, including when you were in the shower, making it sound like you were showering and angle grinding a steel bar both at the same time. The kettle was on the floor, and the tea bags were just loose from a box. The next morning, the landlord, when he finally showed up, cooked us the most lamentable english breakfast I have ever tasted, the bacon rock hard, the fried potatoes cold and greasy, the toast sweet tasting (like the sort of bread you get abroad), and no butter (he could only find Flora, and only after we asked for it!). Ok, to be fair, they are only tenants, and it's obvious that the brewery probably won't stump up the money that is needed to get this place half decent, but this is in the heart of Bronte country! In another 27 years, I will be 81, and I don't envisage another trip to the Old Sun Inn! So, was there anything postive to say? Well, they take in dogs, and given the state of the place, they won't mind if the dog has swam through a ditch just prior to going to bed, and the beer wasn't bad, although most of the advertised beers weren't ready to serve, leaving just the IPA. Howarth itself is one of the most beautiful places in Yorkshire, just steer clear of this particular black hole...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Martin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

The landlord found it hard to even speak to us showed us to our room. The stairway was disgustingly filthy bits hairs all up the stairs. Our room no2 was dirty with cobwebs, carpet not vacumned full of bits , used tissues in bathroom, bin not emptied from previous occupants. Dirty windows.Old shoddy chipped furniture, dusty lamps. The bed looked like it had been slept in as all bedding creased.
Breakfast was in bar-carton of juice, tea pot and coco pops on a table. .greasy very poor quality english breakfast .
How this establishment has a hygiene certificate ill never know. Not at all clean anywhere .Couldn't get out quick enough and will never ever return !!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Radding
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2013

The worst place I have ever stayed at filthy room , bins not emptied empty beer bottle still in it and used tissues , used ear bud on floor in toilet no toilet roll ,floor not vacuumed, breakfast appalling and landlord unfriendly this place should be shut down . We only stayed here because we couldn't get in anywhere else to stay dont make the same mistake

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raddings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2013

went for Sunday lunch, staff unhelpful & miserable

soup cold heated in microwave, not acceptable

main course very poor all the food cold especially the mashed pots-reheated in microwave
We have been to this pub twice before , the food was very good then

Service poor they did not want to hear the complaints
Will not be visiting again!!!! We have vouchers to be stamped on our visits they would not do this!!!
Has this changed hands.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank woodslea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

On arrival way past booking in time even though they only have 4 rooms ours wasn't ready.
We eventually made our way up the stairs that were filthy an looked like they hadnt been hoovered for an age.
The room was very standard & the shower cubicle wasn't the cleanest
No food available as we were told the food delivery was coming on Monday.
When on our way home we realised we had left my sunglasses in the room my wife spoke to the barman who said they had been found & they would forward to us..... They now deny this & say they never found them perhaps when they saw they were ARMANI designer ones they changed there mind.....SAD.
All in all they don't deserve any custom......stay away.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sp12jp15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haworth hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old White Lion Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ashmount Country House
0.4 mi away
Haworth Old Hall Inn
Haworth Old Hall Inn
#10 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Registry Haworth
1.5 mi away
Old Silent Inn
Old Silent Inn
#11 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Fleece Inn
The Fleece Inn
#6 of 21 in Haworth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Sun

Property: The Old Sun
Address: 79 West Lane, Haworth, Keighley BD22 8EL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Keighley > Haworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Haworth
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Sun 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Old Sun, Haworth is under new management. We offer a warm friendly atmosphere for families, locals and tourists alike. There is a cosy open fire to gather around and shut out those winter temperatures. We welcome families and dogs and serve food daily, catering for vegetarians too. The hotel offers 4 en suite bedrooms that include a family room and a twin. The Old Sun has free Wi-Fi and a lovely function room for dining, parties, meetings and the like. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Sun Haworth, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing